We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Central Railway

Great Central Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Special Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The railway is the only double track preserved railway. We visited as we had a dining experience in the evening in a Pullman car. The journey too about 3 hours in all with stops. The meal was very good and you can order beer/wine on board. The railway itself has a large variety of engines and rolling stock. The weekend hosted a model railway exhibition at various stations on the line.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    194
    36
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rain Needn't Stop Play!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

A dreary rainy day didn't stop the enjoyment of a nostalgic day out on this train.

The journey goes from Loughborough to Leicester North and takes 30 minutes either way, with stops at Quorn and Woodhouse and Rothley.The journey takes in the pretty surrounding countryside and I think it is the only existing double track main line heritage railway in the country. There are places of refreshment at each station I think, and I visited the one at Leicester North. It reminded me a little of the film with Trevor Howard and Celia Johnson - Brief Encounter.

There are bric a brac stores and a miniature railway at one of the stations and the usual gift shops selling various souvenirs of the train journey. You can stop off at each station and spend time there and visit the surrounding area and then jump on a later train and continue the day in this way.

The awful weather influenced my decision not to do this so I just did the 1 hour round journey, stopped for coffee and something to eat, browsed the gift shop and station - I loved the old waiting room - and jumped on the return train.

Car parking is available.

Not the best I've been on but well worth a visit - prices vary from £13 concessions to around £34 with various combinations of dayrover tickets available to suit individual needs and families.

Don't let the rain spoil your parade!

I assume there is wheelchair access available but better to check if you are thinking of going. small prams shouldn't be a problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment for a family of Railway Buffs ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were charged full admittance even though the service during the Half-Term Holiday was drastically reduced and access to platforms and the shops refused because of "filming" and on complaint we were told that the filming gave them much needed income and we should have checked on the website for any curtailments. What about us and the income we gave them? We came all the way from Devon and received a fourth class visit for a first class amount of money. When purchasing the ticket we were not told of the curtailment of services and therefore felt cheated!!! Would you expect Half-Term to be a reduced service with stations virtually closed? After wanting to do this visit for years we wish we had not bothered and stayed in Devon for the Half-Term and travelled on our own lovely steam railwaysinstead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Walk or ride down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Are you into the old days of steam trains. The smell of burning coal and soot. The woosh of steam the steam whistle blowing, the friendly train drivers on the footplate shovelling coal into the boiler. Well this is the place to come. You can ride from Loughborough getting your ticket as you go into the old wooden floored entrance. You can smell the history, and then walk down the large wooden staircase to the platform and you go back in time. Numerous films have used this location for its historical accuracy
Buster (1988)
The Secret Agent (1993)
Shadowlands (1993)
The Navigators (1999)
Enigma (2001)
The Hours (2002)
Cemetery Junction (2010)

Also many TV shows
She's Out (1994)
Woof! (1995)
Goodnight Mr. Tom (1998)
Take a Girl Like You (2000)
The Cazalet Chronicles (2001)
Casualty (2001)
Hawking (2004)
The 4:50 from Paddington (2004)
E=MC2 (2005)
The 39 Steps (2008)
Central Steam (TV Series) (2010)
South Riding (TV miniseries) (2011)
Top Gear (2011)[20]
Heston's Fantastical Food (2012)[21]
Our Story (2013)[22] - To be Screened on ITV in 2014
Great British Railway Journeys (2013) - First Screened on BBC TV in January 2014

The silver service buffet car events during the summer are a must to go on but book early to avoid disappointment. Have a peek at their website here http://www.gcrailway.co.uk

There are also themed events throughout the summer including wartime re enactments if you have children or are a big kid yourself make a day of if. Tea rooms also on the platforms and in loughborough you can even walk around the worksheds and see the ongoing restoration work on locomotives

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WATO1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
722 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Super 1940's Wartime Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I took my wife again as we did last year for the 1940's wartime Event on Friday last knowing that it is for the school children but it does not stop us from enjoying the singers and the military fashion show arranged in the marque in Quorn and Woodhouse station yard. Being a steam buff (I admit) I am lucky enough to enjoy both the event and also the atmosphere of the steam era but am sure everybody can enjoy both the pleasure and especially on the Saturday and Sunday special events.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Central Railway also viewed

Newtown Linford, Leicestershire
Leicestershire, England
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Great Central Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing