We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor service!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #89 of 255 Restaurants in Loughborough
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Contemporary, Gastropub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kegworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Poor service!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here for a quick bite to eat with my partner, took 1 hour to deliver the food to our table. We were about ready to walk out as it turned up, the waitress didn't apologise for the long wait we had. When we finally got our lunch, the young girl spilt it all down my legs. Not once did anybody ask how our meals were. The food wasn't the best. They were all sat down eating their own dinner which I found very rude. They didn't even realised we left the building. Very very poor customer service!!!!!! Good location and great pub let down by the staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    27
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location good - food poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Driving home from a meeting, as it was a lovely sunny, warm day thought a meal by the river would be good. Had not been here for about 3 years, and must say it looked as if the outdoor furniture had not been repaired or had the cobwebs dusted off since then!

After negotiating an extremely, drunk, shouting, foul mouthed customer, entered the bar to find that service was friendly and prompt, but unfortunately the meals, from the day menu, not the after 6pm one, were, on the whole, very disappointing.

Starters: Fishcakes - OK. Whitebait, about 6 fish, (and we know they aren't very big) plus one large lettuce leaf with brown marks running through it that took up most of the plate and one piece of shop bought brown sliced bread. Whitebait, what there was of it, was tasty though.

Mains: Steak and Kidney Pie - cold, hard carrots, tasteless chips. Pie adequate. Rancho Chicken - just don't. I won't waste any more words on it.

None of the meals were worth the price paid. All in all a very disappointing visit. The only good thing about this pub is the location, but we will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Visited the plough recently, been in for drinks in the past but never eaten, the bar its self is standard and the food is also standard nothing special unfortunately ok if passing but wouldn't make a special trip out.

Helpful?
Thank gaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service - pub style food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent location by river and reasonably attractive decor. Evening meal on a quiet night, so service was good and waitress very helpful. Menu is extensive - almost a novel, so good choice of meat, fish and veggie options to suit everybody. Quality of food good overall, but variable according to menu selection. Portions more than adequate. This is pub food though not restaurant style. Prices very reasonable though at an average of £5 starters and £11 main course. Drinks reasonable too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodhouse_Smokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

It's ok, that is all I will say, will not go again, lovely outside with the water etc, but meal was only average, the salad I could have made better myself, it came in a bowl, but looked really dried out, when we put our fork in to the bowl, it was frozen. The waitress also said the bowl was cold, it looked like it had come from a packet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing