We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takeaway as good as dine in!”
Review of Mount Gurkha

Mount Gurkha
Ranked #21 of 257 Restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
leics
Level Contributor
236 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Takeaway as good as dine in!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Popped in very late on a Saturday night having been for a meal here a few weeks prior.

The restaurant was empty as it was closing time but the Manager was very accommodating and friendly. We ordered a takeaway. Nothing was too much trouble and we didn't wait long.

Went for a chicken madras & a biryani. The madras was amazing. Possibly the best I've ever eaten. All served hot and with complimentary poppadoms and dips.

Again, Id highly recommend for either a sit down or takeaway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    51
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great range of less familiar dishes”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Have been several times as is very local and always been impressed with the food, service and value here! Had a great fish curry last time-delicious-would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived at 11.30pm on a Saturday evening and were not disappointed with our first visit to this restaurant. The manager was very welcoming and when we requested something not too spicy made recommendations that turned out to be exactly what we required. The meal was tasty and plentiful and although we were the last patrons of the evening nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly be visiting this restaurant in the not too distant future again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was the first Indian Restaurant in Loughborough in the mid 60s. It has seen many changes and is now about the best Asian Restaurant in town. Very good Nepalese food and excellent service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best place I ever been.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was my first visit as I saw review at trip advisor thought give it go we are so lucky to get the table as restaurant was very very busy thought we not gonna get any space but after waiting 5 minute we got the table we had mini mix grill and lamb choila puri for starter and it was absolutely beautiful lamb was so nice n tender n the marinated was awesome with both dishes also we had a duck Kathmandu ko khana and and king prawn lekali ko khana I tell you this the best Indian I ever had so far all so fresh I know it was busy thought have to wait long for food but I am quite impress of the service everyone seems they know what they doing had good chat with manager also had a bit chat with head chefs about the food I will say say give it go you won't get disappointed it's a good value for money and everything and will recommend more to friends and family and definetly come back soon thank you for everything mount gurkha see you soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crishtofor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Gurkha also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Mount Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing