We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating”

John Taylor Bellfoundry Museum
Attraction details
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“fascinating”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went on spec when they were not casting. You have to go to the foundry reception to get someone to come and let you in. We did and a not very communicative lady cane . We were shown a fascinating DVD of the whole process of casting and tuning and then went round the museum. The lady became much more animated as we plies her with question and were obviously interested.
I am not sure that trying to go when the foundry is casting is worth it: the people who commissioned the casting usually get first dibs and we found having the museum to ourselves much better: you see the foundry anyway

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kattenschling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great views if rather windy!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'm not really into militaria but it's worth paying the £1 to climb to the top, see the bells, read about the history of the museum and gaze for miles over the area and beyond. A worthwhile experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DHC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is not really child friendly, at least it wasnt when we went but it was unbelievably interesting. We had no idea that Loughborough was hiding this little gem and all the famous bells that it has made for all over the world. Long may it continue!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank loveydovey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit august 23rd”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Visited the museum today and found the experience very worthwhile.We take bells for granted without really thinking about how they are made.after our visit today we know so much more about the making of bells.This is a museum well worth a visit?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lovely working museum with great staff. Go and check this out for something really different and don't forget to ring the big bell upstairs!.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank billw400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Taylor Bellfoundry Museum also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to John Taylor Bellfoundry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing