We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Burleigh Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burleigh Court
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Used this Hotel for 1 night business stay in May 2014. Arrived around 8PM and was booked in by friendly lady. Quite a trek to find the actual bedrooms which are not well signposted. After going through 2 sets of key operated security doors finally arrived at my room which can only be described as "very compact" or more commonly referred to as "couldn't swing a cat". The shower-room was worse and is the smallest ever I had ever been in. It felt very claustrophobic.
Made my way over to the restaurant which served up a decent array of food but quite expensive. Be prepared for a shock if you order a glass of wine, £9.00 for a very average French sauvignon blanc. I can buy a bottle of high quality SB for much less. Breakfast was excellent and made up for a rather disappointing evening

Room Tip: ask for a large room and watch the reaction of the staff !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRICARScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are very much appreciated. I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience. You were in one of our Lodge rooms which are sold as a budget alternative to our 4 star accommodation. You will though have used our four star facilities for your drinks and food and will of course been paying 4 star prices.The 250ml glass of wine you have mentioned is competitively priced for our market. We are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    267
    106
    36
    17
See reviews for
97
149
41
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed two nights here for a work-related event. As it is a conference centre, and on a university campus, I was a bit sceptical about the claim that it provided four-star hotel facilities. However, my room was modern, pleasantly furnished, clean and well-equipped (including TV, tea/coffee making, safe and free wi-fi). Overall, I was impressed by the quality of the room, and would agree that it was comparable to a four star hotel (OK, not the best four-star hotel I’ve stayed in, but not the worst either!) Breakfast and evening meal were also a good quality, and all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. The conference facilities were very good, and there was ample complimentary car-parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are very much appreciated. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations as a four star hotel and are extremely proud of the fact that we are currently the England Excellence 'large hotel' of the year, an accolade we picked up at up at the national awards last month. We are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Mmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for two nights while attending a wedding near by. Reception service was excellent very helpful and informative. The room on the second floor was of a good size and spotless. The bed was large and comfortable. Plenty of hangars in the wardrobe and lots of storage space. Bathroom also spotless with power shower and lots of shampoos etc. Hairdryer tea and coffee in room with cookies.
Breakfast was plentiful but not as hot as I would like it.
Leisure centre and swimming pool looked excellent but did not have time to use.
Drink and eating in looked a bit pricey. Would not serve coffee in bar after 10 for some reason

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterFoxesFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments which are most appreciated. Our lounge menu is served daily from 10am to 10pm but coffee should still be avaiable after then so I will ensure your experience is relayed to those concerned and my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Clean, spacious, friendly, good food and comfortable rooms. What more could you ask? Then there is the leisure centre, easy access to town and motorway and did I mention the breakfast? A very pleasant experience that leaves me happy to write good things on Tripadvisor. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for feedback and comments. It is always extremely satisfying to read a review like this and I know the team will appreciate it too. We are all extremely grateful for your endorsement and hope that you will return again to visit us soon.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Used Burleigh Court many times for conferences, accomodation and have eaten there several times now. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and the bathrooms are good. All rooms have tv, kettle, etc. Accomodation can get quite stuffy even in the middle of winter and I have to open a window. Not always comfortable doing this on the ground floor though.
There is an onsite gym and pool - small but perfectly formed and clean! It's a bit faceless but you just have to remember, it's a conference centre, in the middle of a university campus but has good facilities.

Room Tip: As for an upstairs room so you can open a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Simnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are much appreciated. It is always satisfying to hear from returning guests and the team will enjoy your complimentary words. We are all grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to complete this review and look forward to seeing you back again at Burleigh soon.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spotless can not fault.
Housekeeping team are brilliant
Pool and gym we're exceptional and we enjoyed using both.

We had breakfast on both mornings and the food was excellent and waiting staff very attentive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 644shell103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments which are most appreciated.

The team will welcome your kind words and we are all extremely grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review and for your enthusiastic endorsement.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great hotel to stay in for the night.

In comparison of a lot of other hotels that I have stayed in previously in the midlands, this hotel is good.
Staff at reception was decent and welcoming.

Was similar to being back in hall accommodation at university, but you get what you pay for.

Would recommend for a short night visit, but not for a longer duration.

Room Tip: Rooms quieter on backside of hotel as off mainroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamRayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ray

Thank you for your feedback and comments which are much appreciated.

We are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review and for your endorsement.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court

Property: Burleigh Court
Address: off Ashby Road (A512) | Loughborough University, Loughborough LE11 3TD, England (Formerly Imago at Burleigh Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#3 Family Hotel in Loughborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Court 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh Court is one of the Midlands' largest 4 star accredited conference centre and hotel, combining outstanding meeting facilities with first-class accommodation. Voted VisitEngland Large Hotel of the Year in 2014, The contemporary venue offers 225 quality en-suite bedrooms including executive suites, accessible rooms, twin rooms and spacious double rooms. Adjacent to the main hotel is Burleigh Court Lodge, which provides 40 high quality en-suite rooms offering exceptional value and comfort. The Hotel has a recently refurbished restaurant, bar and lounge area which provide the perfect backdrop to tuck into a wide variety of cuisine, which is made with locally-sourced produce. Guests can also enjoy our spa facilities which includes a well-equipped gym, swimming pool, whirlpool spa, steam room, and sauna.What's more all guests can take advantage of free parking and free Wi-Fi during their stay. The hotel is located just one mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough's Intercity railway station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport, altogether making us the perfect backdrop for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burleigh Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imago At Burleigh Court Hotel Loughborough
Imago At Burleigh Court Loughborough
Burleigh Court Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing