We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you are visiting the university”
Review of Burleigh Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burleigh Court
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights between visits to Nottingham and Loughborough university, so for us it was perfectly located.The room was clean but small, dark and poorly lit. The bathroom was small but clean. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. It has an odd feel to it, it's like staying in a room above a leisure centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well_travelled_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments which are much appreciated. I am most interrested to read your comments about the 'dark and poorly lit room' as I believe lighting in our rooms is generally very good. Unfortunately without a room number I am unable to investigate. My apologies for what seemed like a disappointing stay.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. I was travelling alone. On arrival it took quite some time for the receptionist to find my booking. My room was clean, comfortable and functional. However, the light from the window was obstructed by a large plant outside. I used the swimming pool. Sadly the pool area is very much in need of some refurbishment. As a female, I don't feel comfortable sitting in bars or restaurants alone so usually order room service when away from home. I rang room service and waited 10 minutes for an answer. I was then told that I could only have sandwiches for dinner as the football was on so they were running a barbecue. My option was this or the main restaurant. In the restaurant I was then advised that I should really have a starter as the food would be quite a while. The wine is also ridiculously expensive. While in the the restaurant there was another customer behaving very oddly and aggressively. This didn't trouble me but may have felt intimidating to other lone female travellers. All the more reason why room service should be prioritised over football. Don't get me wrong, I like football but surely customers should come first in a hotel . The food is over priced also. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IonaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Iona

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are most appreciated. It would seem that we got our wires crossed as room service should have been unaffected by the BBQ. It was just the bar menu which was temporarily unavailable. I will ensure your comments are relayed to those concerend and my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was the closest one available to attend a gig in Leicester and a bit dissapointed when we arrived .. It was a lot of travelling to find it as it's only accessible by bus as it's actually on the uni campus, otherwise a taxi is around £10 from the station! With us using it to commute to Leicester, we ended up spending a fortune on travel for 2 days. We arrived earlier than check in and were given no options whatsoever to pay extra etc despite having informed them we were arriving early. We had to wait in the hall for 4 hours!! Couldn't even go anywhere else in the meantime as there aren't even any local shops/coffee shops. The room itself was nice and clean and the bed was pretty comfy after a long day! I wouldn't really recommend it other than if you simply need a hotel in the middle of nowhere or if you had a car!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Lorraine

Thank you for your feedback and comments. Location is one of our great attributes as we are closely situated to the motorway, train station and East Midlands airport. Unfortunately not great for a late night concert in Leicester if you don't have your own transport. Unlike most hotels in the area and thanks to our university location we also enjoy an excellent bus service from the station.

Sincerely

Guiy Hodge
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Burleigh Court for 1 night as we were going to a wedding.

We were greeted and made to feel very welcome by a lovely lady called Giulia, who showed us to our room and ensured we were settled in. We were impressed with her customer service.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a large bed, lots of storage space and good facilities.

The breakfast buffet was also great -- with a wide choice of hot and cold food and drink options.

We would definitely return to the hotel again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Lara and David

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments which are most appreciated. We are pleased you had such a great stay with us and grateful that you have taken the time to post this review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
OIperations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Used this Hotel for 1 night business stay in May 2014. Arrived around 8PM and was booked in by friendly lady. Quite a trek to find the actual bedrooms which are not well signposted. After going through 2 sets of key operated security doors finally arrived at my room which can only be described as "very compact" or more commonly referred to as "couldn't swing a cat". The shower-room was worse and is the smallest ever I had ever been in. It felt very claustrophobic.
Made my way over to the restaurant which served up a decent array of food but quite expensive. Be prepared for a shock if you order a glass of wine, £9.00 for a very average French sauvignon blanc. I can buy a bottle of high quality SB for much less. Breakfast was excellent and made up for a rather disappointing evening

Room Tip: ask for a large room and watch the reaction of the staff !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRICARScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are very much appreciated. I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience. You were in one of our Lodge rooms which are sold as a budget alternative to our 4 star accommodation. You will though have used our four star facilities for your drinks and food and will of course been paying 4 star prices.The 250ml glass of wine you have mentioned is competitively priced for our market. We are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed two nights here for a work-related event. As it is a conference centre, and on a university campus, I was a bit sceptical about the claim that it provided four-star hotel facilities. However, my room was modern, pleasantly furnished, clean and well-equipped (including TV, tea/coffee making, safe and free wi-fi). Overall, I was impressed by the quality of the room, and would agree that it was comparable to a four star hotel (OK, not the best four-star hotel I’ve stayed in, but not the worst either!) Breakfast and evening meal were also a good quality, and all the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. The conference facilities were very good, and there was ample complimentary car-parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments which are very much appreciated. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations as a four star hotel and are extremely proud of the fact that we are currently the England Excellence 'large hotel' of the year, an accolade we picked up at up at the national awards last month. We are grateful that you have taken the time and trouble to post this review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Mmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for two nights while attending a wedding near by. Reception service was excellent very helpful and informative. The room on the second floor was of a good size and spotless. The bed was large and comfortable. Plenty of hangars in the wardrobe and lots of storage space. Bathroom also spotless with power shower and lots of shampoos etc. Hairdryer tea and coffee in room with cookies.
Breakfast was plentiful but not as hot as I would like it.
Leisure centre and swimming pool looked excellent but did not have time to use.
Drink and eating in looked a bit pricey. Would not serve coffee in bar after 10 for some reason

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterFoxesFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy H, General Manager at Burleigh Court, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments which are most appreciated. Our lounge menu is served daily from 10am to 10pm but coffee should still be avaiable after then so I will ensure your experience is relayed to those concerned and my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review.

Sincerely

Guy Hodge
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
0.6 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Loughborough Central
Travelodge Loughborough Central
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
311 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#11 of 12 in Loughborough
684 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court

Address: off Ashby Road | Loughborough University, Loughborough LE11 3TD, England (Formerly Imago at Burleigh Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Loughborough
#3 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range: £70 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Court 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh Court is one of the Midlands' largest 4 star accredited conference centre and hotel, combining outstanding meeting facilities with first-class accommodation. Voted VisitEngland Large Hotel of the Year in 2014, The contemporary venue offers 225 quality en-suite bedrooms including executive suites, accessible rooms, twin rooms and spacious double rooms. Adjacent to the main hotel is Burleigh Court Lodge, which provides 40 high quality en-suite rooms offering exceptional value and comfort. The Hotel has a recently refurbished restaurant, bar and lounge area which provide the perfect backdrop to tuck into a wide variety of cuisine, which is made with locally-sourced produce. Guests can also enjoy our spa facilities which includes a well-equipped gym, swimming pool, whirlpool spa, steam room, and sauna.What's more all guests can take advantage of free parking and free Wi-Fi during their stay. The hotel is located just one mile from junction 23 of the M1, three miles from Loughborough's Intercity railway station and eight miles from East Midlands Airport, altogether making us the perfect backdrop for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burleigh Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imago At Burleigh Court Hotel Loughborough
Imago At Burleigh Court Loughborough
Burleigh Court Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing