We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deli”

Bryer's Coffee House
Cuisines: Deli, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Bryer's Inspired by everything coffee, tea and food related, BRYER'S is a truly independent coffee house and deli in the heart of the UK. Our aim is to bring a big chunky slice of cosmopolitan life to East Leake. The only way to really appreciate the BRYER'S ethos is to come and visit us!
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Bryer's is fab. It's our local Deli and Cafe. Great food, drinks, deli, atmosphere etc etc. Friendly staff and a few bits n pieces to buy - posh foodie bits. The only reason I knock it down a star is because it closes too early on a Sunday, and I wish they'd stay open later in the evenings - somewhere that's not a pub (even though they sell alcohol) would be lovely to go to just for a coffee in the evening-same on a Sunday! Despite that, get yourself down there.

Thank joelsyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryer's D, Owner at Bryer's Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Hi,
Thanks very much for your review - glad to hear that you enjoy your visits and the only negative is that we are not open enough!
For information we did used to open later in the week, but found that it was not a service our customers used and hence we changed our opening hours slightly. We do open on a Friday evening (6 until 10) and hope that we might have the opportunity to open later on other evenings too...watch this space!
As we currently only offer a brunch menu on a Sunday, we open from 9:30 until 1:30, but again, this may change at some point in the future.
Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back at BRYER'S again soon!

Thanks,

Judd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Visit regularly as we live in the village. Always friendly, good food and drinks, particularly good range of unusual soft drinks for people like me who don't really drink.

Only problem is I can never finish the generous portion sizes but that's OK as the staff are happy to box it up for later!

1  Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryer's D, Owner at Bryer's Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Hi,
Thank you very much for your review. It's always great to see reviews form regular customers - I'm really pleased that you enjoy your regular visits, and hope to see you at BRYER'S again soon!
Thanks,
Judd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Finally got to visit as have been local to the area for sometime. 3 of us went for lunch. All thoroughly enjoyed our sandwiches and drinks, coupled with superb friendly service. We are moving a lot closer to the area and can't wait to visit more often. Keep up the great work!!

1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryer's D, Owner at Bryer's Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Hi,

Thanks very much for your review - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to you moving closer and visiting more often - when you move you should get a package of local information from the estate agent, and in there is a little voucher for BRYER'S...if you don't get it, please let us know!

Thanks,

J. Bryer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Had a great lunch date at Bryer's. Oozes a relaxed sophistication that got me to a second date with my lady friend!!

The Unusual and exotic produce, and genuine customer focus has raised the bar in East Leake. (Which was much needed).

Not cheap and cheerful - but they're not going for that market.

Ignore the "Dour Neigh-sayers" get down there and judge yourself. A great addition to a previously mundane village centre. Keep up the good work!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GibbonBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryer's D, Owner at Bryer's Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive review. I am so pleased you have enjoyed your visits to BRYER'S, and hope to see you there again in the near future...and I hope all goes well with the lady friend!

Thanks,

J. Bryer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Went for lunch at Bryer's on Saturday and the food was not great and there was food all on the floor upstairs and food after people had gone was left on tables for 20minutes before being cleared away it is run by youngsters who have no idea or passion for what they do its all about the money and turnover of money for them furthermore staff unfriendly and rude. Another reason i would not recommend going here as its over priced we had 4 drinks and 4 sandwiches and came to around £40.... which shocked me also and windows are always have condensation and there was mould on the wall behind the fridges with drinks in. wont be going again!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank linda01509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryer's D, Owner at Bryer's Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Hi,

Apologies for the delay in this reply - I have tried to contact the reviewer via TripAdvisor messenger to get some further information, but have had no reply.

We always appreciate feedback, but as a small family run business, continually striving to serve our local community to the best of our ability, reviews such as yours have a big, and negative impact on us. It’s a real shame that you couldn’t have mentioned any of these issues to us when you visited so that we could have tried to deal with them whilst you were here. When each customer leaves BRYER’S, we always try to ask how everything was, and thank them for visiting – this would have been a perfect opportunity for you to have mentioned something.
I would just like to take this opportunity to respond to your issues, as some of them are totally unjustified:
1) The food was not great: if you could direct message me with any specifics of why the food was not great, that would be most appreciated. We are very proud of all of the food that we sell, and strive to continually improve on our offering (see point 7 below).
2) Waiting 20 minutes for table to be cleared: I find this very hard to believe – when we are busy staff are always going up and down stairs and whenever they see a dirty table that has been left, they will clear it. If you had sat on a table that was already dirty, perhaps the team didn’t realise that the items on the table were not yours – this is no excuse as they should have known and it should have been cleared. However, all you had to do was ask, and it would have been cleared straight away. If your table was left un-cleared form the previous customers for 20 minutes, then I profusely apologise, as this is not acceptable.
3) Food on the floor – the floor is regularly swept throughout the day, but as we are a very family friendly establishment, it might have been that a family with young children had just left and we had not yet had time to sweep the floor – again, if this offended you, all you had to do was ask and it would have been dealt with.
4) Run by youngsters with no passion: I am pleased that based on this visit you seem to know our staff so well! Yes, many of our staff are young, but contrary to what you have said, they are extremely passionate about what they do. Many of them have worked for BRYER’S since we opened, and between the team working on the Saturday that you visited, they have over 20 years of experience working within the delicatessen / coffee shop sector.
5) All about money and turnover of money: this is totally untrue – serving our customers and ensuring they have a nice visit is much more important than how quickly we can turn over money. When we are very busy, we have to be efficient so that we don’t keep our customers waiting longer than necessary, but this does not mean money is more important than service.
6) Staff unfriendly and rude: again, totally untrue. Our team are recruited with customer service skills being the most important attribute. If we were very busy during your visit, our staff may not have had time to have a chat with you, but I can assure you that they would never be rude, or unfriendly.
7) Over-priced: I’m not sure how you came to £40 for 4 sandwiches and 4 drinks. All of our sandwiches are under £5 each (with the exception of some daily specials that may be £5.95, but these are clearly priced so you are able to see before ordering) and all non-alcoholic drinks are under £2.50 each (with the exception of a mocha that is £2.80). Therefore, if you had ordered from our standard menu, the most you could have spent for 4 sandwiches and 4 drinks would have been around £30 (all of the prices are clearly shown on the menu, so you shouldn’t have been shocked). I believe that this is excellent value when you take in to account that: our bread comes from one of the top bakeries in the country (delivered fresh to BRYER’S every morning); our meats come from some of the best producers in the UK and Europe (including free-range chicken from Staffordshire, hams from one of Rick Stein’s food heroes in Nottinghamshire and artisan charcuterie from world renowned producers in Spain and Italy); our cheese comes from 2 of the best cheesemongers in the country (giving us access to a fine selection of cheese, in the best possible condition); our coffee (that is freshly roasted every week) is all sourced from one of the best, if not the best coffee roastery in the world (a relatively small producer who always strives to source the best coffee in the world, and often has direct trade relationships with farmers); our teas come from a similarly well-regarded company; our hot chocolates and mochas are all made with ‘real’ single origin chocolate from an award winning producer and; many other items are freshly produced in store each day by our passionate, enthusiastic and well trained team. If you still believe that this is over-priced, then there is not a lot I can do about that, as I can guarantee that the margins we make on our food and drink is significantly less than the industry average, and massively less than other businesses offering the same quality of food as us.
8) Condensation on windows: this is an issue that only occurs when the weather is cold outside. We basically have 2 choices: 1) make it the same temperature inside the shop as outside (i.e., very cold) or; 2) make it a comfortable temperature inside and live with condensation on the window – we have chosen the latter. We have a ‘window hoover’ that sucks the water from the window and this is regularly used throughout the day, but the condensation is something that unfortunately we cannot prevent when it is cold outside.
9) Mould on the wall behind the fridge: this is not true at all! To start with, you cannot see the wall behind the fridge (there are two fridges next to each other, and these are butted up to shelving), and if you could, you would see that the wall is covered in a black sound reduction material (to reduce the noise level when we are busy) – so perhaps you saw this, and incorrectly assumed it was mould?
Overall, we are very upset by your review, mainly because a number of the points raised are untrue, but also because we could have dealt with any of these issues had you raised them at the time of your visit. I shall ensure that this review is shared with the team, that includes myself, who work at the weekends to ensure that we can learn from any points you have raised.
Should you wish to discuss any of these items further, please feel free to message me, or pop in to the shop and ask for me.
Regards,
J. Bryer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryer's Coffee House also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Sileby, Loughborough
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Bryer's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing