We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Quorn Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quorn Grange Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We went here on a Friday evening on a groupon deal. The food advertised on the groupon deal looked amazing, my partner was looking forward to moules for starters and I had read there would be lamb shank on offer.
We arrived at the hotel and were directed to the restaurant by the receptionist, we stood at the bar and were ignored by 2 staff. In the end I had to interrupt the conversation and ask if we were in the right place for the meal!
We were given a set menu which was limited to 4 or 5 choices, we were very disappointed to see moules and lamb shank were not included. I ordered smoked mackerel to start and my partner had crab cakes, both were delicious but I would have been embarrassed to serve them due to the sze of them, my starter consisted of 3 x one inch squares of mackerel, 1 small sprig of watercress and 3 very thin (transparent) slices of radish.
The mains arrived promptly and my pork belly was again tiny, the size of my little finger. My main was ok, I've certainly had better pork belly meals.
I had a chocolate Neapolitan mousse for dessert which was lovely but a bit disappointing to get a mushy tinned strawberry on the top!
We went to pay the bill (because my partner had choosen the cheese board which was extra in price but looked great, 4 pieces of cheese and delicious looking crackers) again we stood at the bar for ages, no one appeared, my partner went to look for staff but couldn't find any. Waited a bit longer, my partner eventually managed to find some staff outside having a cigarette, and after a while a girl appeared along with a waft of cigarette smoke and we were able to pay the bill.
All in all, very disappointed, shouldn't advertise and get people there on false pretences, wouldn't return to pay full price in case portions really were that tiny even when paying full price. Staff also need sorting out,

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    86
    61
    26
    22
See reviews for
83
98
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Went on a Groupon and the food was lovely. The only thing we were looking forward to was the Moules and lamb shank. Unfortunately the menu advertised with the groupon was not the menu we had to choose from. However what we did have was very nice and the service was good. The bar areas are nice but when we went into the restaurant the room lacked atmophere and the decor was tired. The tables were nicely set and cloths immaculatley clean but this room does need updating. Good for the price we paid and if they do more offer we will go back but wouldnt pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff were very good, friendly and efficient. The rooms spacious, certain aspects of the hotel were a bit tired and shabby. The restaurant and bar food was quite pricey but pretty tasty. Wine list limited. Breakfast was really good in a very nice environment, although the coffee let it down. The room had two comfy chairs with french doors leading outside, it would be lovely in the summer. There was a slightly horrid drain smell outside which I would hope for the guests sakes isnt still there in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughFoody, Business Development Manager at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at Quorn Grange Hotel, it is helpful when people provide comments, and we always try to learn from the people that have stayed with us, we have been going through a phase of improvements recently and some of the older parts of the building have now been refurbished, the work is ongoing and some of the bathrooms are currently being upgraded, The feedback that the staff very good, friendly and efficient is welcome. As you will have seen we have stunning Gardens and we are just seeing the first signs of spring, so we are confident that the gardens will be lovely in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The room (executive) was tired and in need of renovation and not what I would describe as executive. The bed though was very comfortable and the bathroom was in good condition but shower pressure poor.

The bar food, a gourmet burger was overcooked and dry, the fish and chips had soggy batter and was unappealing.

Wifi and internet worked well

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal there with friends the food was superb particularly the vegetables. The staff couldn't have been more courteous and helpful overall it was a very enjoyable evening out and we shall definitely go there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although the view and gardens were excellent the room was a little tired and below standard for this hotel and its Tariff.
There was mould staining in the shower
The toilet seat was loose
A door was very loose on one of the units (just hanging on)
The carpet was stained in several places
The internet connection kept dropping out
Breakfast - Very poor service and quality.
We had to ask for a hot drink as none was offered.
Cups were missing on tables
No milk put out for the cereals
Cooked buffet items were just warm
The toast wasn't toasted at all!
Some people arriving for breakfast had to step over the Hoover cable as this was being done during breakfast!
We heard several voices of complaint during breakfast and when checking out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crebinick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lovely drive up to the hotel beautiful grounds.

When we arrived we where greeted by 2 receptionists and the manager what a lovely man couldn't be more friendly and helpful! Promptley shown to our table with fresh flowers and cloth napkins.
I choose tea which was a big pot full defintely enough for one. A lovely selection of fresh cakes and finger sandwhiches the carrot cake was to die for so light and fluffy! Would defintely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dan920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
0.4 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hunting Lodge
The Hunting Lodge
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
3.7 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quorn Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quorn Grange Hotel

Property: Quorn Grange Hotel
Address: 88 Wood Lane | Quorn, Loughborough LE12 8DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Loughborough
#5 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quorn Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quorn Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quorn Grange
Quorn Grange Hotel Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing