We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£86
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bethany D

Poor

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2023
This hotel is a mixture of a hospital ward, a working mans club and a sauna. The mattresses were so old they squished down to the bed frame meaning I was lay in a similar position to if I was in a huge shell. A huge very hot shell as the room was boiling hot. Looks very pretty from the outside but the positivity ends there.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Hi Bethany,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are sorry to see that your stay with us didn't meet with your expectations. Obviously an individuals views are purely subjective, but, I find your description of the Hotel to be a little confusing as we are constantly being left positive comments with regards to the character of the property. Yes, there is ongoing maintenance and repair work being done which is normal for independent hotels, but I fail to see where your reference to a hospital ward has any baring on the aesthetics of the Quorn Grange.

Mattresses again are a preference of the individual guest. Some like a firm mattresses, others soft. Obviously we can't accommodate every guest's personal liking, but I can assure you that the mattresses are constantly reviewed and replaced where necessary.

As for the working man's club - your opinion of our other guests is, again, purely subjective and not something I would look to comment on.

Thank you again for your review and you have a good day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£59
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £50
  • Priceline
    £69
4.2 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £90
1.1 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£138
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £138
3.7 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£110
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £110
  • Vio.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £89
6.9 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£90
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Priceline
7.4 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £30
  • Travelodge
3.3 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £95
  • Priceline
    £115
3.7 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rear of Hotel
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £90
1.0 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £49
  • Priceline
    £51
0.4 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £31
  • Agoda.com
5.8 miles from Quorn Grange Hotel
View more hotels in Loughborough
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
256
161
99
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
161
99
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea patio doors wedding party sandwiches staff were attentive one night stay breakfast was delicious plenty of parking quorn meal venue function
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

Interesting hotel full of fascinating Trade Union memorabilia. Really lovely reception staff (apart from one rude and slightly terrifying older lady one morning), lovely young lads in the restaurant and the food was fabulous. The furnishings could do with a bit of updating and the mattress I had needed changing, but overall I enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank naughtybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Hi Naughtybun,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2023

We have just spent two nights at this hotel for my brother in laws wedding. On the Thursday night we had a meal in the hotel for 13 of us. The meal did take rather a long time to come and my mother in laws dessert took an hour to come, so she ended up eating it on her knee in the bar area, not really ideal for a lady in her 80s. Saying that the food was superb! There was one member of staff which really shone and provided excellent customer service and that was Kieron, very polite, friendly and helpful. The wedding was superb and a beautiful setting. The meal was again superb! Our room was a family room and very spacious and the beds were VERY comfy! Plenty of plug sockets, a full length mirror, tea, coffee, water and biscuits.. what more could you want!
We read the reviews before we came and to be honest we were worried about what we were going to find, but I can honestly not fault the venue!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive review and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to provide, what we feel is, our normal service. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. You have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

I stayed for a night next day we checked out but I really liked this resort hotel,.friendly staff, clean room, bed linen, towels, bathroom very neat and clean with all bedroom accessories, toiletries. Nice spacious room, backyard with a very beautiful garden. Breakfast had less options no variety but overall experience was excellent. Highly recommended

Room tip: Calm peaceful place
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aamrah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Hi Aamrah,

We are really please to see hat you enjoyed your time with us here at the Quorn Grange Hotel and appreciate your taking the time to leave such a positive review. have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023

Desperate!!!!! Rooms basic and unremarkable, shower was about as useful as a watering can but the Breakfast!!!! Well that was something else!! Plates stone cold, food barely lukewarm, no eggs, bacon looked like it had just come out of the fridge, sausages only brown on 2 sides again undercooked but worse still>>>>> No coffee at all ! 1 machine broken and unattended, only serving hot milk, no staff to ask it was dreadful, left on a long motorway drive home without having had a hot drink despite paying for a breakfast!
Never again this place has lost its way big time.

Room tip: Dont bother with breakfast its dissappointing.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Hi Neil,

Thank you for leaving your review and we are sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations. Your points have been noted and passed to the relevant department head. Thanks again and you have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Stayed here for 3 nights for work purposes - wanted a nice place to eat and rest after busy working days. This was neither. The room was adequate. The bathroom was inside a glass box which no matter how well you know someone, some functions are private. It’s a no from me. There was a wedding on every night we were there. Booked dinner via reception as no tables showing as available online. We ate completely alone as no other guests came in. The restaurant was chilly with no atmosphere. The member of staff serving us was miserable and avoided eye contact and any interaction bar what our order was. The food was pleasant enough but the menu was v limited. Breakfast was poor. I had coffee and toast with rock hard butter each morning. Despite being very early, the hot food didn’t look appetising, although on the first morning I tried some tasteless mushrooms and hard grilled tomatoes on my toast. I didn’t bother the other 2 days, just toast. The limited cold selection didn’t appeal at all. Same waiting staff on morning and evening. The second night we ordered from the room service menu. Our food arrived within the hour, was mostly hot but the two (same waiting) staff that brought it to us didn’t bring any cutlery. We didn’t feel able to use the bar on any night because of the wedding guests and we subsequently found out that there was a huge argument amongst them on the 3rd night, so pretty glad we managed to swerve that. Overall, we felt that the staff couldn’t be bothered. Attention to minor details were ignored. Items of rubbish/dirty glasses left on the restaurant window sill were still there the next day, glasses we had finished with weren’t removed when our new drinks were brought. We used the toilets in the public area just once, one of the three was out of order and one had a serious flashing lightbulb that I brought to the attention of reception plus there was a crate of bottles just inside the main doors that looked abandoned. As someone has previously said, the artwork on the public corridor that leads to the rooms was hardly conducive to a pleasant stay, being striking miners battling police. I’ve read the reason for them, however they should be confined to the educational facility. Overall, this hotel is tired and the staff don’t seem to care about their guests or surroundings.

Room tip: Bathroom is in a glass box.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 503martinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Op's Mgr, Guest Services / Front Office at Quorn Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2023

Hi 503Martinew,

We are disappointed to see that your time spent with us was somewhat disappointing. As with all reviews the content is often subjective with regards to an individuals expectations and this is what makes it difficult to please everyone. With regard to the wedding situation. In addition to the bar there is also the lounge area and the gardens for our guests to enjoy so we are sorry to see that you felt unable to enjoy the social areas in and around the Hotel.

Breakfast is an area where we are regularly receiving complimentary comments and the 7 hot buffet items, along with croissants, a choice of 4 types of cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruit salad is usually acceptable - bearing in mind that, unlike many establishments, we do not limit our residents to either hot breakfast or continental, but allow guests to choose from everything available.

Limited choice in the Restaurant I feel is also down to an individuals perception as there are both the A La Carte menu and the Bar Menu available offering a fairly wide range of dishes (the Kitchen are also able to cater for a range of intolerances and vegetarian/vegan menus and the like upon request).

As for the weddings. We are advertised as a wedding venue but I am somewhat at a loss here. There was not a 3 day period in June when we had back to back weddings so I feel unable to respond to the comments raised.

Your view of the staff members who served you has, along with your other comments, been taken on board and I will look into this to determine why the impression they gave was such a negative one.

That being said, we do appreciate our guests taking the time to leave their reviews and value all feedback as it enables to take a view as to what requires our attention and areas that we can look at to improve on. As mentioned earlier reviews are most often subjective and can cover areas outside of our control, such as wedding guests allegedly involved in huge arguments, but we will always take on board objective comments and look to improve where necessary.

Thankyou for taking time out to submit your review and you have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews