We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Louis Room - anniversary evening.”
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Absolutely fantastic stay. The staff are polite and helpful. Really clean well appointed rooms. We stayed in the Louis room and the only downside was that we could hear the music playing downstairs. The food was delicious, and served in good time. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We actually live a few streets away from this inn, and dine here quite often, and I'm a member of a group that meet here. But since our house was in a bit of a state due to major alterations we booked ourselves into here for a few nights. The room (Chopin Room) was beautiful, the breakfasts were lovely and an extra delight was that at dawn and at dusk bats whirled around our window outside - perhaps that wouldn't happen with all the rooms. It made a difficult few days for us very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms that overlooks the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Had the best meal with my mum here.
The restaurant is really nicely decorated (as is the whole place)
Had goujons of plaice to start, really good size, sauce was amazing, fish was amazing- loved it
Then had chicken in cheese and cider sauce and man it was amazing, you get chips and veg and also if you request you can have salad and new potatoes all free of charge and free top ups if needed. Best meal I've had in ages. Mum had a fish dish and she said the same. I wish I had have been hungrier so I could have tried a dessert!
Then the bill came and we had a few drinks, tea afterwards and 2 courses each and it only came to 40 quid I was blown away.
Can't wait to go back, well done to them.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed two nights at year. We could not fault the place. The room was huge and tastefully decorated. The dining areas were comfortable. We had dinner there and had a great meal. Maybe things hv changed in 12 months. Hopefully not!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Xotica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Visited the Hunting lodge on Tuesday evening with the intention of having a meal. We have been here several times before but not recently. To say we were shocked was an understatement.

The Bar area was tatty, unclean and more like a Kindergarton. Kids were running around screaming, some were shouting. A couple sitting nearby told us that this unfortunately was normal. We could not have a conversation.

There was a television over the bar which was also off putting.

Needless to say we had one drink and didn't bother to stop for a meal.

This used to be a really nice place to bring friends, family or just come by yourself but looking at it tonight it looks like it is badly in need of a change in Management.

Would we recommend. DEFINATELY NOT ** AWFUL AWFUL.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank paulamon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Nice hotel, Easy to find and get to, Excellent staff, they couldn't be faulted one bit, welcoming, friendly, accomodating and professional. We stayed in the fagin room, The bed is on the soft side, and plug sockets aren't available near the bed, but other than that a good room, with nice views. Be aware the accomodation is above a pub, and you do hear the chatter until closing time, but nothing rowdy.

The Restaurant was Very good, it was virtually full on the Thursday AND Friday nights we stayed which shows the standard must be consistant to be busy in these financial times. Be careful if you go out and come back around 6-9pm as you may struggle to get your parking space back for a while. Nice walks nearby and a small row of shops, but not much nightlife on your doorstep. Train station and bus stop are within a 5 minute walk, other than that you will need a car to get anywhere.

Room Tip: If you struggle with a soft mattress the Fagin room isnt for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent a very enjoyable evening and night at the Hunting Lodge in January. Good meal (steak) and wine, popular with the locals and very good service. We stayed in one of the themed rooms (Fagin room), which was large and very comfortable. Full of character, wood panelled, Dickension prints and four poster bed. The bathroom was functional and a little disappointing compared with the Dickension charm of the bedroom. Breakfast next morning was excellent and served in a very pleasant dining area. We thoroughly recommend the Hunting Lodge and look forward to spending a full weekend next time

Room Tip: Fagin room was excellent. Some of the other themed rooms look good too! Check out the website photos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessoreInglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
1 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#9 of 12 in Loughborough
721 reviews
4 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
205 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
607 reviews
3 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough
The Hunting Lodge Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing