We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hunting Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Inn(Long Whatton)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Link Hotel(Loughborough)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Court(Loughborough)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quorn Grange Hotel(Loughborough)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holywell House(Loughborough)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charnwood Lodge(Loughborough)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Guesthouse at Rempstone(Loughborough)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Loughborough Central(Loughborough)(Great Value!)
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
69
48
23
18
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
48
23
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree top upsbig gardendessert menuslarge platechicken rouladecontinental breakfastnice outdoor areafiltered waterfour poster bedbowl of fresh fruitlovely mealgenerous portionsbrought to the tablefamily mealhave eaten herepuddingpiping hot
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Visited for an early eve Sunday meal. Great menu, plenty of choice, not too pretentious. Very good attentive service, knowledgeable staff and nothing too much to ask.
We opted for chicken roulade and a braised beef. Both accompanied with potatoes and vegetables. For dessert, a traditional apple and rhubarb crumble with custard. All the food was freshly prepared. The veg steamed and not over done. All served on hot plates. The attention and details was very good.

What makes the experience is the attention to detail. A complimentary bottle of filtered water is provided together with a"top up" service on the vegetables. This really made it for us. Actually sets it apart form other gastro pubs in the area.

Again i cant praise the establishment for friendly attentive and courteous service. I will be returning sooner rather than later!

The place also offers accommodation too, individually styled rooms. Take a look at the website. Themed nights and live music as well!


Well done to all at The Hunting Lodge!

Room Tip: Looking at the rooms id go for The Fagin or The Dali
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Can't believe people are saying the food is rubbish, what are you talking about!?! We went to eat on a Tuesday for the early bird menu (2 courses for £7.95, before 6.30pm). We were not expecting large portions for the price. However, we could not have been more pleased with the food. Absolutely delicious, tastes homemade. Generous portions for the price. Not just frozen veg either. Piping hot. Lovely pub, nice atmosphere and friendly waitresses. Really pleasantly surprised and will definitely recommend and return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharityPalmer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed as part of the annual reunion, the food was terrible and I couldn't eat it. The room was fine and we slept quite well until woken very early by noisy heating, but the breakfast was also disappointing and not up to their usual standard.

I also agree about the packed bar, unfortunately due to the bad weather, but you only had to see the forecast to know and put contingency plans in place - poor organisation and management. I did hear a few whispers about moving the venue and think this might be a good idea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishboneWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Attended our annual reunion on Saturday which was a fantastic event as always.

As a venue this works really well when the weather is fine as the large beer garden allows everyone to spread out and circulate. However, on this occasion the weather was cold and showery which meant that the @300 guests were all packed into the bar area which is just not up to this volume.

Rather disappointingly was that despite the reunion being held here every year since at least 2007 with the owners knowing the numbers attending, only had 4 bar staff on duty for most of the day, which was totally inadequate and pure bad planning.

The packed bar made it virtually impossible to circulate and there were many, many old friends I did not get the opportunity to see.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for you review. I can only apologies that you didn't receive the level of service you expected at The Hunting Lodge on the day of the Army Reunion. We do try our best to make sure all our guests leave happy and this occasion we have not. On the day in question we did have 6 staff on the daytime and 11 on all evening from between 5 / 6pm but were caught unaware when quite a lot of our guests arrived earlier than we expected as normally people seemed to arrive later afternoon. We have noted this and next year we will be making sure we are fully staffed from an earlier time. Hopefully next year the weather will be nice and if not we will make sure the Garden Gazebo's are sign posted so people can go and relax outside and circulate a bit more.
Many Thanks
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

When booking B&B in England, one presumes full English, especially at these prices. It is not made clear on the website that the breakfast is continental.Even the member of staff who served us at breakfast said she couldn't see any mention of it just being continental. Wood chip on the ceiling in the Feng Shui room along with poorly plastered walls and horrible dirty blind in the bathroom. Cold rooms. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChHHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews