We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ”
Review of The Hunting Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hunting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend on a weekday lunch when our usual place was closed.

Was very quiet in the restaurant but lovely inside (if a little dark), with nice views over the garden.

I had the chilli followed by a coffee and my friend had an omelette. All very nice and the service was friendly and efficient until the end when no one came to collect our bill so we had to go to the bar. But all in all I would visit again, I think it would be better for dinner on a weekend or a Sunday roast as it would be a bit busier and have more atmosphere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You can go online to our website and join our mailing list, which will keep you updated on any special offers we have. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    37
    21
    18
    16
See reviews for
40
58
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have been to The hunting Lodge several times and find the food is good quality, a varied menu with something for everyone. The early bird menu is excellent value and you are able to order off this menu until 6.30pm. Staff are generally pleasant and helpful (although I do not believe staff should be texting on their mobiles behind the bar). Lovely surroundings and worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review. You can go online to our website and join our mailing list to keep up with all our special offers. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a fantastic hotel - only 6 bedrooms. The staff were friendly & efficient, the food was excellent & service was very good. We had friends join us for dinner & we all had a great meal with good, friendly & efficient service. Breakfast was really good (although it is only the continental breakfast that is included in the price) & the bowl of fresh fruit was really appreciated. We would be happy to recommend them & would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: the rooms all have names & different themes - we stayed in the Fagin room. The room was a bit d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and we will look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived for our 2-night stay to be warmly greeted by a member of the team who also helped us with luggage up to our room (Yoko). All very clean and comfortable. Good sized bathroom with powerful shower. Twin bedroom and separate dressing area with plenty of wardrobe space, spare pillows, blankets etc. Wi-fi available. Continental breakfast really nicely done including a lovely warm croissant and a plate of fresh fruit. Our servers on both mornings were genuinely cheery and helpful. Would definitely recommend, particularly if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Five of us had a nice meal at The Hunting Lodge on a Saturday evening. The place was reasonably full and the staff were welcoming and attentive. The menu is varied and food was good. We had unlimited servings of salad, veg and chips as we had the triple combos. Desserts were large as well. We had a really nice evening. Would highly recommend it and will visit again soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaKuddus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you all enjoyed your meals and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Very poor Xmas lunch today. Reasonably priced and the setting was nice but the quality of food was poor and it was all served cold. I was very disappointed. The service was also very slow. Not the standard I would expect for the price. Would not recommend!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

As a local in Barrow, I've visited The Hunting Lodge several times now. The food and service can be very good, or very poor - you just never know what you'll get on a particular day. So overall it's a disappointment because you can't rely on getting a good meal, served hot, or much attention from the staff, and I'm not happy paying for the latter. Unless you like to take chances, there are much better pubs that offer reliable service and food in the village or in nearby villages.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the hotel facilities; have only visited bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MFB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.0 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
#7 of 12 in Loughborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Property: The Hunting Lodge
Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough
The Hunting Lodge Loughborough, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing