We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a two night stay, we booked three rooms, one single, and two garden suites, all very nice, lots of space and very clean. Staff wonderful, must say a big thank you to Lynn, who we kept very busy serving drinks and evening meal on our first night when lots more family turned up for a visit. Wonderful breakfast and dinner, will be staying again. 10/10

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowsellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    129
    36
    25
    14
See reviews for
119
250
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have just returned from the Dryfesdale Hotel, having spent three excellent days at this Hotel. I really can't fault it. The Manager, the staff, the location and the food were excellent. It was an all inclusive package which was the best ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Good location and a warm welcome on arriving. Bedrooms very small and somewhat in need of an overhaul. Bathroom OK, but not spotless. Restaurant service was good, but overpriced for what it was. It felt they were exploiting their position in the area as there is not much competition. For the price it could be smartened up a bit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We booked our wedding reception a year in advance and from day one the wedding co-ordinators could not have been more helpful even when you think you are asking a trivial question. Prior to our wedding we stayed twice at the hotel and on each occassion the staff,accommodation and service were superb. Our big day arrived and we booked for two nights filling Friday 3/4 full and booking all the rooms for the Saturday, once again the service given to each member of our wedding party well surpassed everybody's expectations even down to Gavin taking the time to finding a gold ink writing pen for one of our guests who had bought one only to find it didn't work when they arrived back at the hotel.
All through the day the service and attention to detail was superb and all the staff were extremely polite and always had a smile on their faces even though having to cater for 97 guests. We chose the more expensive option of a choice of 3 for each course and EVERYBODY commented on the excellence of the food with many of our guests actually stating it's the best wedding breakfast they have ever had.
The change over from wedding breakfast to room for disco was done quickly so that the festivity's were quickly back on.
Having read other reviews we can dispel any fears of noise from the motorway as the hotel is as quiet as a mouse and all the beds are fine and standard size, we informed some of our guests that they were being charged for a single room but were getting a double bed just because the bed had one side against the wall but the staff were at pains to ensure this was pointed out and on one of our previous visits we were allowed access to every room to check them out, some guests even had children and for a nominal fee an extra bed was added but again this didn't impact on anybody's comfort.
All we can say is that if you are looking for a splendid hotel with superb staff and a day that is ensured to be a credit to your memorable day we cannot recommend the Dryfesdale highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Firstly i cannot thank the hotel enough for my special day. Upon arriving at the hotel first thing is its loation set in spacious grounds its very quant. The pictures of the grounds and the hotel really do the hotel no justice as it was amazing.
Staff over the weekend accomodated our every need and were very friendly and made sure our day went as smoothly as it could. The Bridal suite was very nice and so were the garden and double rooms that our guests stayed in. The food was presented and tasted great and i cannot fault the choice we had to choose from for the price that we payed. I have read on reviews that you can hear the motorway traffic and i can honestly say this is not true at all. I would definatly recommed this hotel to anyone for a wedding reception. We had the the most memorable wedding weekend and i would like to thank the hotel and all its staff for being a part of this. i look forward to returning back in the very near future. Please please do not hesitiate its such a personal and intimate hotel. Mr and Mrs McCombie

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

went for wedding,booked for 2 nights but due to a bereavment only able to stay one night only charged for one night, meal at wedding of soup, steak and chocolate desert was beautiful, also breakfast was lovely, amazing early morning views of a cold frosty november morning,slept very well , great stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My new Husband and I, held our wedding reception at this fantastic hotel. We have not got a bad word to say about it.
The staff were lovely and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, especially Eddie "The Legend"
We stayed in one of the Bridal Suites and it was beautiful, with views that you normally only see on postcards. Our family stayed in a range of rooms from the Family, Double and Garden Suite Double and they all want to meet back here next year to celebrate our anniversary.
The food was outstanding, from the bar snack menu through to the Wedding Breakfast and our only regret is not having room for seconds!!
Thank you to all the staff for making our special weekend memorable and we look forward to coming back soon.

Nickie & David Wilkinson

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWilky526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockerbie
1.1 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
2.9 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
655 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing