We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always so friendly and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always so friendly and welcoming.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Always such a friendly welcome. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast always superb. I travel all over the U.K., and my only regret is that I can't find another Somerton House at all my other destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    37
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
62
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The owner and staff are very polite and professional. They ensure your stay is comfortable, relaxing with a more personal feel to the range of sterile hotels available. The food is excellent with a varied choice to suit all preferences. The rooms are very clean and provide all the essentials whether staying for one night or several. As a business customer, primarily, I stay in many hotels around the UK of different styles and types and this is one of the few I actually have a good nights sleep in. I recommend it highly enough that my family are staying there at the end of Summer for several days during a tour of the surrounding counties.

Room Tip: Front (main two) rooms are extremely spacious. All various sizes accommodate 6ft tall persons with e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in July whilst visiting friends in Lockerbie. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice and comfy. Don't read into other people's reviews on here this place is value for money. The food is lovely and the service is great. If you are looking for a place in Lockerbie to stay this is the place.
Great staff. Great food. Lovely relaxed atmosphere for a drink or two.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonehaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Somerton House Hotel where a warm welcome always awaits us.The standard of housekeeping is excellent as is the food. We look forward to returning again when on our next business trip

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely spacious room but the lumpy mattress was long past its sell-by date, pillows were pancake-flat and tired duvet was being used as a quilt, with a top sheet underneath it - the whole thing flattened under a heavy bedspread. And of course it's 2am when one realises just how uncomfortable the bed is. The tin lid was supplied by the non-working light over the mirror in the (windowless) bathroom and the shower which only worked when the pressure was high enough to reach the second floor - a bit disconcerting when you're covered in soap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cailleach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at The Somerton at Easter and it was brilliant. staff are amazing and the food, accommodation, building, location and most of all manager Brian made our day perfect. Really love the hotel and will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Had my daughters wedding at this venue and it couldn't have been any better. The staff were all so accomodating, the room looked amazing and the food was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone. Brian was so professional and knew exactly how to make our special day go perfectly.

Thanks to all at the Somerton!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
0.9 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
3.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton House Hotel

Property: Somerton House Hotel
Address: 35 Carlisle Road, Lockerbie DG11 2DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and professional hotel that caters to all. During the week we have a regular business trade that takes advantage of all the mod cons, including full wi-fi coverage, in stylish and relaxing surroundings. We are excellently located for all local companies and just over an hours journey to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Weekends are busy with local food trade and also with small functions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Somerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing