We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somerton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Family Sunday lunch at Somerton House was lovely. Staff friendly, nice setting, food good. We all plumped for the Turkey roast. Generous portion of moist turkey and perfectly cooked vegetables.
Deserts a bit of a mixture though - I had peach melba which consisted of tinned peaches, cream and meringue! Partner had a really nice cheesecake (although it looked bought in) it was quite nice and he had no complaints. Altogether a pleasant Sunday afternoon lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeeandbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    35
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
58
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is a little off the beaten track and suffers as it doesnlt appear on many o fthe search engines or corporate travel sites....However, my colleagues and I stay here whenever we are in the area.

It came recommended by one of the staff at a site we were workign on, the prices are more than reasonable, the staff are ever helpful and epitomise the phrase "going the extra mile, for the customer" they are always cheerful. The town itself struggle sin terms of nightlife, but the Somerton's hotel and bar always seems to have someone in it....it has a really cosy feel to it.

The food is excellent, I've never had a bad meal here. The bar is well stocked and offer a range of draught beers, ciders & lagers, The house wine is particularly good (especially the red!) and they have a staggering array of whiskies.

There are other hotels in the area, I've stayed at all of them, this one is definitely the best value, atmosphere, food and staff!

I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5, unless you like it cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJMoss1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times in the past. Every time I am in Lockerbie it is dark, wet and miserable, so when I pull up into the car park of the Somerton, looking up at the old building I feel like I am about to become a victim in a whodunnit !!

Somerton House a very old feel to it, and entering the foyer you feel like it hasnt changed in 40 years (which it probably hasnt). It has 'character' some would say.. I'd say it needs a lick of paint, but heyho it is quite a warming atmosphere, although not sure if thats the central heating been put up to 'tropical' to acccomodate the blue rinse brigade's daily lunch get togethers..

Anyhow the rooms are quite old fashioned but nice to be fair and the beds have given me a decent night sleep. Free wifi that has a good connection which is another tick in the box. Bathroom ok as well.. So far so good.

Both times I've had dinner I've not been overly impressed.. Plenty of fish options, but the breaded haddock was a bit like the one I'd get out of a box from Birdseye. The chicken dish was a little better but not anything out of the ordinary.. Breakfast was again - ok.. I've had better full Scottish's. I was asked if I wanted beans, which I said 'yes' and promptly wasnt provided with any. That said the Irish fella who seemed to work evening, days and afters (maybe they spared him a couple of hours during the night) was such a friendly and chatty guy, that I didnt have the heart to tell him about the beans error..

Having said all that I actually have a soft spot for this hotel. It's cheap without being too nasty and it has a bit of character to it, so it will certainly be the hotel of choice when I next visit Lockerbie (not that I really want to visit Lockerbie again....)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just experienced the most wonderful wedding reception we could ever hope for.
Married at sea, last month we chose the Somerton to stage a dinner for 30 of our closest family and a disco party with buffet for 50 other friends and family.
The management was first class. The food was delicious. The venue was exactly what we wanted for 80 guests. The disco / karaoke was fandabbidozy. The buffet plentiful and tasty. The prices for dinner and all drinks were affordable and not an exercise rip off techniques.
Hotels depend on word of mouth . This hotel is going to be very busy.
Thank you Brian and all staff for "making our day."

Room Tip: Big red sandstone mansion, so rooms are big and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankritchie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had dinner here on the 29th September with friends who stay In Lockerbie.
Staff were friendly, quick service and very good food. Hotel was busy for food which is always good. Will defiantly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because it seemed ideal for touring the area and we were very pleased that we did. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and well furnished.The bed and pillows were comfy. The menu for dinner was varied with plenty of non-meat options. A breakfast menu would be an idea - I had scrambled eggs but didn't like to ask for mushrooms in case there weren't any! The staff were friendly and helpful and I liked the late-1800s charm of the old doctor's house. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Always such a friendly welcome. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast always superb. I travel all over the U.K., and my only regret is that I can't find another Somerton House at all my other destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
0.9 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#7 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.6 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton House Hotel

Property: Somerton House Hotel
Address: 35 Carlisle Road, Lockerbie DG11 2DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and professional hotel that caters to all. During the week we have a regular business trade that takes advantage of all the mod cons, including full wi-fi coverage, in stylish and relaxing surroundings. We are excellently located for all local companies and just over an hours journey to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Weekends are busy with local food trade and also with small functions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Somerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing