We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

The Hightae Inn Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A great little Restaurant with rooms open for Evening Suppers 5 nights a week (closed Mondays & Tuesdays) serving locally sourced home cooked food to order in our cosy lounge bar. As we only have a limited number of covers and the table is yours for the night, booking really is essential.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a friend staying for the weekend and took her to the Hightae Inn on Saturday 3rd May 2014. The three of us had an excellent meal and having visited this restaurant a few times in the past I'd have to say that the food here is consistently good.

We enjoyed a lovely relaxed evening and we will return here again for certain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Good to see you again Callum and delighted you enjoy the food and surroundings here. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were on an overnight stay at another local b&b who managed to book a table here for us on Thursday evening. We were certainly not disappointed. The welcome was really warm and the food was absolutely superb, first class! Sensibly priced sensibly portioned but more than tasty! We will certainly return when we stay with Heather and Martin again - hoping they have the correct batteries for the visiting mammals!! Thank you very much Mark - and Morag in the kitchen!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

So glad you made the journey over from Heather & Martin's to eat with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great service, husband & wife team are fab. Locally sourced seasonal food so not pages of menu to read, just fantastic cooking.
Never taken children, led to believe they will do half portions, as no 'kids menu'.
Lovely warm atmosphere, with wood burner and plenty of whiskies to try!
Staff knowledgeable about area and where raw ingredients come from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorna0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for discovering us and spreading the word on TripAdvisor - we're so glad you enjoyed the place and the food. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers
Morag & Mark, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A small but well selected menu. All food is cooked to order by Morag. I had warm Blackpudding and Beetroot salad, followed by the slow cooked Pork and just couldn't say no to a pudding so had Lemon Posset. My husband had the smoked Salmon, followed by Sirloin steak and amazingly also had a pudding of Sticky Toffee pudding. The food was amazing and service was great. Five star quality without the pretentious nonsense. Clientele was mainly the residents of the Inn but it is also used by locals which always a good sign. Would highly recommend. Will visit again on our many journeys down the A74(M), only a small detour but far superior to any of the service station food along this stretch of road.

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - it's great that you found us and enjoyed your Evening Supper here in Hightae. Next time you're heading down the A74 give us a call and pop in for some food again.

Kind regards
Morag & Mark, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Me and my wife ate dinner here Fri 4th April. Mark made us both very welcome and was very attentive and helpful. The food was excellent. I had the 5 hour slow cooked pork and my wife had the Salmon in a coconut milk, mint and coriander sauce. You cannot fault the food or indeed the service. You are not rushed as they only book the table once every evening. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank sosmn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Extremely happy you enjoyed your evening supper with us - the slow cooked Pork really is a wee bit special. We hope to see you again soon.

Morag & Mark Cuthbertson, The Hightae Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hightae Inn Restaurant also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Hightae Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing