We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional”

Dryfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Lockerbie
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Emotional”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The lady and gentleman that we met were very helpful and knew a lot about the local area. The visit to the Lockerbie Memorial was emotional and then we took a walk across the road to the nature reserve and were treated to up close and personal encounters with red squirrels and lots of native birds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bodhischmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A chance to reflect”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Anyone visiting Lockerbie or the surrounding areas should visit the Dryfesdale Lodge visitor centre as it gives you a chance to reflect on the terrible events of 22 December 1988, whilst also learning more about the general history of Lockerbie.

We found our visit very informative and we also visited the garden of remembrance and memorial to the Lockerbie victims just a short walk away from the visitor centre. Nothing brings home how awful the terrorist act was more than seeing the memorial with so many names on it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The history of Lockerbie and a detailed history of the terrorist atrocity.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A very worthwhile visit. If you have any memories from the TV and newspaper reports at the time of bombing of PanAm 103 then please try to find time to go to the visitor centre. A very moving experience and a very sad and disturbing part of our history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A balanced view”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent visitor centre. Although unfortunately the first thing that comes to mind when we think of Lockerbie is still the terrorist atrocity, Dyfesdale Lodge manages to include this into the overall history of Lockerbie. But there is sufficient info about the disaster, including a book of biographies about the victims, as well as their memorials in the adjacent churchyard, so that you can relate to them as individuals. A very moving experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgoundry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Centre Closed”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Unfortunately on the day we visited the Centre was closed. Perhaps out of season, but we visited here specifically to look at the Lockerbie Remembrance Garden - which was very nice and as it was a beautiful day we enjoyed a quiet stroll around the garden, reading all the plaques of remembrance. So sad to see the number of family members who perished on that terrible day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dryfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dryfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing