We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoddom Castle Caravan Park
Nearby Hotels
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water(Lockerbie)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$129
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
85
32
10
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
32
10
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat sitetoilet blockcoach housethe pubshower facilitieslarge sitewell stocked shopjohn and lorrainegames roomsmall shopcrazy golfgreat facilitiescamping areakept immaculatewee shopclean toiletslots of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice site spoiled by attitude of warden, absolutely no need for the way he spoke to customers, especially when his information was incorrect. Owners if you read this I think a wee course in customer service would be money well spent, disgraceful.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Pollycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at Hoddom on our way home from Blackpool and was sad we were only staying the one night. The campsite was very easy to get to from the motorway, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, we arrived slightly earlier than the 2pm check in time but as the pitch was free this was no problem. The facilities were very clean and the ladies shower room must be the cleanest I have ever been in, regardless of the time of day you went in they were spotless. Great wee pub on site where kids and dogs are both welcome, really nice food and nice relaxed atmosphere. There is a takeaway on site too with a good menu plus a wee shop with everything you need. What I found very refreshing was the prices especially the kid's slushes these were only 75p or £1 it's hard to find a campsite these days where the prices are realistic. We had our dog too and there was plenty of places for him to go walks. The check out time of 1pm was great no having to set alarms and rush breakfast to be off at a silly hour especially on a Sunday. Will certainly go back. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Would be a good location for any mountain biker wanting to do some of the 7 stanes trails, Newcastleton, Mabie, Ae and Dalbeattie are all a 30-60 min drive.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was an excellent campsite - with facilities and surroundings..however we stayed for 1 night on a day when it was 29C with 6 children between us (including a baby) and were told we were not allowed to put a gazebo up to provide shade!! Absolutely ridiculous!! we were told by the manager/store owner that this was "campsite policy" and she would not shift on this!
An excellent site but wouldn't return purely out of principle!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lucuss66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddom C, Owner at Hoddom Castle Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry about the problem with the gazebo, but it is stated on our tariff on the website, "Strictly no Gazebos" We used to allow gazebos but people were turning up with enormous ones and they were taking up all the pitch space. Then someone lit a fire under one and it caught fire.
I do understand that the warden did let you keep your gazebo up although they asked you to reduce the height of it.
We do hope you will return as we do love children and we do our best to accommodate families above all else.
Thank you again for your custom and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Hoddom Castle Caravan Park, I was really impressed by this site, we have been to quite a few campsites but this is one that really stood out! The area itself is stunning and the grounds are immaculate and the pitches are well spaced. There is good walking trails to take the dog and the Coach House Bar is dog friendly. The menu was reasonably priced and had a good choice. The Chill pods and the Kelo Lodges are lovely - really unusual. The showers and toilets are spotless which is always a main factor for us! On the whole we had a brilliant weekend here in our tourer and would not hesitate in returning to this Holiday Park. Thanks for a great weekend....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lucozade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked to stay here for our first camping experience with our two year old son. Despite some rookie errors with our tent, we had a great time! The site was very clean and the showers were lovely, warm and spotless. The staff were nice and helpful too. Our son loved the nearby walks by the river, the Highland Cows, the playground and most importantly the amount of space available to kick a football. We ate in the Courtyard restaurant one night which was nice and convenient. We will definitely go back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LisaBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews