We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens Hotel, Lockerbie”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely old style hotel. Close to the Motorway, but don't let that put you off. Full of character and charm the Queens is a good place to stay. Nice big rooms and very clean and tidy. What really makes this hotel are the staff. There were so friendly and helpful, especially Trisha the owner.

The food is very good and the portion sizes are big, if you have the Highland chicken forget having a sweet, you wont have any room !.

All in all this is great place to stay, and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensloc, Owner at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Roger,

Thank you for your review, most appreciated !
I hope we will see you and your lovely wife again sometime !

kind regards

tricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

stayed here at weekend while working in area and was pleasantly surprised by both the hotel and the friendly staff great food and room I was in was a fairly big double nice wee place for a stopover I normally cant wait to leave hotels when working away but found this one had a nice friendly atmosphere would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have lunched and dined a few times at the Queen's in Lockerbie recently and have to say have been more than impressed Their menu is full of higher end Scottish fayre and I'm informed it's mostly locally sourced, or even home grown in their own veg garden. Their tablet ice-cream is a must.This is a wee unsung gem of a place I would highly recommend, it's time to start crowing about yourselves Queens! Great service too, with a genuine smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Angie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, fabulous views from the rooms, especially room 2 (highly recommend asking for this room!) The portion sizes are exceptional as well and it's all homemade! Friendly staff and an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have eaten here many times and the food never fails to please. It is all freshly cooked on the premises and is served by very pleasant staff. The hotel is on the edge of town and easy to find, especially from the south side. Definately worth a five minute detour from the motorway (it realy is only 5 minutes).
The grounds are a nice size to stretch your legs if on a journey.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justjane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The hotel building is very impressive, and you can see that the owners are trying to modernise the inside. My room was very clean, spacious and looked as if it had recently been given a lovely make over with new furnishings, bathroom, carpet etc. I paid £54 for my stay which I considered to be very good value.
The highlight of my stay, was the welcome and friendly service from a member of staff called Christina. She was so helpful, and when I mentioned I would be leaving around 4.30am, she offered to have a packed lunch made for me!! Very much appreciated. Evening meal was nice, and reasonably priced. This hotel is a little tired in places, but that was very much offset by the lovely staff who looked after me. Hotel is just off the a74,so perfect if you're looking for a place to stop over with some character, good food and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived on a mild winter day and booked into our room. It was a large room with a comfortable bed, but it was freezing along with the corridors up to the rooms. There was only one radiator in the room and for the size of the room it wasn't enough. We turned the radiator on full but it never got warm until the morning. We asked and got an extra duvet but it didn't help a great deal!
The bathroom was tired and had a lot of mould around the bath. The toilet was dirty with several hairs. Needed to run the taps for a while as the water was discoloured.
The evening meal was ok, but the breakfast was slightly better although no milk on the table for tea and coffee.
The hotel could have done with a face lift in the corridors and restaurant. Sadly won't be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensloc, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hello there,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with ourselves and feel that you would not return to stay with us again.

However, I am very shocked to hear with two duvets and the heating on in both the room and bathroom that you still felt cold; your husband had said that on returning from Cyprus he was feeling the weather change. Had we known how unpleasant you felt , the staff would have been more than happy to have moved you rooms.

I have spoken to house keeping regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom and inspected it myself - this is not mould round the bath it is discoloured silicone through constant use!

In regards to the breakfast milk it is our policy that milk is served to every table along with the tea and coffee. The member of staff on duty remembers serving you a milk jug and also being more than happy to refill it.

Again, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that our traditional decor was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lockerbie hotels
0.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: Annan Road, Lockerbie DG11 2RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range: £54 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing