We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay in the Countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in the Countryside”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for two night as part of a group for my best friend's wedding - we had the whole place booked out. Absolutely fantastic stay - we were given room 7, on the second floor and overlooking the garden behind and countryside beyond. SUPER quiet spot - never heard a sound overnight.

Bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and spacious for the 2 of us. Lovely en-suite bathroom with nice modern shower and fixtures. Large, fluffy, soft towels for use too.

Room decor blended antique furniture with modern amenities: flat panel TV, upholstered easy chair, with matching upholstered headboard and seat cushion on small desk.

Breakfast was fantastic - lots of cereal choices and I ordered poached eggs both mornings. Eggs were perfect - almost orange yolks. Tea and toast fab - and they come and take your order; service very speedy.

One small downside for me - I never could get the WiFi to work. The signal was there but my phone wouldn't connect. I guess when you're in the countryside you should be relaxing but since I was visiting from the US my phone doesn't work on the mobile phone networks and so WiFi was the only way to stay somewhat connected. Certainly not a huge deal...but a bit of a challenge nonetheless.

All in all...an excellent stay. Lovely location, lovely building, lovely room. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelineLikeTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We did enjoy having you all to stay.
Should any guest have trouble connecting to the Wifi then please do come and see us, we can help you connect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
62
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pimperne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very welcome break for an overnight stay on our way home from Scotland with our 8 month old Westie, Boris. We had the garden room which was perfect for the little fella and us, well nearly as it only had twin beds! We missed out on visiting the Red Lion which was a shame. The breakfast ingredients were lovely and tasty although the coffee a little weak for my liking. Friendly hosts and superb weather made for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
The Twin Room in the Garden Annex has twin beds which can be zipped and linked together to make a superking size bed, with prior notice we are able to do this for guests' comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When I arrived at Pickmere house I was taken aback by how the beautiful the house is. I was greeted at reception by the lovely owner and shown to my room - a single room with a shared bathroom. The room was clean and very comfortable. The shared bathroom was very spacious, clean and had plenty of towels. I had a very comfortable nights sleep and made use of the television, generous coffee and tea facilities and fresh towels. Although the rooms windows faced the road, I had a very quiet and undisturbed nights sleep. In the morning I had breakfast (after I had been very nicely asked what time I would like breakfast) at 7am in a beautiful breakfast room. There was a wide variety of cereals and fruits, and I ordered the full English which I have to say was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. I couldn't believe the fantastic value for money I received. I will definitely be returning! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulvoice1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This guest house was chosen for convenience visiting family friends 5 mins away. We had a family room, sleeping 3 of us - a double bed and 2 singles and ensuite- very comfortable and clean. The guest house is a 16th century grade 2 listed building and it's beautiful! The owners were very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. Delicious breakfasts. Beautiful antique furnishings, and lovely arty handicrafts made by the owner giving a lovely, homely feeling. Lovely gardens and very conveniently located for walks and eating out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, East Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Absolutely loved my 2 nights at Pickmere Country Guest House. I was allocated room 5 on the second floor and the views out to the Cheshire countryside were stunning. Extremely comfortable nights' sleep. The room has all the amenities you need. And breakfast was particularly good. I'd highly recommend a stay here. Felicity is a great host. Knutsford and Alderley Edge are very attractive villages/towns nearby and well worth a visit. Lunch at the Red Lion in Pickmere was delightful as was afternoon tea at nearby Arley Hall. And if you're on the hunt for designer bargains, check out Cancer Care and the North West Air Ambulance shops in Alderley Edge and Knutsford.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed lovely...garden view or Cheshire plain view, each have something to recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at Pickmere in the Annex. Other family members were in the main house. Rooms in the house were spacious. This is a very old building so full of character with furniture to complement. Breakfast room and lounge welcoming with games for guests. The breakfast was very good and cooked to order with local produce. Hosts were on hand to booked taxis for us . Only downside was the en suite in the Annex which needs some T.L.C..

Room Tip: Stay in main house in superior rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopemwnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

What a place, a very welcoming meet up with the hostess felicity, there wasn't anything to fault with this guest house, she even organised a taxi to take us all out, and the breakfast was fabulous especially the porridge!!!, a great stay, rooms very clean, with hot drink facilities if needed,

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
5.9 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moss Farm
Moss Farm
#1 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Property: Pickmere Country House
Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickmere Country House Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing