We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed one night on our way from Cardiff to Edinburgh. Really only wanted a comfortable place to break the trip up. What we found was a wonderful experience that screamed of a country bed and breakfast. Extremely friendly with comfortable beds. Our room fit 5 very nicely (not always easy to find). Excellent breakfast - Full English or as I had pancakes. We got in a little late - around 8pm - and the local pub had closed. The owner helped us find out way to Kuntsford for a wonderful meal in that really cool little town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
62
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice welcome, a lovely room with great views across the Cheshire Countryside and an excellent breakfast - the full English was good however the highlight was American Style Pancakes with Bacon and Maple Syrup - an absolute delight!

Additionally, Feletia kindly arranged a taxi for us to travel into Knutsford on our last night. (see review L'Angelo Italiano)

A perfect spot to visit Dunham Massey, Tatton Park and Arley Hall and Gardens.

Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: room 9 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveBIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed for one night on Sat 26th July. As I had an appointment I was very kindly allowed to check in a little earlier which helped a great deal. The room was small but very clean and I had a shared bathroom which appeared to have no other users but myself, which again was spotless. The wi-fi was a little hit and miss which wasn't a huge issue, but the breakfast was marvelous with fresh ingredients and plenty of choice. If I was to have a gripe it would only be that the house was a little further away from Knutsford Town Centre than the website would suggest and I only found this out whilst walking back. All in all a very nice stay indeed and next time I am in the area I would not hesitate in choosing Pickmere Country House Hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped for one night on long journey from Cornwall to Scotland. Room was very clean and a good size. Owner very helpful with where to give our dog a run. As others have said just off the motorway but a very peaceful corner to get some rest. we wanted to get going in the morning and the bacon and marmalade sarnies wrapped in foil to keep them hot a great start to the day. would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great place with good sized rooms (we had the top floor) and beds. Clean, tidy and reflected character.
I agree with the comments about the double glazing being tired and spoiling views a bit but our stay wasn't based on looking out of the windows.
Fabulous greeting from the owner who couldn't have made us feel more welcome.
Good parking
Belly busting breakfast (for us anyway) and very accommodating about what time we had it too.
We enjoyed our stay on both days we were there, on a trip south and on our return north.
I would definitely recommend this place. A gem of a find off the motorway but easy to reach.

Room Tip: Wi-fi was a bit slow for us but we didn't really use it or need it during our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennieandrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for two night as part of a group for my best friend's wedding - we had the whole place booked out. Absolutely fantastic stay - we were given room 7, on the second floor and overlooking the garden behind and countryside beyond. SUPER quiet spot - never heard a sound overnight.

Bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and spacious for the 2 of us. Lovely en-suite bathroom with nice modern shower and fixtures. Large, fluffy, soft towels for use too.

Room decor blended antique furniture with modern amenities: flat panel TV, upholstered easy chair, with matching upholstered headboard and seat cushion on small desk.

Breakfast was fantastic - lots of cereal choices and I ordered poached eggs both mornings. Eggs were perfect - almost orange yolks. Tea and toast fab - and they come and take your order; service very speedy.

One small downside for me - I never could get the WiFi to work. The signal was there but my phone wouldn't connect. I guess when you're in the countryside you should be relaxing but since I was visiting from the US my phone doesn't work on the mobile phone networks and so WiFi was the only way to stay somewhat connected. Certainly not a huge deal...but a bit of a challenge nonetheless.

All in all...an excellent stay. Lovely location, lovely building, lovely room. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelineLikeTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We did enjoy having you all to stay.
Should any guest have trouble connecting to the Wifi then please do come and see us, we can help you connect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimperne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very welcome break for an overnight stay on our way home from Scotland with our 8 month old Westie, Boris. We had the garden room which was perfect for the little fella and us, well nearly as it only had twin beds! We missed out on visiting the Red Lion which was a shame. The breakfast ingredients were lovely and tasty although the coffee a little weak for my liking. Friendly hosts and superb weather made for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia-Pickmere, Owner at Pickmere Country House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
The Twin Room in the Garden Annex has twin beds which can be zipped and linked together to make a superking size bed, with prior notice we are able to do this for guests' comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
5.9 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moss Farm
Moss Farm
#1 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Property: Pickmere Country House
Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickmere Country House Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing