We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No silent night at Pickmere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pickmere Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No silent night at Pickmere!”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Good breakfast, friendly owner, but a very poor night's sleep. We had asked for a quiet room but we were given a room overlooking the road and this was noisier than we would have imagined. To add to the peace, the dividing walls are thin and we had a party of drunks in the next room who kept us awake way into the small hours.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaminbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
62
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great stop-over choice on our way back from Scotland. We were made to feel welcome. Had the garden room because we had two dogs so cannot comment on general rooms in house. Garden room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Close to the M6 but not too close so very handy as a stop-over. would use again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This was our second stay here. On both occasions we wanted somewhere handy for flying home from Manchester Airport the following day.

The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need including tea, coffee etc. Beds really comfortable and a variety of different rooms depending how many beds you need.

We has a spacious room with a double and two singles and the twin in the garden would be great for a couple of teens.

Good breakfast and The Elms pub next door is great. Good food, very friendly staff and pool table and darts to keep the kids amused.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lihou94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This has got to be one of the best Guest Houses i have stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble and a Very Tasty breakfast included what more can a party of 12 ask for. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Pickmere on the 29th October for one night. I would agree with previous reviews in that the atmosphere is most conducive to a relaxing stay... the hosts were most welcoming and helpful, even having to hand menus for the two local pubs. The room was very comfortable and we all slept well. Personally I think the room could do with a little decorative TLC, but having said that the TV's are currently being replaced with digital TV's. The full english breakfast was a delight and set us up for the day. We have plans to return here on our next trip.
The Elms Pub down the road was really good.... a real welcome with real beer and very good value food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

This place is a gem and I would highly recommend it. The rooms are very well appointed and the breakfast was excellent. This is a lovely 18th Century building in a charming rural location, There is a good pub just 400m along the road. However it is the high standard of service that sets Pickmere Country Guest House apart. Nothing was a problem and every wish was granted. Felicia is the complete host.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, NZ.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We find it challenging gaining accommodation for a family of 5. The large bedroom at Pickmere accommodated us well! We stayed for 2 nights and would have liked to stay longer. The experience of staying in a grand country house was great for our New Zealand children. The nicest thing about this B&B is Felicia who is really welcoming and tolerant of our requests. She helped us find somewhere to stay for our next stop which worked out well. We ate at the Red Lion in Pickmere and had a lovely meal. See you again next year Felicia! I have already recommended you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
3.6 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
5.9 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moss Farm
Moss Farm
#1 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickmere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickmere Country House

Property: Pickmere Country House
Address: Pickmere House Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickmere Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pickmere Country House is a Georgian grade ll listed former farmhouse dating back to 1772. Commanding picturesque views over the surrounding countryside the house is situated in the centre of the village of Pickmere. The house is fully licenced and serves evening meals Monday-Thursday 6-7:30pm. Lunches, Afternoon Teas and Weekend Dinners by prior appointment. There is a local pub within easy walking distance and there are also some great gastro pubs and restaurants within an 8 minute drive. Situated in the heart of Cheshire it is ideally placed for both the business traveller and leisure guests who wish to explore all that Cheshire has to offer. We are 4 minutes from M6 junction 19 and 10 minutes from M56 junction 10. Just 8 minutes drive from Knutsford and Northwich, 20 minutes to Warrington and Manchester Airport, 35 minutes to Liverpool John Lennon Airport, Manchester and Chester city centres and 40 minutes to Liverpool city centre. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome, comfortable rooms, homely atmosphere and a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pickmere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickmere Country House Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing