We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job,but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
Ranked #6 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did the job,but!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here in July as I was attending Aussie Floyd Live at Jodrell Bank Observatory weekend festival..Seemed to be quite close to destination,as I didn't want to drive to festival, A word of warning, book taxi's well in advance as we got stung with a 20.00 each way fee!!!
So about the hotel, Nice size twin room round the back of hotel so away from main road, lovely and quite, we had a nice spacious room and the shower was nice and powerful, The breakfast was very good but the bacon was stringy, (should have asked for crispy!)
The only real criticism was, the room was very dusty, there was no sugar, and only one sachet of hot chocolate!!!
I would stay again,but would remind them of these problems were I to book again!!
Overall comfortable and peaceful!

Room Tip: Make sure on check in that you have the tea,coffee, sugar and hot chocolate! and the room is dust fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kxk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    27
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
43
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have just returned to Canada after spending six weeks in Europe and the UK. Of all the places we stayed this one stands out in our memories. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a bar. An evening meal is available and the breakfasts are exceptional.

What really made The Cottage exceptional for us was the friendliness and efficiency of the owner/operators. In our case they went out of their way to help us out on a couple of things.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope you had a stress free end to your trip and a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July 2013 to attend the Live at Jodrell Bank festival. Having read the reviews from other people, it did leave us worried slightly by what we would be encountering. I am pleased to say I couldn't find a fault with this hotel. The food was great, the beer was cold (albeit 1 real ale pump, but at least they had real ale at all!) and the service was fantastic.

The only downside (for some...that I can see) would be the location... however I personally wouldn't deem it a criticism of the hotel. Although it was secluded, it really does depend on what you would prefer. We wanted a hotel that was driving distance from Jodrell bank, so it was perfect. As it was secluded it ensured a peaceful nights sleep for us; but to those who enjoy being in a busy area, with plenty to do within walking distance, I would not recommend. Otherwise, it was a fantastic trip and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay. As you say we are situated in a rural area, convenient for Jodrell Bank. For those who prefer a livelier environment Knutsford is situated 4 miles away. We have live music every Friday Evening & most Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here in June overnight on business. Despite the hotel being apparently full, I saw only two other people – perhaps the others had the sense to find somewhere else. Firstly, and interesting aroma greets you when you approach the reception desk. Whilst not rude, the owner\manager was hardly welcoming. I was shown to my grotty ground floor room which encompassed a double bed (with associated hairs on the sheets) but just one pillow. (I can only assume this is to deter rentals by the hour?) My room guest (we’ll call it Boris) had clearly either been very busy that day or I suspect, not disturbed for some time. The chair contained the crumbs from the last guest. The TV didn’t work and although double glazed, I’m pretty sure it was quieter with the door open. I didn’t eat in the evening but had opted for full breakfast the following day. The beans were OK, egg undercooked, toast soggy, mushrooms tasteless and the bacon was off.
All in all, a horrid hotel in the middle of nowhere with no redeeming features.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. If you were so disappointed why did you not say something at the time instead of delaying your remarks. Anomalies can always be corrected when pointed out.
Your comment re rooms being rented out by the hour is uncalled for and a slur on our character as owners of the property and detrimental to our business. We await an apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just returned from The Cottage and wanted to say that we had a really enjoyably evening. The food was good - simple but very well presented and tasty. I can't fault the staff who were very attentive and actually interested in the customers. There was a band on for the evening, who were good, and the atmosphere was incredibly homely. I'd recommend the place to anyone who wants good no-nonsense food in a cozy setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Glad you and your girls enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Having spent a hard day in the car driving up to and around Manchester, it took us just 25 minutes to get to The Cottage Hotel.

Whilst our room was nothing to write home about the Cottage Hotel was clean, functional and did the job for us and our two children.

What stood out was the friendly, considerate, helpful and professional service; absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Recommended to families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woandmonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the cottage k, Owner at The Cottage Hotel Knutsford, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your welcome review. We try to make all our guests feel welcome and 'at home'. If you are in area again we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Went on a Saturday night to celebrate a family birthday. Arrived about 6 place was very quiet only us in the dining room. Looked after very well by polite friendly waiter who took our orders, food was beautifully presented and all dishes arrived at the same time. Menu is simple British fayre the usual Scampi (very nice not at all greasy) Cottage pie, Chicken and chips etc also a curry and a sweet and sour. Maybe a little boring to some but this is not fine dining! It is a pleasant restaurant with nice food and friendly staff, could maybe do with looking at a vegetarian option limited to Cheese salad. Would return for an early tea and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwistaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
5.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
949 reviews
4.5 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
5.0 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
168 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel Knutsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Knutsford

Property: The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
Address: London Road | Allostock, Knutsford WA16 9LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel Knutsford 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Hotel & Restaurant Knutsford is a charming family run hotel located amidst the beautiful Cheshire countryside in one of the counties most prestigious locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Knutsford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing