We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
Ranked #6 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in a family room. The room was large, so was the bathroom which was quite modern.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious, freshly prepared.
I would definately stay here again if I needed somewhere in the area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLaura521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Hotel Knutsford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

From check in to check out, this establishment certainly exceeded my expectations, the service and hospitality is second to none and will certainly be staying here again and would highly recommend to anyone wanting a great place to stay in this area. If you have a young family Laurens Bar is stocked with sweetie goodies, and a bonus if you are young at heart too!!. The menu is home cooked and reasonably priced. Your hosts really make you feel really welcome, especially Neil Thank you Team "The Cottage" :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel a couple of miles outside Knutsford. Booking through an agency meant that we paid £60 b and b which was less than the hotel's published rate.
The room was in a block at the back of the hotel away from the main road which meant it was quiet. The room itself was very large, but massively in need of updating. It looked tired. The television only received channel 3 - it was impossible to change it on the set or the remote control. The labels on the plugs indicated that there had been no testing of portable electrical appliances since 2009 (our stay was September 2013). Whilst it may be that records are now centralised this added to the feeling of low maintenance standards, as did the holes in one pillow case.
The breakfast area was pleasant and the breakfast itself satisfactory although the service was very slow; you had to ask for extra coffee and as we couldn't find the waiter we gave up. It would have been nice to see a fresh fruit selection alongside the cereals. As we say, satisfactory, but no real sense of any effort being made.
A cheap stop over which was fine for one night, but would not want to stay longer and will look elsewhere if we return to the area.

Room Tip: At the back away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I booked here due to the feedback on Trip advisor and was not disappointed. Very friendly welcome, good food and room. Rather than writing exactly the same as so many others, I will just write that agree with all the positive comments I have seen on here.

Room Tip: At front near the road can be noisy with traffic, but noise dies away at night as the traffic reduce...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you choose to, like some reviewers have you can pick faults here and there, not unlike many other places you stay. It's the effort made and value for money I always seek to rate as this would seem more transferable and relivent to those of you deciding if to stay here.
I booked The Cottage for one night as I needed to somewhere to stay close to Manchester without breaking the bank.
I arrived and was welcomed and sorted promptly. Shown to my room with an explanation of what was what. Had a meal in the evening, quite nice mix between eating at home and a pub, good value and a nice plate of food, all served in an efficient and friendly way.
The room was great for the money, bed ok, nice big modern bathroom with good shower, tv, tea making (full compliment of items)!
Breakfast started off with my paper offered to me followed again by some some very attentive friendly service complimented by very well prepared food and a nice nice coffee or two.

The owners clearly strive to run a friendly and professional business and one they deserve to do well from based in what I experienced. If you want a pleasant, friendly, attentive, good value place to stay that outshines any budget chain then give this ago. I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

we recently stayed here for 1 night arriving late after a 62 mile cycle ride. The staff were very friendly and helpful and happily showed us were we could store our Bikes over night. They happily made us a full very enjoyable meal at 10pm. The room was very nice, (first Class). The hotel and bar were clean and breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: A very nice place to stay
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I recently stayed here and just felt the need to thank Louise and Neil for their excellent hospitality, nothing was too much trouble and it felt very homely, not like the artificial friendliness from the chain lodges. Food was superb too. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
5.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
998 reviews
2.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
4.5 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.3 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
156 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel Knutsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Knutsford

Address: London Road | Allostock, Knutsford WA16 9LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: £81 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel Knutsford 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Hotel & Restaurant Knutsford is a charming family run hotel located amidst the beautiful Cheshire countryside in one of the counties most prestigious locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Knutsford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Knutsford Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing