We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for short stay”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Place for short stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Cross Keys hotel is in the middle of city and surrounded by good pubs and eating outlates. It also has its own bar where you can enjoy your drinks till 11 PM. Rooms were clean and quality service. I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyIndiaHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for your review glad you had a nice stay at The Crosskeys !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    32
    27
    24
See reviews for
19
60
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I would say the only positive is that it was fairly cheap and the receptionist was nice. It is above a pub and I felt all the banisters and table and chairs throughout the hotel had that sticky pub feeling.

The most aggravating bit for our group was that the beds had no duvets just a sheet and then a heavy musty smelly quilt on top that had probably never been washed. Doesnt make for an enjoyable nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
I am sorry your boyfriends mother did not "sleep a wink" whilst staying at The Crosskeys but it would most certainly not have been the result of musty bedding. All the beds have duvets, duvet covers and sheets on them which are all freshly laundered. If the tables appeared to be sticky it would have been that they had mistakenly been sprayed with a cleaning agent containing bleach which results in wooden surfaces becoming sticky. It is unfortunate that you felt unable to mention your concerns to the "Nice" receptionist !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knutsford hotels

Merseyside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed with some friends for one night to attend the Tatton Flower Show. The pub is bang right in the middle of Knutsford on the main street so a great location. I was a little worried when I read the reviews but we were unable to book in anywhere else as the other hotels were all full due to the flower show. We only stayed for one night and although a little pricey at £75.00 per night without breakfast, overall it was okay. We had rooms 4 & 5 which were facing one another so it was ideal. The place although not plush was basic and clean which is all we wanted, so we will be staying there again next year. We had an evening mea lin the pub and found the portions to be a good size and good value for money. If you just want a no frills clean basethen dont let the other reviews put you off.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerseysideKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Been to some awful hotels but this is the worst. Damp on bathroom ceiling,rusty towel rail,toilet handle came off ,bath panel broken and glued together,shower curtain stained,tiles mingling,general cleaning awful.All this including average breakfast cost £89.00 for two per night never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

No heating in room; room not clean, room right by road and with no double glazing that worked = no sleep.

I was not asked if everything had been all right when I checked out and in general a very poor exeprience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
In response to this review.The room is clean, there is a large electric heater which is controlled by the guest,the windows are wooden with double glazed pains of glass not upvc, the room is not situated near any road and looks on to the cobbled driveway which has no passing traffic.
It would be helpful and polite if guests raise any issues they have upon checking into their room or if they have been happy to stay to bring them to our attention when checking out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel could be so much better - it needs a good lick of paint and the bathrooms need completely refurbishing. The towel rail was so full of rust we were loathe to put towels on it and the bath panel was cracked (we were in room 1), not to mention the toilet brush !. I know it was an old coaching house but it needn't be as shabby as it is.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at the cross keys with my wife during the festive period and had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean, cosy and pleasant. The bar area was cheerful, mostly because of the staff and landlord Andrew, and the drinks were plentiful. Like most of the reviews on here I was most impressed with the breakfast, which was fresh and hot and as the landlord informed me, all local produce. I have to say I'm astonished by some of the derogatory reviews, I think a competitor may be responsible as all I can say about the cross keys are good things. I will definately be staying again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudger1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
0.0 mi away
Belle Epoque
Belle Epoque
#7 of 14 in Knutsford
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Property: The Cross Keys
Address: 52 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is an 18th century traditional inn, in the pretty market town of Knutsford in Cheshire. We offer a variety of rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly atmosphere. Make the Cross Keys the Pub and Hotel of your choice in Knutsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing