We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer is the key........”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cross Keys
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Knutsford can be a pretentious place with several average restaurants masquerading as good ones. It would also lacks a decent Pub which concentrates on serving a variety of great ales if wasn't for the Cross Keys, which luckily is in the centre of town. Its got a decent sized bar and lounge area unlike other local pubs serving decent beer. Here you don't have to bend double to avoid knocking your head which for an over six footer is an important consideration when merry!

You go here for the beer and a warm wlecome. It has a range of great guest beers and a standard range of real ale which is quite impressive. If I drink in Knutsford I go here because the beer is well looked after and pulled carefully. The clientelle is also friendly and its a good natured place full of locals and visitors alike. It doesn't have a 'Slaughtered Lamb' feeling like a few other places in town as you feel welcome.

The staff are great but they will will tell you if you are acting stupid. So don't! I've never stayed in the hotel as I live localy, but I have had the breakfast which is superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voycey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The Cross Keys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Perfectly situated in the heart of Knutsford. I received a warm and professional welcome from the Receptionist who was most helpful. I stayed in a single room which was basic in decor although the style was in keeping with the character of the building.

Great room in terms of facilities for getting ready! Dressing table with mirror, full length mirror on the reverse of the wardrobe door, plug sockets for hair dryers/straighteners although there was already a hair dryer in the bathroom. The shower was powerful and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was good, again the staff were very helpful and friendly.

It could have done with a little freshening up in terms of a lick of paint, perhaps a slightly lighter colour to add light to the room. But, the only real criticism I have is that it wasn't really up to standard in terms of cleanliness. There were a couple of marks on the sheets and the room was really dusty, the towel rail in the bathroom in particular.

Overall, I would stay again though and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Central location, great value for money and friendly staff.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I'd say that my two nights here were 'good' (between 'average' and 'very good' but you can't make that selection on Tripadvisor) and certainly more enjoyable than the Premier Inn down the road would have been, which was charging a higher price at the time. The pub/hotel is independent, which suits me as it often gives a bit more character than the chains (which, although reliable, get very boring after a while!). Having said that, if you're expecting an old coaching inn here then you'll be disappointed - someone, presumably in the 1980s/90s, decided to renovate and remove most of the old character from the rooms, and there didn't appear to have been much renovation done since (at least to my room in on the highest level of the old building). However, slightly dated decor aside, it was warm and cosy, the shower was powerful, it was very clean, all of the facilities were fine, and the bar was great. Best bit was the breakfast and the really friendly staff - couldn't have asked for more from either. Free parking is a bonus and the wifi too. Only downside was that my (small single) bed had a pretty lumpy mattress which, combined with the Manchester airport flightpath, disturbed sleep a little. Nothing major though, and would still stay again (certainly in preference to the Travelodge - can't believe that it's not rated higher!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had one of the courtyard rooms, very clean and lovely and warm on a very cold night. Breakfast good and staff lovely, spoiled by the uncomfortable bed - continually rolled into the middle - sort this out and you would get a much better review.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Voldermort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Very much enjoyed this hotel. We were situated in one of the outside rooms which I have to say was massive in size, having a settee, table and chairs plus room to dance if you wanted to! The bathroom would benefit from an update as it was very late 80's, but was clean and everything worked. The shower was a little timid but was at least hot. Situated right on the High St the pub/hotel is fantastically situated and I would definitely stay there again. The broken lights in previous reviews had obviously been fixed for our stay!

Room Tip: Outside rooms are definitely better as it is like having your own little cottage, although I think t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for one night. I didnt arrive until gone 7pm and had to go through the pub to check in which was fine. The young man was friendly and even offered to pop my bill under the door later on (I was leavinge arly next morning) so that i didn;t have to wait for it to be printed. My room (number 1) was in the external annex and was large and comfortable. yes it was slightly old fasioned but not run down and the bed was excellent. Nice to have good biscuits with the tea and coffee. I found the shower a bit lacklustre but that is because I am used to more powerful ones in the hotels I generally stay in - this was more like a bog standard one you might have at home. Plenty of toiletries available. The only reason really I have marked this place from a 4 to a 3 is the lighting in the room. There seemed to be a white and a cream bulb in each pair of lights (nless the shades were different colours) and neither of my bedside lamps worked - as I like to read at night before settling down it meant I had to have all 3 or 4 sets of wall lights on and then get out of bed to turn them all off before feeling my way back to bed, possibly me being lazy.

Overall I would stay here again as for a 1 night business stay it is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. I can only say that the service and hospitaliity was second to none. The family that own this pub cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was of a good standard. Evening meals are only served later in the week, which is a bit of a shame, but the night I ate the food was tasty and the portions huge! Some areas are a little dated, but the place is very clean. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area. The town it self is charming with many restaurants and small independent shops.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fogertyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliver1066, Manager at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay your comments are very much appriciated.We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
307 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Angel at King St
Angel at King St
#11 of 14 in Knutsford
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: 52 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range: £83 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is an 18th century traditional inn, in the pretty market town of Knutsford in Cheshire. We offer a variety of rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly atmosphere. Make the Cross Keys the Pub and Hotel of your choice in Knutsford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing