We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
224
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose room garden studio jack and jill massive kitchen log burner wonderful hospitality wedding weekend b and b cheshire countryside home from home self contained jacuzzi bath get together breakfast was delicious train station a lovely stay quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Moss Farm for 2 nights last weekend, as part of a classic car group of 10, visiting a local show. What a fantastic place Moss Farm is. The rooms were superb, extremely comfortable, very modern and our bedroom had the best huge bed we had ever slept in. It was very hard to leave!

Great place to stay as part of a large group, we cooked our own dinner and dined in the lovely kitchen/open plan dining room. The kitchen was state of the art and had everything we needed. We also had use of the very comfortable large lounge after our meals, where everyone could chat and relax. Breakfast cooked by Rachel, owner and her family was delicious. We tried the full English breakfast one morning and Rachel's special luxury porridge or other breakfast choices on the menu on the second morning. What a great way to start the day.

We are just about to book rooms for 2014 with Rachel, to stay twice in different months as a large group again, but we will need to be very quick to book in! It's very popular. We were so well looked after, a truly first class service. We cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolseleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Its lovely when guests take the time to write a review, thank you so much! I know it was a bit of a hectic weekend but hopefully you managed a bit of rest and relaxation once you arrived back at the farm after a busy day. We were so please that the accommodation seemed to work well with your group. I did think bringing your own 'master chef' to prepare you evening meal was a brilliant idea - I think other guests felt like joining you for dinner it smelt soooo good. See you all again next year. Take Care and thanks Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 x nights in July as part of youngest son's wedding preparations (which took place in Tabley House, Kinutsford some 10 mins drive away). We were blessed with excellent weather over the whole weekend's stay.

This is still very much a working farm (the goats escaping on 1 occasion can testify to tthat, fantastic 'fun' for the kids to watch) and is located on the outskirts of Knutsford in Plumley, very peaceful and restful, surrounded by large areas of farmland. (Some directions place it in Little Peover - pronounced 'Peever')

Arrived Friday afternoon before the wedding on the Saturday, to be greeted warmly by the owners. Large farmhouse with annexed converted single-storey outbuildings. Clearly still a 'work in progress' as many of the elements were still incomplete/in progress, and one sector of the outbuildings - not ours - was very much still at the basic 'building/construction' stage, but this did not stop the family parties having a thoroughly enjoyable 2 x nights stay. There were 16 of us in all, including 2 x young children <6, staying as part of the wedding party - the bride's family and friends staying in the main farmhouse and the groom's parents (my wife and I), relatives and friends in the outbuildings. Large manicured gardens surround the main house in which a very large trampoline was located for guests' use (don't know who had more fun on this, the little ones or the 'big' kids, aged 25+)

Turning to the single-storey 'T' shaped outbuildings - Standard of accommodation in every room in our section, most on the large side, was very high with many en-suite facilities, some walk-in showers, some with shower over bath, and where no en-suite existed, a family bathroom facility was available. Within the outbuilding we had was also a huge common-use lounge at one end of the building for large gatherings, ideal in our case. The very modern kitchen for self-catering requirements was more than adequate, being very large and extremely well equipped with all appliances including dishwasher, large american-style fridge, microwave, wine fridge, all crockery, cutlery and other kitchen necessities. The kitchen also featured an open plan access to an attached second, slightly smaller, but no-less comfortable lounge to relax in.

Only downsides - (at time of our stay)
1. some features incomplete - e.g. some TV appliances and wi-fi available in rooms, including main lounge but not yet connected, - most were not used anyway in our case
2. main car park surface still to be finished so still very much rubble and rock,-
3. the bedrooms, whilst having ample hanging wardrobe space, did lack practical drawer storage space and basics like waste paper bins
4. It was not possible to let the youngsters 'roam' at will as it is a working farm, but they still enjoyed themselves in the main garden and on the trampoline,

but to be honest, none of this detracted from an otherwise pleasant experience. No doubt some/all of these will be corrected over time as the work continues, and great progress in these areas may well have been achieved even by now.

Cannot comment fully on the main farmhouse, except from the breakfast angle, but information from the bride's family and friends who stayed there indicated the same high standard of accommodation and service.

Breakfast was cooked and served by the owners in the outbuildings own kitchen on the first morning (Saturday) but cooked and served to both sets of families etc on the terrace of the main house on the second morning (Sunday). Standard range of help yourself cereals plus juices/teas/coffees then cooked/continental breakfast with a selection of home-made preserves available, meal preferences and timings ordered the day before using order forms.

Value for money was considered to be good by all and if needing to stay again in the Knutsford area for any further reasons would happily book in here. More positives than negatives even allowing for 'work in progress', hence the overall 'excellent' rating.

One slight word of caution - if you wish to go 'out' and use taxi companies in and around Knutsford especially at night time, there is usually a long-ish wait at weekend evenings as there are not that many companies operating in that area (it is a large, spread-out geographical area, being mainly rural).

Tip: book your 'return' journey with the taxi when you book your outward one if you know your approx time for the end of your evening - you stand a much better chance this way of acquiring a late journey than trying to book one at random when your night is over.

Room tip: Ask for en-suite if possible - all rooms are good, en-suite is just a little bit better There are 'family room' facilities available on request
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We are so pleased you have taken the time to write this comprehensive review. Your family were the first guests to stay after the refurbishment and in fact the Wedding was our deadline for having the work completed! The comments you have made are fair and truthful. Whilst most of the work was done before your arrival the furnishings and little bits take time. We want to make sure we have the right feel in the place. Many of the niggles listed had already been addressed, others are in hand. We had a memorable weekend with your wedding party, you have a lovely family and we were very happy to be a part of such a special time. Maybe we will see some of you again sometime. Take Care, and thank you we appreciate your comments. Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at Moss Farm when visiting Radio 2's Carfest North at Oulton Park, Moss Farm is an ideal place to stay and also close to many National Trust properties. We stayed in the garden room which had everything you could need, including jacuzzi bath and lovely thick white fluffy towels. Breakfast couldn't have been better, so much choice and enough to keep you going all day. Mine host Rachel could not have been more welcoming, her genuine interest in your trip was very pleasing, and I can truly say we enjoyed our chats with her and other guest more than anywhere else we have stayed.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

It is so rewarding to know that you enjoyed your visit to Moss Farm. We always try to make sure our guests are as welcome and comfortable as possible. I know you were pleased with your room...it was the Rose Room with the big Jacuzzi and the garden view. (the Garden Studio is on the ground floor) I also appreciated the low down after your visit to Quarry Bank Mill - although its not far I haven't been in ages! Hope you had a good journey home and are still enjoying your longgggg holiday. Take Care.. Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just spent a night here, while touring. And could not have asked for better service and value for money. The room was clean comfortable and well equipped, the breakfast was scrummy and very filling. Rachel our host could not have been more friendly and helpful if she had tried.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

So glad you arrived home safely. . Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
I do hope that you managed to have a good look at the jewellery shops on Lord St!!!
We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime in the future, it was a pleasure to met you both. Take care...Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and it was fantastic could not ask for more. Even provided a map to the pub. Which is another story.
The accommodation was excellent the breakfast well great kept us going all day.

Rachel was at hand to give aid which was again very welcome, we thank her for two wonderful days at Moss Farm

Norman and Dawn

Room tip: Be prepared to be spoiled
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanDawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Moss Farm. We were blessed with great weather which always helps! Glad you got home safely. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was a real pleasure meeting you all and maybe you will be back again sometime. Take Care ..Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews