We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
30
45
32
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
45
32
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar five minute walk week stay town centre off street parking no lift lovely shower train station location is great comfortable stay bars and restaurants would definitely stay here again short stay tea and coffee making facilities reception desk tatton park flower show bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight to meet up with friends at party in the park convenient to walk back to Knutsford as able to park outside hotel rooms are small, but clean.. great breakfast staff friendly and helpful

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 448tony123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55ManRd, General Manager at Longview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 448tony123
Thank-you for your review from your recent visit to our establishment, we were so pleased to be of assistance for your visit to the area. Some of our rooms granted are smaller than others however if you wish to stay with ourselves in the future and would prefer a larger room then please do not hesitate to mention this at the time of your booking and we would do all we can to make your next stay even more memorable.
Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting Tom Kerridge’s Pub in the Park festival. Very convenient, as we were able to park there and then walk to the festival and back. No hassle getting in after hours, either. Our room was basic, but clean, and a little undersized; the double bed was pushed up against the wall on one side, making getting up for the loo in the middle of the night difficult for the person on the wrong side (me!). The staff were friendly and the breakfast smelt good, although we didn’t have it. The room only price of £92 was dear, I thought.

Fine for an overnight stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank perryboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55ManRd, General Manager at Longview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Perryboard
Thank-you for your review from your recent visit to our establishment, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the area including the Pub in the Park festival. We were pleased to read that our services provided were of the standard you had hoped for, when booking a Cosy Double room online this is exactly how it reads a small room with a double bed and the rate is justified for the area itself. Perhaps on another visit to the area and you would like to stay with ourselves we could tempt you into trying our Breakfast and we could also even arrange a rate that would include this option, if you do and have any special requests then please do not hesitate to mention them as well and we will do all we can to accommodate them.
Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Two of us working nearby were actually re-directed to this hotel as the one I’d booked & paid for had actually double booked and arranged for us to stay here.

Had no idea what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by the place. The receptionist was very friendly & professional, we were checked in to two single rooms which were clean, big enough and had the usual facilities - kettle , tv , toiletries etc...

The bathroom was pretty good, the shower was excellent ( I did try to run a bath but the water flow rate was almost nil !!)

The breakfast was very good, not large but sufficient and well cooked. The service at breakfast was excellent. Again a friendly member of staff.

Altogether I would stay here again & would certainly recommend to others.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank willshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55ManRd, General Manager at Longview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear willshields
Thank-you for your review from your recent visit to our establishment, it was an absolute pleasure to have your company. We are pleased that we could be of assistance to what seems a dreadful error on behalf of the original place you were meant to be staying in, and we are also pleased to see that the service provided by our members of staff did not go un-noticed by yourself as we try to maintain these standards every single day. I can only apologise for the issue you seemed to have with running your bath however your comments have been passed onto our maintenance department who will investigate this issue and rectify as soon as possible. We are glad to see that you did enjoy your breakfast the following morning as this is the most important meal of the day to face whatever lies ahead. We do sincerely hope you will be returning to the area again soon and if you require any assistance then please do not hesitate to contact us, we would be more than happy to help.
Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Great communication with staff at the hotel, understood our needs. Lovely shower and fresh white towels, clean comfy bed good lighting in room and in bathroom ... unusual even for the big hotel chains these days. There is a cellar bar for a nightcap . Hotel is over a couple of large houses belonging to them so you may need to go next door but this was in no way a problem. Location means an easy walk into the very pretty town centre with lots of choice of shops, bars and restaurants .

Room Tip: Contact hotel to discuss your personal needs
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55ManRd, General Manager at Longview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear patty444
Thank-you for your review from your recent visit to our establishment, it was an absolute pleasure having your company with us. we are pleased that we could be of assistance in ascertaining the special requirements you needed to ensure your stay was a comfortable one, we sincerely hope you will be visiting the area again soon and if you require any assistance then please do not hesitate to contact us and we will do all we can to make your next visit even more memorable.
Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Started by having to wait a considerable amount of time for a member of staff to greet us at reception. Not particularly welcoming. Felt like we were an inconvenience. Took up to the tiniest attic room. Blind was broken and took ages to jam it closed. Horribly unclean room. Other people's hair everywhere, bedding wasn't clean, again just hair everywhere. No wardrobe or hangers. Hook on back of door was broken. Didn't look like any surface had been cleaned or dusted down. Stains on the carpet and the chair. Opened the bathroom window, which was tricky, and dirt from the window felt into the bathroom on the toilet and sink. Both windows were dirty inside and out. No sound proofing. Could hear everyone and everything including a couple having loud sex all night and all morning. Could hear the rain all morning too. Everything felt dirty. I slept on top of the bed on the towels provided in all my clothes. The next morning while waiting for our taxi, recommended by the hotel which was half an hour late the guy on reception was like 'oh yeah they do that' in regards to being late - maybe don't promote that firm in your hotel then, heard a woman and other staff talking about how a visitor had found bed bugs in their room. We left immediately but they still made us pay for 2 nights instead one 1. Saw when we were leaving a member of staff cleaning a room with the oldest looking hoover and clean bedsheets were piled on the floor next to dirty ones so no wonder there was hair and dirt on them if they leave clean and dirty laundry together on the floor. Whole experience was horrible and staff were not considerate or friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HattieEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
55ManRd, General Manager at Longview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear HattieEN
Thank-you for your review from your recent visit to our establishment, firstly allow me to apologise for the underwhelming experience you had whilst staying with ourselves. Upon your arrival the member of staff on duty may have been attending to another guests request or fulfilling the appropriate checking in procedure we have in place with them, but if you felt like you were being an inconvenience we can only apologise as we do not wish for this to be the case as we try to treat every guest the same and try to attend to every request they may have. The room you had been allocated to for your 2 nights stay was not actually an attic room although it may have appeared as such when entering, also had you mentioned any concerns regarding the cleanliness of your room once you had a chance to inspect it the member of staff on duty would not have hesitated to relocate you to another room that you would of been more comfortable in. With regards to the noises you heard during the night and the following morning there is only so much we can do and unfortunately we can not control the weather, with regards to your taxi booking the following morning you have our sincerest apologies and the gentleman who had mentioned about the issue is only partially right as these things have only happened on the rarest of occasions. The fore-mentioned discussion you heard regarding the bed bug situation we are unable to deny however upon close inspection and even having the local pest controller out to inspect the room/building (which was separate from the main building you had stayed in) there were no bed bugs detected which was noted in their report, but appropriate measure were taken and another inspection is scheduled to ensure nothing was/has been missed. With our Room Assistants they will be spoken too to ascertain weather the clean bedding was next to dirty for a long period of time as if it wasn't then I don't see how you could say "no wonder there was hair and dirt on them" as those types of particles I would assume would need a great deal of time plus free flowing air to move them into folded up sheets but it will be investigated. With regards to the 2nd nights charge unfortunately this is a standard practice as at the time of your departure we would of been unable to have re-sold your room plus the cancellation policy clearly states through the online booking site you went through to book your room 24hrs prior. We sincerely hope that this experience has not diminished your perception of this wonderful area, however if you do require any assistance in any shape of form then we are always happy to help.
Kind Regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews