We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a relaxing break away. The booking in process was seemless. The lady advised we could book in for discounted meal deal which we did. Spa was great. Food was fab. Amazing service. Just what we wanted. Thank you!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank na16318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Very pleased to read your praising comments about the hotel and staff as well as how much you enjoyed the food.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    297
    153
    47
    32
See reviews for
174
310
27
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel as part of a two day conference I attended. The hotel is set in the beautiful Cheshire countryside just outside the pleasant town of Knutsford with Tatton Park very close and National Trust properties such as Quarry Bank Mill and Dunham Massey not too far away. My room was very comfortable and had a large double bed with all the amenities you expect form a 4* hotel, free Wi-Fi is available. The conference facilities were excellent, the communal refreshment area is one of the best I have seen complete with a chocolate raisin dispenser! Dinner in the restaurant was good and the bar had wine and beer at reasonable hotel prices. Overall I enjoyed my short stay, the staff were extremely professional and friendly I wished I could have used the leisure faculties’ but time didn’t allow. I look forward to visiting again sometime and would definitely recommend for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
It is always good to hear such positive comments and I was really pleased that you felt the staff to be professionally and friendly. We always want to be able to give our guests an informal, professional yet friendly service.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Held a Business meeting there on the 28th January and found Abbey the conference organise r very good. Room was excellent and well set up. The timings for refreshments were kept to and the hot/ cold buffet lunch just what was required. Reasonable delegate rate and ideal location with most attending coming from the Northwest region. Travelled down the evening before with the wife to avoid traffic. Prompt and polite check in and room satisfactory once we had bought the temperature down. Bathroom fine and a good shower although always prefer a walk in shower these days. Bar down stairs reasonably priced and service OK considering hotel full. Did not dine in the hotel. Comfortable bed and overall very happy with the whole place.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris49215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Delighted to read that both you and your delegates felt our facilities and services are “very good”. I will pass your kind comments on to my team, especially Abbey.

We hope that perhaps you and your wife are able to stay at the hotel for leisure in the very near future.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossendale, lancs
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, excellent food, brilliant service, clean throughout, staff great with kids, comfy rooms, lovely spa, with great small touches including free bedtime milk and cookies for kiddy guests - and delicious wainwright beer on tap

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Man ager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Great comments and very much appreciated. Really pleased that your children enjoyed the “little extras” we provide and you enjoyed the Wainwright’s beer!

Look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel with my wife, it was our first break away without the kids in some time.

Checked in on the Friday night after a terrible trip on the M6. Check in was very efficient and quick and the girl on the desk was very friendly and booked us in for dinner.

The food and service were so good on the Friday we ate on the Saturday night as well, even though originally we had planned to go into knutsford. I tried the taste of Cheshire table which I would recommend, which was a buffet with an array of meats, salads and pickles it was fantastic .

Made use of the spa facilities on the Saturday and found them to be excellent especially the hot tub and jacuzzi.

Breakfast on both days was great, with a good selection of hot and cold options on offer.

My only complaint would be the distance from our room to reception, but I guess this is the luck of the draw.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Delighted you had such a great stay and enjoyed all the facilities, including the spa and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just stayed at Cottons for a few days with our friends. Nice hotel and amenities. Good value hotel and dinner package in a room with sofa and lounge area. Food was very good. Pool and spa excellent and very clean. Staff friendly and attentive. The bar service was a bit slow but otherwise I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope you continue to choose Cottons when staying in Cheshire.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family and I recently relocated to the UK, and because of some timing issues we arrived in the UK on the 24th of December, NOT the best time to relocate.

We managed to get a booking at Cottons, which also included a Christmas Package deal.

All the staff were extremely friendly and made a real effort to make our Christmas special. The kids got gifts from Santa, special meals and a conference room set up for family activities (which they kept open especially for us, even after Christmas).

The food is really good, even though at times they don't serve meals when they have a major function (that said, the staff always made sure we had something to eat).

The rooms are nice and roomy, I do have a chronic issue with hotels in the UK who can't seem to get the air conditioners functioning properly, so this issue is not unique to Cottons.

As a guest you have access to the Spa, we didn't really make use of the Gym or Spa facilities themselves, but we did spend allot of time in the pool. Nice big pool, kids loved it.

Room Tip: The suites are a good size for families (and good value).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeblack_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, Philip Walker-General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
As part of a family company, we work hard to make sure that we do stand out from the average hotel and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your Christmas with us and that your children enjoyed the “little extras” we provided. We know how important Christmas is for all the families involved so we do work particularly had to get it right.

I was really pleased that you felt the staff were “extremely friendly” and you enjoyed the pool.

We appreciate all feedback from our guests and I have noted your views on the air-conditioning.

All the best for 2014 and hope to see you and your family again throughout the year.

Kind regards
Philip Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
109 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,558 reviews
16.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford
Cottons Hotel & Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing