We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend ,on a coach tour.(FENN HOLIDAYS),

sometimes when tour holiday venues are chosen the service is down graded to match the price,
NOT SO HERE first class all round,cant fault any thing (bit odd cos like to have a little nag).

The staff were SPOT ON,my wife enjoyed the Spa whilst I enjoyed a drink in the bar watching the Football,

Will return again on our own for a special few days.
Many thanks .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We pride ourselves on delivering the highest levels of service at all times, and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your say with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    297
    153
    47
    32
See reviews for
173
310
27
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just had a night away here with 7 work colleagues for a relaxing weekend. We had the escape break. The hotel was amazing. Great treatments, professional staff, the most amazing outdoor hot tub, beautiful room and great food. Some members of our party even booked extra treatments the next day. We also managed a late check out so we could make use of the spa facilties before check out. The executive suite was gorgeous and was like 2 rooms (room 312) which was great for us to socialise in before dinner in. The only tiny aspect that was a problem was that we couldn't get the air con on. This was quickly sorted but then a power cut in the night caused it to go off and it was extremely hot in the room. However, this didn't ruin our stay and we will most definitely be back - with more collegues when the word spreads! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at Cottons.

I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay and thank you for booking extra treatments with the team in the Spa.

I am so sorry that you experienced issues with the Air conditioning in your room , but was pleased again to see this was dealt with quickly, only to further compounded the issue by the loss of power during the night. This was a power cut in the area and not an isolated incident at the hotel.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful spa break. From checking in to checking out everything was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff to accommodate our stay. The spa is brilliant with the outdoor jacuzzi and then pool and indoor jacuzzi the ladies in the spa doing the treatments were lovely extremely helpful and such a lovely experience. The food was beautiful and the staff in the bar and restaurant catered for all our needs from lunch in the spa to our gorgeous evening meal and full English breakfast

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank loopylou04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed the Spa and your stay in general.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having originated from Knutsford myself I knew of the Cottons from years gone by so was looking forward to our stay which was because of a friends wedding taking place in the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel hasn't really kept up with the times and in my opinion is now looking a bit dated. The service in general was ok until we checked out which I will come on to. Before I come on to my main gripe however I must say that the breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel for quite a long time, all the food was hot and very tasty and the breakfast service was good. The room was basic but seemed comfortable enough (if a bit dated) however when we came to go to sleep that we became unhappy as there seemed to be a very loud continuous noise which kept my wife awake all night, she even tried to move to the other side of the room to get some sleep on the floor to no success due to the noise. The main problem I have is that when we were asked in the morning if we had a good nights sleep we explained that we didn't and why this was we were greeted with an 'oh well, that's a shame' to which we were both a little disturbed that there was no offer of compensation or a real apology. As you can imagine this left a bitter taste and we would not recommend or visit again. I would welcome an explanation from the hotel but haven't had one to date but I would say to anyone to avoid room 102 if you are planning to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep avoid room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuzBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us at Cottons.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise issues outside room 102 during your stay. This was caused by a stuck valve in our A/C system which has now been rectified.

We have passed your comments onto our reception manager as we clearly did not deliver the service that you were expecting at check out and this is not indicative of our usually high standards and must be addressed with the team.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and I will try to make contact with you directly regarding the noise issues you highlighted.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend booked a surprise night for us here which we both really enjoyed. Breakfast was good although a little noisy as we were sat next to a family with a lot of loud children. We came across the same family in the spa with the children splashing in the pool which did ruin the relaxed atmosphere slightly. However all in all I'd definitely choose to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-Rae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Cottons.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay but for the group of children you encountered during your stay. We will do our best to try to ensure that wherever possible, we manage the noise levels of these groups to help other guests enjoy there time here.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very ordinary rooms, drab and dated decor, rooms poorly serviced and maintained (in our room extractor fan broken, water poured out when showering, no sugar), bed not high quality, no special touches. Absolutely nothing cool or wow. Bouncers on door when we checked in on Saturday evening. Feel awkward when checking in as have to walk through restaurant to rooms, in between tables of diners! Very weird. Didn't try Spa, might be nice. I think premier travel inn is just as good but 40quid cheaper.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay.

Your feedback has been noted and passed to our team to action the points raised especially with the housekeeping and maintenance issues you have highlighted.

Over the coming months, we will be undertaking renovation work to our bedrooms in order to improve many aspects of the décor. It is true to say that we are not a modern style hotel, but we have a very good reputation spanning 30 years for our hospitality and service and staff, something perhaps you don't get in a budget style hotels very often.

I just wanted to answers the point regarding the "Bouncers" you mentioned - we don't employ or require the services of doormen or Bouncers at Cottons Hotel, we do however have our banqueting staff welcoming our events guests and directing them at our front entrance when an event is on.

Thank you once again for your comments and if you get the opportunity to stay sometime in the future, you will enjoy our refurbished rooms and perhaps try the spa next time.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hubby and I have stayed at Cottons before and although we enjoyed it, were put off a return by the strange position of their accessible rooms, so far from the 'action'. But work commitments took us back there and prepared for the walk (there is a fire exit you can use to reach the car park much more easily than via reception) back we went.

Coincidentally, we ended up in the very same room as last time, and that was a positive as the facilities were good and it had a large walk in shower, which was a bonus, it being the 3rd hotel that week.

Where the biggest improvements are however, is in staff and service. We had a lovely local girl take our food order and tucked in to the 'taste of cheshire' table to start, tempura prawns, followed by chateaubriand., a favourite of ours and a bit of a treat. We were both a tiny bit hesitant in ordering beef in England, as I'll be honest, it doesn't usually live up to our high Scottish Beef standards. But we couldn't have been more wrong! It was DELICIOUS and a bargain at £57.50. It was very generous in size, and came with lovely crispy fries, two sauces, if you choose that (we opted for Bernaise only - a firm favourite) It was superb!

The restaurant is lovely, very comfortable and friendly, attentive staff who can't do enough for you and we stayed for speciality teas (lovely, loose leaf) and again, very good quality,

This was a work event for my other half, so we opted for breakfast in the room, as it had to be early and although the menu initially didn't really inspire (breakfast muffin is more McDonalds than four star hotel) it was really very good. Tasty muffins, sausage, bacon and egg and perfectly cooked. Good quality juices and perfect for a quick (but filling) bite, rather than a sit down feed.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, good standards, great staff and the perfect four star hotel standard you expect, but don't always get!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit.

Great to read that you felt we had improved on your last visit, and that you enjoyed the beef during dinner.

I have passed your comments to our team and they will be really pleased with your review especially with regard to the customer service aspect of our hotel service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
109 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,562 reviews
16.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford
Cottons Hotel & Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing