We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Small room, good gym and pool, food ok if slow. For the expense this hotel really ought to do better. Too far out of Knutsford for a stroll into town, so once you're here you're stuck unless you drive (and don't drink). Probably aimed at the business and function markets rather than the leisure market.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Cottons.

Its very disappointing when we read that a guest has not really enjoyed there stay. Our aim to offer the highest levels of service for the price paid and clearly we did not match your expectations on this visit.

I will of course discuss your feedback with our team as it serves as a reminder that we must try wherever possible to get our service levels right each and every time. We do get very positive feedback in general about our hotel and service, but I fully understand that there will always be comments and suggests on how we can improve from our guests that we need to address.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that if you chose to stay with us again, you would witness an improvement in service speed and general standards in future

Best Wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    292
    146
    46
    32
See reviews for
169
305
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed sat 12th July for a family wedding. The hotel was lovely and the room for the ceremony was so romantic and bathed in light. The booking team were helpful to all of my requests and any queries. Rooms a good size, clean and nicely furnished. Service was generally excellent from reception, to hospitality - Laura on the bar was so pleasant and Brianna the toastmaster was excellent at her job. We had a lovely stay. Would particularly like to thank head housekeeper Ann Gillibrand who was so nice to our grandchildren during our stay and when I left my dress and shoes behind in my room by mistake, she drove the items over to us after her shift to save us a journey! This was far beyond the call of duty and in our opinion she gave outstanding customer service!!

Room Tip: All our rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review for your recent stay at cottons.

We are so pleased to read your comments especially for the team members you have named. They all work so hard to ensure that things go well and its great that you have taken the time to recognise the positive side to our hotel and staff service.

I will pass on my particular thanks to Ann who clearly went above and beyond to ensure that you dress and shoes were returned. This as you say shows excellent customer service.

We really hope that you will come back and see us soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to cottons in the near future.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned home from a celebration birthday Sunday lunch at Cottons, Knutsford , booked for 8.

When we arrived there was a long wait before we could order any drinks from the bar and then when we enquired if our lunch table was ready it appeared that the hotel had reserved a table for us for 3 and not 8, so consequently we had more of a wait before we could be seated.

When we came to order our starters it was apparent that there was hardly anything left on the 'Taste of Cheshire' section (despite our reservation being booked for 1pm) and so when we and some other customers asked for some more food on that section we were initially told that they couldn't put any more food out as they needed to save it for the evening! Eventually some more food was brought out and it was very tasty. However, those in our party who had ordered other starters had long since eaten theirs which is not very good timing!

There was then a further lengthy delay until the main courses arrived, the food was again very tasty when it did arrive.

Desserts were also ok, although my father's cheese plate was removed with all the other dessert dishes whilst he was still nibbling some pieces of cheese off his plate! When it came to the coffees, 5 were ordered and only 2 were delivered(without teaspoons!). The remaining 3 of us who had ordered coffees waited patiently and eventually saw our waitress driving off in her car so had to get up yet again from the table to further request the other 3 coffees in the order.

We did explain our concerns to the front of house lady and came to an agreement regarding the final settlement. It just seems a shame that the very tasty food was spoilt by the un professional comments re the starters and poor table service.

As a social outing we enjoyed ourselves but when it has been booked as a celebration meal it is rather a shame that we had to' keep tabs on the service' to be sure to get all that we required.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JACKIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent Sunday lunch with us at Cottons.

As discussed on the phone, we are trying really hard to attract more guests to our Sunday lunches and must work really hard to improve on the small details that makes us different to other hotels and restaurants.

We will work extremely hard to improve our levels of service and we hope that you will give us the opportunity in the not to distant future to welcome you back to Cottons to show you we do get it right a great deal of the time.

Bets wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here for one night. We ate at the restaurant where the food and service was good. Enjoyed the spa and large swimming pool. The hotel is fairly near Manchester airport. The room and all areas seemed clean and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscotequeStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will choose Cottons on your next visit to the area.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It is apparent that this hotel is doing good trade from wedding/birthday/hen/school graduation parties and business meetings. If you are not attending one of the former, avoid this hotel like the plague.

On the plus side, the service in general is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. However it appears that the building is vintage 1980’s and showing its age with worn carpets and chipped woodwork. The Spa area has a large pool but otherwise nothing special. On the down side, the meals and drinks have Central London prices to milk the captive audience. Also the hotel lies directly the flight path for planes taking-off from Manchester Airport and adjacent a main road and hence unacceptably noisy for light sleepers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stutt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Its always disappointing to receive negative feedback and especially when its really the age of the building that perhaps doesn't appeal rather than the service provided which as you said is excellent.

Cottons has been established for 30 years, and has always offered great service and a first class location in the North West. We are located only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport so some aircraft noise is going to be heard, but we get very little impact or disturbance issues at the hotel. I am sorry that the noise disturbed your sleep during your stay.

This year see's the start of our improvement programme on our older style rooms and new carpets throughout our corridors and conference areas. This I am sure will meet your approval in terms of improvements to our property.

I hope that you will come back and give us another chance to show the improvements sometime in the future.

Best wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

4 of us visited the spa for a girly day out of the office.

On arrival we were given a friendly welcome and tour of the facilities.

We relaxed in the fantastic outdoor hot tub and helped ourselves to countless cups of tea in the relax area before our lunch.

Lunch was a £15 set menu which was good value for money - very tasty.

After lunch we went for our treatments. The ladies were very lovely and professional and explained everything very thoroughly.

Feeling relaxed and content after our treatments we headed for afternoon tea in the main hotel which was delicious.

All in all it was a fantastic day and we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melkehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent experience at our hotel.

Fantastic to read that you all enjoyed your time with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please look out for our offers and packages over the next few months to tempt you back.

Best wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for the 1 night on our wedding anniversary, the place was quite bust with other functions but we had a great time. The outside hot tub and Jacuzzi were great. The evening meal was very nice and that had a 5 star rating as well. Room good, facilities good, staff good, location good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay.

great to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
107 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
16.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford
Cottons Hotel & Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing