We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, beautiful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was the second time we have visited the Mere. Excellent value for money with the spring deals. Amazing evening meal and breakfast. Lovely relaxing spa. Would recommend to anyone who is looking to go to this hotel. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpennington92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Cpennington92,

Thank you for the glowing review and indeed for your repeat business.

We value all our guests and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to relax and unwind.

We look forward to seeing you time and time again.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    284
    113
    36
    28
See reviews for
151
493
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The most relaxing day ever!
Bought a spa deal through Living Social for myself and a friend. We love the spa life and The Mere Spa has totally raised the bar for us.
The staff were absolutely fantastic- they accommodated our late arrival by moving our treatments around and this actually improved our experience as we had the opportunity to fully utilize the facilities. Throughout the day the staff were warm, friendly and helpful.
We opted for the neck, back and shoulder massage- this was heavenly! The fruit sorbet and fresh water was a welcome delight after each treatment.
Lunch was a pleasant surprise, after previously experiencing other high end spa resort restaurants we weren't expecting much but the food was delicious and portions plentiful.
The resul treatment was brilliant and I would definitely recommend this treatment- a full body exfoliation leaving my skin feeling brand new!
The pool area was a little untidy but it was quite busy. The thermal rooms were a pleasant experience and the relaxation room was ideal.
An ideal indulgent treat and great stress buster that I would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I try to get away for the weekend at least once a month and booked this hotel through Secret Escapes, paying £175 for a junior suite with breakfast and afternoon tea.

I had emailed the room prior to arrival to request one of the bathtub suites and when we arrived at 2pm and checked into our room we were happy to see that we had been given 208 which was huge and had the bath next to the bedroom - a great touch for a romantic night away!

THE ROOM
The room was absolutely beautiful - huge with a little balcony (although we didnt use this as it looked out to a wall) and spotless. The only thing I felt it lacked was a bit of bubble bath for the bathtub!

THE AFTERNOON TEA
The afternoon tea was quite nice, but I have definitely had better - not sure whether this was down to the fact it was included in the Secret Escapes deal or not - it did arrive quickly though

THE SPA
Although we didnt have any treatments, the spa was lovely - the different steam/sauna rooms were a treat and we spent the afternoon relaxing in there and by the pool. Probably best to avoid kid swim times though as it wasn't quite a relaxing then! Finding our way round was easy and there were plenty of towels and robes to use

THE RESTAURANT
Although the food was lovely the service was an absolute joke and didn't warrent the price paid - although I will write a separate restaurant review the hotel should really sort this out - for the hotel of this standard to have such an appalling restaurant is a real shame and a massive let down!

THE SERVICE
The reception staff we spoke to were all absolutely lovely and helpful. The spa staff we found to be quite 'snobish' and the restaurant and bar staff were all seemingly undertrained.

All in all, this would have been an almost perfect stay had we gone out into Knutsford for dinner - we did voice our issues when we were checking out and the person we spoke to was very help and took our contact details and the hotel were quick to email an apology and offered us a complementary meal in Browns so we could try their service again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyla_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear lyla¬_manchester

Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of your recent stay with us.

I am fairly positive it would have been myself that responded to your email regarding your unfortunate dining experience. We are aware of the issues that particular evening and can assure you it is not our usual standard of service.

I am delighted that you were happy with my response and offer to revisit us – I am certain that you will enjoy the evening and we are grateful for an opportunity to right the wrongs.

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa for a dining experience you won’t want to forget.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Don't know what more you would want from a hotel to be honest. Room was great, view was nice out over the lake, pool was nice even though it was undergoing a bit of work. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was veeeerrrryyyyy good.

Room Tip: I asked for one with a balcony and got it. That was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went for a spa day as a birthday celebration. What a lovely day. The programme of treatments and food flowed perfectly. Nothing was rushed, plenty of time for dining and relaxing between treatments. Staff were extremely friendly and professional. Good choice of food, piping hot and plenty of if. Immaculatley presented and clean throughout. Not the cheapest deal but certainly worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I attended a friends wedding here. The reception and food was great. Bar staff friendly although they were a little slow. We stayed the night and the room was fantastic, very clean and spacious. I would stay here again and would reccomend but it's not cheap. Very pleasant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Chris1080,

Thank you for posting a positive review following on from the wedding you recently attended with us.

I will be sure pass on your valuable comments to all the team here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Mere on a Sunday night prior to attending a business meeting at the hotel on Monday.

The room was excellent with all the extras that one would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

All the staff were welcoming and helpful.

We had dinner in the Golfer's bar, which was very good and value for money.

Unfortunately the breakfast was self serve from a buffet and in common with meals served in this fashion it was not hot and rather tasteless. In fairness when I brought this to the attention of the Restaurant manager, she did offer us freshly cooked breakfasts and was most apologetic.

Not withstanding the breakfast I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing