We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great spa facilities”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just enjoyed a very relaxing day here on a Living Social deal - enjoyed 2 treatments and a great 2 course lunch.
Lovely venue, shame about the tatty dressing gowns - mine had no loops for the belt and was quite tatty. You also get towelling slippers but we had our own flip flops which are much better on the wet floors.
There was the usual hard sell of products after your treatment which you get everywhere these days. The relaxing post treatment room only seats 4 comfortably and was very busy so we only had 5 minutes in here. The pool area is very nice tho beware of aqua aerobics classes in the morning and private children's swimming lessons at 4pm.
Top tip - for a relaxing drink afterwards head to the golf bar which has a lovely terrace overlooking the lake and golf course - great for people watching.
Am looking out for the next deal.......................we'll be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzybee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Buzzybee61,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent Spa Day with us.

We would like to assure you that on the back of your valuable feedback, more dressing gowns have been ordered to replace the ones that require it.

Please see our website for the latest up and coming deals that we have on offer. We are extremely excited about the launch of some new Aromatherapy Associates products. As a result we are making some slight changes to our ever expanding treatment menu!!

We are delighted that you will be back soon.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    285
    116
    38
    30
See reviews for
160
500
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visited the hotel this weekend with some friends and booked the girls night in package with included a treatment, films, chocs and wine. Went for the upgrade to the premier suite and all four of us slept in the room 2 in the lovely bed one in the sofa bed which can only really sleep one adult and one in a put up bed not really comfortable but ok for one night. The premier suite is lovely but we only arrived at 5pm and checked out at 10am to go to the spa for the day so maybe not value for money. The dinner was served in our room which was nice and the breakfast was great too enjoyed a good night with my friends and then had the following day in the spa on a groupon deal with one treatment and the mud chamber again really nice facilities. Had a great time but the premier suite not really made for four adults which is a shame they need a two bedroom apartment really for the girls night package like the Ribby Hall they have a lovely two bedroom suite for much less money. Overall a great stay but would of liked an upgrade due to the late arrival and check out.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms they are all different and if you want a balcony ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumstaxiservice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear mumstaxiservice13,

Thank you for choosing The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to spend your “Girls Night In”

I do believe I had the pleasure of meeting you and your party upon check-in and I helped assist you with regards to the allocation of rooms.

We have two Premier Suites at The Mere, they are the biggest rooms in terms of square footage and to have the suite meant that all of your party could be together in the same room.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the film, chocolates and wine – Followed by a relaxing day in The Spa.

We hope to welcome you all back soon.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a night in May, couldnt get over how beautiful the grounds were. We checked into our room fuss free and really loved the stylish interior, overall a great hotel room. We then went over to the spa the next day, extremely friendly staff and wonderful therapists. The pool area was really nice and we felt very very relaxed when we left, a really great hotel in a lovely area- would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a business trip. Checkin average not very friendly staff Rooms and bathroom clean and comfortable although a bit on the dark side. Breakfast just average not a great choice and staff not very attentive to clearing used plates etc away. Dinner was nice but again not very friendly staff. Didn't use spa. Reception staff on checkout unhelpful as we need boarding passes printed and a problem arose when we asked them. We eventually got this sorted out but overall I wouldn't give the hotel a five star rating as the attention to detail and lack of friendliness of the staff let it down badly.
Given the facilities and location could be a great hotel if things improved

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Paula A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay with us at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointing experience with our reception team, we take all our guests feedback very seriously and I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding at the weekend. Arrived early and the staff would not give us our room or even register us until 2.00 hence there was a long line of people.

We sat by the lake and had drinks. My husband gave his card thinking they would charge the drinks to it and then return it. We had to ask three times for it to be returned.

Room was dark but clean.

Breakfasts were dull, no rolls and lots of tinned fruit. Had to ask lots of times for tea and coffee.

No phone reception in rooms for mobiles to make phone calls, come on in this age surely something could be done about this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the lake. We had a car park room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilianne610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Lilianne610,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your stay with us.

I hope that you enjoyed the special wedding celebrations at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

Our standard hotel check-in time is 2pm or after as per the email confirmation. Any guests that arrive early for weddings or functions we try to accommodate by offering our award winning Spa facilities to freshen up.

We have also made recent vital changes to our breakfast service and we have noticed a positive improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Having moved out of our house we treated ourselves to a nights stay here. Met friends for dinner, the bar had very few places to sit but the meal was nice. Our room was wonderful, nice view and well appointed. Breakfast the next morning was our only let down. Very busy, queues for a table and the a buffet that was empty. Not what we expected for the price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear AngelaFaye74,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole. We would like to assure you that we have made some vital changes to our breakfast service, this has proved to have had a positive effect of our service.

We apologise that you felt a little let down by our breakfast but hope that we will be back soon to see for yourself the changes we have made - on the back of our guest feedback.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Let me start by saying that i rarely write a poor review on TripAdvisor & much prefer to provide feedback to management on a non-public platform which in this case, I did do however the response from The Mere was so poor that I feel it's vital to offer some advice to those considering a stay.
My mother & I booked one night to break up a long drive from Cornwall & as a bit more of a luxurious 'last night' of our holiday than your standard motorway 'motel'. Due to the fact that there were 2 functions booked for the same evenings we would have as well been staying on the road for all the rest we actually got.
Despite reiterating why we were there & the fact that we had been on the road for 10hrs due to roadworks, we were were placed in a room in which we were surrounded by slightly 'worse for wear' wedding guests who were constantly visiting their rooms, banging doors & yelling along corridors in the earlier part of the evening. Once the function finished, the noise only got worse & the party in the room next door was only broken up only after my visit to reception at almost 2am.
The night manager did explain that we should have been placed in a different room & wasn't sure why this wasn't done on check-in. Response from Lauren Yates (customer service - a misnomer if I ever read one) was essentially 'computer says no' to allocating a room in the 'quitter' (*sic - attention to detail obviously a key part of that role) part of the hotel. If you are there for R&R, take earplugs & check where your room is..... Oh & whether there are any functions on when you are scheduled to stay....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us.

Due to the nature of your complaint I believe my colleague Jessica Bennett our Rooms Division Manager is now in contact with you.

I hope that the isolated incident that you encountered during your stay will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,520 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,521 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing