We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of a lot of great reviews on TA and it's location. We went for a "weekend gettaway" and would like to have stayed longer. I'll briefly summarise our experience.

Arrived just after 2pm for check-in. Staff very courteous and informative. Room met expectations, (we asked for view of golf course rather than car park). My partner was booked into spa for a treatment which she absolutely loved. We then just chilled in the spa area which was fantastic, with lots of different therapy rooms to experience - not just a choice of sauna or steam !

Evening meal at Browns, the main restaurant, got off to a bad start with ordering cocktails that didn't arrive until we complained to staff. Shortly after that cocktails arrived and were complimentary, due to the delay. (service recovery I think they call that). Food choice was good and as we had booked the bed, breakfast and evening meal option, we were given clear advice on how that would be shown on our bill. Food itself was very good, although if you are hungry make sure you order a couple of side dishes.

Breakfast was good with the usual choice of continental and cooked breakfast available. Eggs were scrambled, unless you ordered specially, there were also other variations available at an extra charge. Good use of free range eggs and locally sourced bacon & sausage.

That's it. Would definitely recommend for couples and or golfers. (we didn't play golf, but I thought the course looked great).

Steve Mitchell

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    284
    113
    36
    28
See reviews for
151
493
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

A party of 10 of us arrived Saturday 28th June for a golf and spa overnight stay, all I can say is wow from the moment we arrived it was pure bliss. I had booked this package back in february as we were celebrating a friends 40th birthday , in the package we recieved a round of golf for the men and a 40 min treatment for the ladies but the men could use the spa facilities too. We also had a two course meal in browns restaurant on the evening and breakfast the following morning. The rooms were beautiful our room a Mere double 219 was over looking the stunning golf course and lake. The spa as all you need pool, jacuzzi , haman, steam room, salt infusion room towels and robes are given on arrival. Check in was quick and pleasant. Our booking for evening meal was at 8.15 pm in Browns and the service was efficient and precise the food was fine dining and absolutely delicious and presentation excellent. There was a small teething problem at the bar when some of our party requested cocktails but the lovely young barman had only started that evening and had to refer to his handbook which took ages and didn't taste or look like what had been ordered but another member of staff took over and the cocktails were made correctly and delicious but that was only a minor issue. Our stay was fantastic what a lovely place for a relaxing weekend, we shall with no doubt visit The Mere again. Thank you so much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pelsallsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I use this hotel quite frequently for business entertaining. The setting is spectacular, especially considering it is located so close to the M6 and Manchester Airport, the grounds and golf course are beautifully maintained and the spa is one of the best in the UK.

The restaurants are good but not up to the high standard of the rest of the hotel. The golfer s bar serves good basic food but the service from the bar staff can be erratic. The location overlooks the golf course which is lovely but once the golf shop is closed you have to walk out io the hotel to go back in to go to the toilets or reception, very odd planning indeed.

Brown's is the fine dining restaurant, oddly situated right by reception. I've eaten here several times and generally the food is very good indeed. Service here depends on who is on duty, Eduardo, the restaurant manager is very good and runs a tight ship.
I stayed last night at the hotel. The room was very comfortable but breakfast, served in Browns was chaotic, not good when with clients.
One waiter in particular, Oliver, who has served me well at dinner previously, instinctively sensed my frustration. Despite the restaurant being very busy he managed to give us exemplary and attentive service and made sure we wanted for nothing. This charming well spoken young man is a credit to the hotel.
There are several hotels I could use to entertain clients in this area but when you know you'll get the service like I received at breakfast today, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

I will return and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JRyan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear JRyan 1955,

Thank you for your feedback following on from your most recent stay with us here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

May I take this opportunity to thank you and of course assure you that I will inform both Eduardo and Oliver of your wonderfully motivational feedback.

As I regular guest please feel free to alert me of your next arrival, it would be a pleasure to meet you.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a jaw dropping lovely resort we stayed lower floor with patio doors we were a bit concerned this would be tailored to golfers not at all the welcome from reception a nice touch 10 mins after check in a call to find out your room was fine the pool & aroma rooms are outstanding at dinner we were superbly looked after by Edwardo many thanks tasty buffet breakfast a lovely hotel first class staff & facilities & meerkat on your bed

Room Tip: Choose patio doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our daughter was married at Mere on Sat.It was a stunning day.The staff ,from our arrival and meeting the wedding planner to us leaving on Sunday,were superb.They were so friendly and helpful.We had a brilliant meal with excellent sevice. I also have to congratulate the maids who were also very friendly.This was a special day made even more perfect by the care we were shown.
Thank you so much

Room Tip: We were overlooking the Mere.Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear bernie582,

Thank you for your wonderful review following on from your daughter’s wedding.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the very special celebrations. I was here on Saturday and it certainly seemed to me that everyone was having a great time!!

On behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa we would like to wish the happy couple all the very best of their future together.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited on a charity golf event with a stop-over the night before and afterwards. Excellent venue, great staff and the slightest request attended to straight away.
The hotel side is very good with excellent rooms and well appointed. Very comfortable sleep.
The bar is very comfortable with an outside terraced area for warmer evenings.
The restaurant was very good, good food and wine.
The golf is excellent, buggies and electric trolleys are available. they have a somewhat unique driving range. You play your practise shots out into the lake, The course was in great condition - they obviosly put a lot of time and effort into the mainteance. They have a great pit-stop at the 11th. hole.
All in all, a great venue and an excellent visit

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hotel is good really but for peace and quiet, ask for a room away from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artifex1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear artifex1954,

Thank you for your glowing review following on from your recent golf stay over experience.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and acknowledging the hard work /efforts that our Greens Team put into keeping the course in pristine condition.

See our website for our latest available offers. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited this Hotel last weekend and I was really impressed! We upgraded to a junior suite and the room had a stunning interior and was very comfortable.I was very impressed with the in room Aromatherapy Asssociates shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and they were very generous sizes.The service in the hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.We had lunch outside on the terrace with a beautiful view overlooking the expansive golf course and lake,the food was excellent,The Spa area was beautiful and had a tranquil atmosphere and I loved the fantastic range of products that they had on offer.I would highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing