We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Golden Pheasant(Knutsford)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hinton Guest House(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pickmere Country House(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longview Hotel(Knutsford)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laburnum Cottage Guest House(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Knutsford M6(Knutsford)(Great Value!)
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveller rating
789
338
136
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
789
338
136
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrowns restaurantthe club loungesalt roomaromatherapy associatesoverlooking the lakechanging roomsafternoon teaunderfloor heatingrelaxation roomjunior suiteevening mealtreatment roomsbottle of proseccofood was lovelysteam roomrobes and slipperscar park
Filter
Updating list...
902 - 907 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends in July and let me start by saying what a beautiful location it was. The view from my room was breathtakingly picturesque - a true Cheshire wonder. My husband particularly enjoyed the golf facilities while me and my girlfriend relaxed in the spa. The first evening we dined out in the beautifully quaint town of Knutsford and reception were kind enough to book taxi arrangements.
Throughout the stay the service was exceptional, however one member of staff stood out in particular. One stand employee, I believe his name was Danny, served us once in the bar over looking the golf course and once again in the main restaurant - he was polite, friendly, and always eager to attend to our every need. It was a pleasure to be served by such a knowledgable and pleasant young man. Overall, we had a phenomenal stay at The Mere and would recommend it to any of our friends or family. A hidden gem in the bustling midpoint between Cheshire and Manchester. A return is on the cards!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Natalie K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us.

It would certainly seem that you enjoyed your stay and we are thrilled to learn you will be back to see us again soon.

I will personally make sure that Danny is recognised for his “Outstanding” customer service, he is a credit to us and a real delight to work with.

Thank you for your kind feedback,

Kind Regards

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely rooms and spa brilliant. We bought a package deal and had an evening meal and also breakfast which were lovely. Had a minor incident with hair in our bath but it was sorted instantly . Only let down is how overpriced drinks/wine is!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed overnight at The Mere after a lovely day at The RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park.The Grand entrance and driveway was just the start of a very impressive place.Our room was a Club Room with lots of space and very luxurious,robes/slippers and good quality toiletries.We even had time to visit the spa for a quick swim and relax in the different steam/sauna rooms.We had booked dinner bed & breakfast but on arrival we where told that the restaurant was fully booked that evening (I did not reserve a table on booking),but the club lounge and bar was available,there was a good choice of meals,and the ones we had where excellent.Breakfast the next day was also excellent lots of choice and cooked to perfection.Will definitely return and would highly recommend.Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel in a great location but..

Our special occasion and stay over was spoilt by really poor service generally coupled with inattentive staff during breakfast, lunch and evening meal times.
Furthermore we can’t understand why there’s no offer of help at reception with transporting baggage to and from rooms and really it doesn’t help if you’re only given verbal instructions of how to find your room amongst the maze of passageways and corridors throughout the hotel whist struggling with bags and suitcases

Finally..
We reserved a lake / golf view room which we assumed would offer a more peaceful experience but we and I assume other guests were awoken at around 7.30am in the morning by the gardener who was continually revving a petrol engine leaf blowing machine which was being used to clean the patio / bar area..

We have gone into more detail on the points raised and look forward to a response from Lauren Yates the Guest Relations Manager.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ken C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us.

Once again, may I apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa for the disappointing shortfalls you unfortunately encountered during your stay with us.

I do believe we have since spoken directly and hope that you feel this matter has been dealt with in the correct manner.

We are glad that you will return to us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a one night spa break us and 5 other couples. The room where fine and the hotel was nice and modern. The spa is out of this world, we had a great time in there! The food was the only thing that let the place down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear tealys,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review for us,

It sounds like on the whole you enjoyed many aspects of your stay here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

At The Mere we are dedicated to listening to our guest’s feedback/comments, we would very much welcome an opportunity to discuss what exactly was disappointing about the food.

Please do feel free to contact me regarding this either via email lauren.yates01@googlemail.com or alternatively 01565 830155

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kindest Regards

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews