We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked a couple of days midweek including Spa treatment. Initial contact at reception was professional and courteous checking on our needs. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was very nice decor wise, probably the best I've seen for a long time. Had a snack/meal in the lounge area twice and staff were at tentative and friendly. The food was of good quality and no complaints there. The sticky toffee pudding was very nice !
The spa morning was great resulting in a good back massage and the overall facilities are first class. Again staff very friendly. Plenty of parking available on site. I didn't play golf however the course look well maintained and some nice features around the greens. If I was going to be picky, the room robes are slightly threadbare and the slippers should be in sealed packs on the beds. Other than that, well worth a stay.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor away from lifts etc, pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    284
    113
    36
    29
See reviews for
151
493
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I went with my mum for a spa day and we loved it. Everything is kept so clean, and the facilities are very up to date. Staff are fabulous, and the food was very good. Will definitely be going again. :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemissford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends in July and let me start by saying what a beautiful location it was. The view from my room was breathtakingly picturesque - a true Cheshire wonder. My husband particularly enjoyed the golf facilities while me and my girlfriend relaxed in the spa. The first evening we dined out in the beautifully quaint town of Knutsford and reception were kind enough to book taxi arrangements.
Throughout the stay the service was exceptional, however one member of staff stood out in particular. One stand employee, I believe his name was Danny, served us once in the bar over looking the golf course and once again in the main restaurant - he was polite, friendly, and always eager to attend to our every need. It was a pleasure to be served by such a knowledgable and pleasant young man. Overall, we had a phenomenal stay at The Mere and would recommend it to any of our friends or family. A hidden gem in the bustling midpoint between Cheshire and Manchester. A return is on the cards!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Natalie K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us.

It would certainly seem that you enjoyed your stay and we are thrilled to learn you will be back to see us again soon.

I will personally make sure that Danny is recognised for his “Outstanding” customer service, he is a credit to us and a real delight to work with.

Thank you for your kind feedback,

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely rooms and spa brilliant. We bought a package deal and had an evening meal and also breakfast which were lovely. Had a minor incident with hair in our bath but it was sorted instantly . Only let down is how overpriced drinks/wine is!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed overnight at The Mere after a lovely day at The RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park.The Grand entrance and driveway was just the start of a very impressive place.Our room was a Club Room with lots of space and very luxurious,robes/slippers and good quality toiletries.We even had time to visit the spa for a quick swim and relax in the different steam/sauna rooms.We had booked dinner bed & breakfast but on arrival we where told that the restaurant was fully booked that evening (I did not reserve a table on booking),but the club lounge and bar was available,there was a good choice of meals,and the ones we had where excellent.Breakfast the next day was also excellent lots of choice and cooked to perfection.Will definitely return and would highly recommend.Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel in a great location but..

Our special occasion and stay over was spoilt by really poor service generally coupled with inattentive staff during breakfast, lunch and evening meal times.
Furthermore we can’t understand why there’s no offer of help at reception with transporting baggage to and from rooms and really it doesn’t help if you’re only given verbal instructions of how to find your room amongst the maze of passageways and corridors throughout the hotel whist struggling with bags and suitcases

Finally..
We reserved a lake / golf view room which we assumed would offer a more peaceful experience but we and I assume other guests were awoken at around 7.30am in the morning by the gardener who was continually revving a petrol engine leaf blowing machine which was being used to clean the patio / bar area..

We have gone into more detail on the points raised and look forward to a response from Lauren Yates the Guest Relations Manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ken C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us.

Once again, may I apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa for the disappointing shortfalls you unfortunately encountered during your stay with us.

I do believe we have since spoken directly and hope that you feel this matter has been dealt with in the correct manner.

We are glad that you will return to us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a one night spa break us and 5 other couples. The room where fine and the hotel was nice and modern. The spa is out of this world, we had a great time in there! The food was the only thing that let the place down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tealys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear tealys,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review for us,

It sounds like on the whole you enjoyed many aspects of your stay here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

At The Mere we are dedicated to listening to our guest’s feedback/comments, we would very much welcome an opportunity to discuss what exactly was disappointing about the food.

Please do feel free to contact me regarding this either via email lauren.yates01@googlemail.com or alternatively 01565 830155

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kindest Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing