We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed on Friday 8th August on a much needed spa breaK. This was my first visit to the Mere, I was impressed by the spa, the facilities and the food and all the staff were polite.
However, my abiding memory of the visit is of Adrian, who is I believe the hotel's night manager. It's a long time since I have been to a hotel on my ow (my friend unable to come at the last minute) and I was a little nervous.Adrian put me at ease from the start advising me about room service, spa times and he even found time to give me a tour of the grounds and facilities in the morning. I've stayed at many hotels across the world and in all that time I've never met a more poised, professional and well educated hotel manager. His depth of knowledge on a variety of issues was astonishing and his sharp wit and sense of humour cheered me up no end.
I have no idea what he's doing working during the night in the middle of Cheshire when I'd expect him to be livening up dinner table conversations in some swanky hotel in London, New York. Anyway, whilst he is there, I'd encourage any Trip advisor night owl who likes elegant, intelligent conversation to visit the Mere and seek him out.
He's a hidden jewelin the Mere's crown!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jayne J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful guest experience with us.

I was so pleased to learn that Adrian our wonderful Night Manger was able to offer you genuine excellent hospitality and customer service leaving you so compelled to write such a glowing review.

Adrian himself was delighted to read your comments and felt proud that he had made you feel like the valued guest that you are.

We have now officially christening him, Adrian Hidden Jewel in the Mere’s Crown (Judging by the smile of his face, we think he likes it!!)

Thank you for choosing The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    295
    120
    40
    33
See reviews for
168
523
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Mere, the whole experience was fantastic, the food and service was great and the room was lovely. I had a full body massage which having had a few over the years was up there with the most relaxing and enjoyable I have had. The treatment room was perfect, and the therapist was excellent, Beth?
The pool area is great with a fab selection of thermal rooms to choose from, all were clean and inviting.
Food and service was lovely and Georgia looked after us for both dinner and breakfast and is a credit to the resort.
We will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely hotel and golf course in stunning location beside the lake. Luxurious bedrooms with every modern amenity. Enthusiastic, if sometimes inexperienced, staff all striving to please, what could go wrong....well quite a lot actually. We were a group of silver haired golfers looking forward to a splendid two day golf weekend and it all started with the failure of the staff at reception to ask to swipe my credit card on check-in. Our party then spent most of the day playing golf and I only discovered that I couldn't buy anything in the late evening - food or drink - without having had a card registered. The remedy involved having to walk what seemed like a quarter of a mile to reception only to find...no staff ! On returning to the evening bar I offered to pay cash or card, "sorry sir we can't accept cash or card because we've closed the tills and only residents with cards registered can make a purchase. It is company policy for reasons of security" And so the two beers I had ordered, and which had been poured, remained on the bar ! To add insult to injury, on this particular evening we were watching the final moments of the American PGA Golf major and it was all we could do to stop the bar manager switching off the television....just as Rory McIlroy was two holes away from winning the Trophy ! " It's Company Policy to turn off the set at 11.30pm...sir" Clearly the customer never comes first at the Mere Golf Resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lawrence T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent golf trip with us.

Whilst I am very disappointed to learn of the unfortunate frustrating factors you encountered during your stay, I only wish I had been called to help assist you at the time.

All staff are trained to make sure the guest is happy and to provide excellent customer service.

Employees do have certain polices and rules that they have to adhere to but there are certainly better ways to execute this.

May I take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa for the way in which this was communicated to you.

I would also like to assure you that on the back of your feedback/review all staff have been briefed and reminded for future reference.

Our guest will always come first.

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Staff polite, restaurant food in evening excellent, though breakfast less so. Restaurant service was very good with Georgia being especially worth a mention ...pleasant and helpful and efficient. Golf shop well stocked, and plenty parking. I didnt play golf but the green looked well maintained. Spa prices reasonable and overall a nice relaxed atmosphere with a "not to stuffy" attitude.

Room Tip: lakeview is nice...108 has disabled facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed from Monday to Thursday looking for a bit pampering for my wife and relaxation before the birth of our first child. The staff were all friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, the room was clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast was very good on all 3 mornings as was the afternoon tea that we had. The spa was excellent as were the massages we both had. Overall we both left feeling refreshed and relaxed which is what we were looking for, I would definitely recommnend a visit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing spa day at The Mere. 2 course lunch was excellent & very filling. Facial & massage were great. Radial mud treatment left my skin feeling great but not sure if I'd get this regularly for the price. Staff were lovely, service was excellent & facilities couldn't be faulted.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmap81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed as part of a golf trip for two days. Hotel staff were great. Friendly and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. They did there best to make our stay an enjoyable experience. The rooms are modern, clean, spacious and well enough kitted out for our one night stay. Drinks at the bars aren't cheap. £5 for a larger £12 for a G&T.

The golf course is good to play. Slightly tricky in places with some awkward holes. The course condition is on the whole excellent. However the bunkers were, to be blunt, awful. Not in decent condition at all. Rotivating them would help lift the sand. The main failing for the course though is the 18th hole. It, in my opinion, needs re landscaping at the landing area from the tee to make it a better hole. Fairer for short hitters, more involving for longer hitters. An improved finishing hole would really lift the whole course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.0 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
983 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
16.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,562 reviews
24.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,761 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Property: The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa is one of Cheshire’s premier resort destinations for both business and pleasure. The resort offers plenty to keep guests occupied and entertained during their visit. Offering 81 luxurious individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites, you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Many of the rooms offer stunning views over The Mere Lake, and the Championship Golf Course. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy 18 holes out on our Championship Golf Course, practise their swing on the North West’s only floating driving range, stop for a bite to eat in its delicious Club Lounge or browse the latest designers clothing lines from Peak Performance and J. Lindeberg in the Golf Shop. Whilst those looking for that ‘me’ time can escape into their award-winning Spa where they can enjoy a selection of spa treatments from facials to full body massages, or take a dip in its heated indoor pool – and health fanatics can enjoy over 50 classes a week. For those looking for local produced food, visit its restaurant Browns for a fine dining experience. With its expansive space, The Mere is the perfect choice for celebrations and events. If you are looking for the perfect setting for a grand wedding, or an intimate celebration in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, the resort offers stunning lakeside views and the choice of four luxury event suites for up to 550 guests. If you’re planning a small business meeting or large scale event at The Mere, there’s plenty of space to meet and great in one of its six event spaces that can cater for up to 700 delegates. It’s located close to both Manchester and Liverpool and easily accessible from both the M6 and M56 motorways. LIVE IN THE MOMENT* Time at The Mere Collection is about a series of incredible moments that go together to make the perfect experience. We invite you to live each of these moments to the full. Goodness knows, life can be hectic, allow yourself to live if only for a weekend, a day, an hour in that moment. The best approach of your life on the 17th or sixty minutes of hot stone gorgeousness. At the heart of The Mere Collection is our devotion to the finest food and drink this country has to offer. Moments to savour, indulge and revel in forever. Let yourself just live in the here and now. It's all we have. It's all that matters. Find your Mere Moment courtesy of The Mere Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mere Golf Resort And Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing