We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Knutsford”
Review of Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Epoque
Ranked #7 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Knutsford”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is a super, "restaurant with rooms", right in the middle of Knutsford town centre. We've stayed three times now and each time we've really enjoyed it. Spotlessly clean and nice bright modern decor.
The staff cant do enough for you and that follows on whilst dining in there exquisite restaurant, worth a visit on its own merit.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room one overlooks the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    22
    19
    15
    19
See reviews for
43
81
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We went to a wedding here in September 2012 and it was, in a word, perfect! From the service on arrival, to the gorgeous decadent decor, to the perfectly cooked and presented food! One guest on our table wanted a non standard item as a starter and this was done immediately by the waiter who was very friendly. There was nothing at all I could fault about this venue! The ceremony room, wedding breakfast room and evening rooms were all beautiful. There was only a small outside area but it was really pretty with an archway and garden for lovely photos. I did not stay overnight so I can't comment on the rooms. Im getting married myself in 9 months, and if I lived locally I would have no hesitation in booking for my own wedding. (only downside- drinks are quite expensive, although thats to be expected from this type of venue)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vampira81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Service was good, although the food was prepared a little too quickly, and so overall we felt rushed.

The food was very disappointing. I had croquette de volaille to start - basically a couple of rather bland chicken burgers. My wife had rabbit terrine which I tried - also very bland.

My main course was foie gras in a gingerbread crust, which didn't work at all. My wife had grilled calf’s liver, which she said was ok.

I skipped pudding but my wife had baked alaska. Very disappointing since it wasn't freshly made, and my wife thought it might have been bought in.

Bill came to about £90 including drinks and wine, so not too expensive, although the waiter added service charge without being asked, and this wasn't shown on the bill, which seemed rather sneaky and I didn't appreciate it.

There are plenty of better restaurants in the area. I certainly wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had our wedding at Belle Epoque on 9th September 2012 and from our first planning appointment with Colette through to morning after our wedding we could not find fault. Colette could not be more helpful and her experience in dealing with weddings really showed, she put us at ease and made sure we had every little detail covered. On the day the staff were professional but friendly, they made sure we had the most wonderful day without any hitches. The weather was kind to us and we were able to use the garden terrace. All our guests were very complimentary about the food and the venue. We had the most wonderful and emotional day and we would recommend the Belle Epoque without any hesitation to anyone thinking of holding their wedding celebrations there. The Belle Epoque is quirky with a great ambiance and unique atmosphere.. We are already planning to book a meal and room for our first wedding anniversary at the Belle Epoque. Neil and Deborah Gardom

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahgardom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here recently and really enjoyed the whole experience. The whole place is incredible, inside and out. The staff always seemed to be on hand whenever you needed them.
Our room overlooked the garden to the rear and therefore had a great view.
The bathrooms where smart and modern and beautifully clean.
At £115 for a double included breakfast we both thought this was incredible value for this standard of venue.
We have already booked for our next visit for a Christmas getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here recently after a celebratory meal with friends in their restaurant. It really was a great nights stay from beginning to end. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Knutsford and perfect for a one or two night stay.
The room we stayed in had a lovely view of the roof garden and was beautifully appointed, smart modern bathrooms and it was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was worth getting up for as its taken in the bar area and you can see the world go by whilst sipping an espresso.
A great find and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Owner at Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the Belle Epoque. We really do strive to make the experience enjoyable for all our guests.

Regards

Matthew Mooney, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I had a treat night away from the children here recently. Its really a restaurant with rooms and a beautiful at that.
We were both wanting something romantic, relaxing and chic. Oh boy did it deliver, our room was spotless and with a view onto the roof garden with a smart and contemporary bathroom, at £115 we thought it was amazing value as you are right in the centre of Knutsford.
We had a walk and a bit of a shop in the town before dinner, which was well worth doing.

The restaurant in the evening was superb, try and have drinks on the roof garden before dinner if you can its amazing. The menu was very interesting with great care taken in the presentation of the food. It rounded off the stay beautifully.

Would highly recommend here as a great "adult" treat.

Room Tip: The train station is in the town centre and is great if you are travelling from Manchester or Cheste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwatts040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Owner at Belle Epoque, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Belle Epoque. I'm so glad you you enjoyed you romantic evening and do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Mooney, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
1.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
15.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque

Property: Belle Epoque
Address: 60 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Brasserie Knutsford
Belle Epoque Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing