We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Night”
Review of Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Epoque
Ranked #7 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Night”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

What a great night we enjoyed here. Celebrating our wedding anniversary we wanted somewhere special that wasn't going to break the bank, hence the perfection.
A beautiful building with our room opening on to the roof garden. The great bonus is you only need to walk down the stairs for fab food in the evening. the menu is so different and you can take your time. The whole place says "special occasion". highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    22
    20
    15
    19
See reviews for
44
81
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and had a super evening. As the title suggests this is not a hotel, if you want something stylish and intimate it's for you. If you are looking for a large hotel experience with gyms/spas etc you are better looking elsewhere.
Our room opening onto a beautiful garden so we had our after dinner brandy there, a great end to the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerfeller1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We checked into the Belle Epoque on the way back from a trip to the Lake district with my elderly parents . The room was okay althought a bit dark . The blinds on the windows were very dusty and the room had a door which could open onto a public terrace which had people enjoying a few drinks so was very noisy and did allow for much privacy. The bath room was spacious but a bit tired with a broken plug attachment which could not turn to allow the water to run out the bath . The bed had only one bedside light which was broken.

Our main issue was with breakfast which was by far the worst I have ever had anywhere.
We asked for the fruit salad to start. This had an odd taste of onion which I can only think could have come from from an onion being stored unwrapped in the fridge next to the uncovered fruit salad or yoghurt. We then ordered form the menu,one poached egg with tomato, two scrambled eggs, and one mushroom on toast. This took a full hour to arrived. Absolutely unbelievable as there was only one other table was occupied and this was by a single man. There were two people standing outside the kitchen door (staff I assume) which the young waitress did a lot of chatting to.I am not sure if this was the cause of the delayor if the problem was in the kitchen. As I said we had elderly parents with us otherwise we would have walked out.
When the breakfast finally arrived it was almost an insult. The poached eggs were stone cold served (slapped!)on two slices of cold ,dry toast. The tomato was a large ,whole one . Strangely luke warm on the out side and then fridge cold on the inside. Completely unseasoned. The mushrooms on toast was just that. Two mushrooms on two slices of dry toast, again all stone cold .They were barely cooked and no seasoning just plain revolting! The srambled eggs were watery and luke warm. There was no salt or pepper on the table . We also ordered two cuppachinos which took a full 25 minutes to arrive although there was hardly a rush on. We kept on hearing the coffee machine going so I can only assume staff were being served in the kitchen.The staff are friendly and I can only assume that there is lack of management. We will vote with our feet and never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Henryxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A delightful lunch with a friend in lovely surroundings with attentive and helpful staff. We chose the 2 course Artisan menu for £14.95 which was good value. Enough choice and either a starter or dessert as well as a main course. The hake was simply delicious and a great recommendation from our waiter. The décor is quirky in a good way and we were made to feel welcome and valued. Next time we'll try an evening visit. I'm sure we won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is in the centre of town on one of the two narrow streets, on entering it’s like taking a trip back in time where sumptuous furnishes and opulent fitting was the norm and quality ruled. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, No.6. this room has access to the rear garden terrace and patio, with the sun shining onto the area was charming place to rest and relax in the quietness.

Large opulent furnish bedroom and equally large well-furnished bathroom, the only downside was small wardrobe which included the drinks and kettle with cups that aside the bedding was luxurious and mattress exceedingly comfortable night sleep.

Evening meal was a WOW, my fiancée had booked the corner raised seating table for two, its set back and like eating in a round turret, is at the front of the building and exquisitely set table with a large candelabra provided the final touch over the table, the menu was equally enjoyable as was the attentive staff. For dessert I ordered the Baked Alaska, rarely seen on menu’s theses day, and they had gone to the trouble of inscribing “Happy Birthday” around the plate they served it on, nice touch as was the meal, the wine and the company.

The building is charming, and would be excellent for any special occasion as I walked past one of the private dining rooms which had the table laid and fresh flowers and fairy lights - looked lovely and very romantic.

B & B this doesn't not include a full cooked breakfast. The hot food is available including bacon or sausage sandwich or eggs on toast, boiled eggs etc. The full cooked offering is £4.95 extra and to be honest we both thoroughly enjoyed their offering. Service again was very good as the guy who should have been on had not turned in but another covered and couldn’t do enough for us.

Room Tip: Room 6 has great access to the rear gardens and relaxing settings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter197_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked to stay here with my mum, mother in law & sister in law for one night. Working in the wedding industry I had noticed it on facebook as a wedding venue and thought it looked really nice so went on the website. The website makes it look A LOT nicer than it actually is, the rooms are dingy and not nearly as luxurious as the pictures portray and the "double bed" my mother in law and sister in law had to share was more like a three quarter bed. In a luxury style hotel/wedding venues the beds should be at least kingsize, but you'd definitely expect a double. The meal was really lovely but they got our bill wrong TWICE (over charged us both times which we were suspicious about) so it kind of put a downer on the food being nice. Knutsford is a lovely place with great bars, pubs and resturants...just wish we had stayed and eaten somewhere else. Most of the staff were friendly but one of them wasn't and looked us up and down when we got there, and was very unwelcoming and false.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed there friday the 25th. I cant fault it. The food was amazing and the staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. I decided to propose to my girlfriend and they couldnt do enough to make sure it went smoothly. It was a night we will never forget.In fact we are going back in feb for a family meal. Well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timsterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
283 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque

Property: Belle Epoque
Address: 60 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Brasserie Knutsford
Belle Epoque Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing