We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful wedding overall but there were a couple of major let downs”
Review of Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Epoque
Ranked #7 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had our wedding on 26th May at the Belle Époque.
Overall we had a fabulous day, the food was beautifully cooked and the staff were wonderfully attentive and cannot be faulted- particularly Albert and Claudio who are so lovely and so professional. The building and atmosphere is wonderful- it is very intimate and romantic.

Unfortunately wedding planner Collette took MAT leave during the run up to our wedding, it was taken over by Kelly who did not work weekends so misses the actual weddings- she does act as link person for relevant forms and payments.

The only regret for us is that we did not see samples of the evening food, sorbet or canapés. The sorbet which we ordered is not what I would class as sorbet- it was more of a mousse and was served in a shot glass. The canapés were tiny crackers with mousse apart from the tempura vegetables, which were lovely.

Most disappointing was the evening mini's, which were part of the package we selected; when it says mini they mean it- they were very small, more like canapés. The bacon rolls were rolls that looked like they had been cut into quarters, the fish and chip cones held about 3 chunky chips in them and the fish was similarly small- I didn't see the Welsh rarebit but I was informed by someone who managed to get a piece that it was a small strip of bread.

The food was circulated around the building, which is perhaps the reason why many people reported they didn't get any of the evening food. Most other people reported they tried one or two of the items but when you have paid for 70 + 40 evening guests to have 3 items of evening food and then 6 evening guests did not attend there should have been more than enough food for everyone.

People ended up bringing take alway food into the building (2 evening guests who had travelled from Bournemouth) others went out to look for food. This was such a shame and we really didn't realise the extent of this until speaking with people after the wedding- we have found it hard to understand how so few people had any food but as Bride and Groom you are so busy speaking to everyone.

The 3 course wedding dinner was lovely and beautifully cooked- we had sampled this in advance and the Belle Époque's reputation for wonderful food shines with this example. If I could do it again I would have skipped canapés & sorbet and put the money towards an evening BBQ after checking how much food a BBQ would provide- so that is my tip to potential future customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pekin118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed on sunday evening and went down for breakfast at 7am only to be told it would not be served 'till 9 am, we had no previous info of this.
The room was badly decorated and in desperate need of refurbishment.
After extensive searching we found tea making facilities on the floor of an old wardrobe.
Broken furniture and fittings were visible on the lower floor each time we went to our room.
The staff however were exemplary and struggled to meet clients complaints which was over and above their job description

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCCCheshire, Guest Relations Manager at Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your review / feedback.

In terms of the breakfast timings, the usual breakfast times are 7-9 however because you were part of a wedding party the timings changed slightly to accomodate all of you having breakfast at the same time. Apologies this wasn't communicated to you prior to you coming down for breakfast and in light of your feedback we have now added possible wedding breakfast timings to our in-room information packs.

In terms of the bits and pieces you have pointed out with regards to the furnishings of the building / room, we are addressing all of them. We pride ourselves on very high standards here and anything our guests point out that don't match up to that we address staright away- which is what we have been doing since your departure on Monday.

The hot drink making facilities have their own space (currently inside the wardrobe, as you will find at quite a few boutique hotels), however in certain rooms we are looking to add small tables in order to have them a bit more accessible.

We are very glad that our staff have reflected our standards on this occassion and we are working hard behind the scenes on all of the points you have made (plus those our office manager went through with you in-person on Monday morning).

Kind regards

The Belle Epoque Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast rate. The hotel is quirky and perhaps a little shabby but that did not detract from the ambiance. Our room was clean and spacious overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel. There is free parking at the rear of the property - a useful bonus in such a busy town.

Our dinner was very good - service was attentive and the wine list not overpriced.

Breakfast way okay. Although I have difficulty accepting that a pot of tea and of coffee on a heated tray is adequate for guests- who expect their morning drinks to be freshly brewed.

Overall Belle Epoque represents value and should you wish to stay in the centre of Knutsford the hotel represents good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Slap bang in the middle of town with parking behind the hotel

Had heard mixed reviews of this place and not sure why.

It's not a conventional hotel, I would classify it more as a upmarket B&B so its as I expected the corridors and rooms have a mixed character and not the standardisation of bigger hotel chains

If you want to stay in the centre of Knutsford there isn't much choice and this a decent option

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We went to the Belle Epoque for valentine's day, which was a set menu for £69 per head.

The Good!
- The decor is very plush, and there was a live singer, who was excellent, so it felt like it had a nice ambiance.
- The food was lovely.

The not so good!
- the service was fairly poor. We had to ask for our wine 4 times and when it still hadn't arrived 50 mins after ordering it, we changed the order to just 2 glasses instead. We still had to wait another 10mins for this and found the wine was corked and was almost certainly not the wine we had asked for. By the time they brought the correct wine, we had nearly finished our main course!
- the bill was wrong

On the whole I would give them 4/5 for the food but only 2/5 for the service. I would like to go back on a normal night without the set menu to see what the a la carte menu and service is like.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Joodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here earlier this week and had a fabulous evening. En route to Edinburgh it was the perfect stop over, five minutes off the motorway.
On arrival we were greeted by a roaring fire and a warm welcome.The room (3) was tastefully decorated and cosy with a smart modern bathroom with a powerful shower.
It was perfect just to walk downstairs for dinner, especially as the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Belle Époque is either your thing or it isn't unfortunately my usual hotel, The Mere, was fully booked. I have stayed here before and soon realised Why I have given it a wide berth whilst on business in the area, food aside, which is fantastic and it's redeeming feature, the accommodation at £95 +4.95 supplement for a full breakfast is really, in my opinion, expensive.
My room , room 2, although a decent size is reminiscent of an old institution in that it is void of home comforts, kettle etc is stashed on the floor of the wardrobe along with water iron and hair dryer, the bed is small, compared to most hotels, you will need binoculars to view the tv whilst in bed, it's been so long since I have seen a 12inch flat screen, had to leave specs on to see. The bathroom is small with doors that don't shut well and the shower cubicle has to be the smallest ever made, turn round and I managed to turn the tap to hot and when I say hot I mean really hot, it could take your skin off.
The above might seem harsh but as I said you either love or hate it
Also failed to mentioned but the staff decided to move all the downstairs furniture at 2 in the morning talk about no thought for your guests, however, overhearing various conversations think they are put under a lot of pressure

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knutsford hotels
1.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,060 reviews
0 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Angel at King St
Angel at King St
#12 of 14 in Knutsford
29 reviews
0 mi away
Rose & Crown
Rose & Crown
#10 of 14 in Knutsford
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque

Address: 60 King Street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: £98 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque Brasserie Knutsford
Belle Epoque Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing