We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longview Hotel(Knutsford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cross Keys(Knutsford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
300
177
66
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
300
177
66
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitejacuzzi bathlakeside roomwedding receptionafternoon teacountry hoteltravelzoo dealwedding venuelovely groundsfour poster bedlovely hoteldinner bed and breakfastroom was largebar menuthree course mealmain buildingevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Myself and my partner arrived at the hotel quite late, around 8.45pm. The outside of the hotel and grounds are lovely and picturesque - the building at the front (one you can see on Google street view) is the conference centre, not the hotel.

Despite the late hour of arrival, the front desk staff were very courteous, knew exactly who we were and informed us that restaurant was open until 10am for full evening meal. We asked for a table at 9.15pm to be reserved. We followed the directions through the nicely appointed corridors, to our room on the ground floor (all rooms are ground floor mind you!).

Our room was very large well equipped and perfect for the one night stop over we planned. We dumped our bags and headed to the restaurant just after 9pm. The resturant is quite small, perhaps seating around 30-40 diners, however at that time of night we shared it with only one other couple. The decor was lovely and old-worldly, without being tired - just elegant.

Our very attentive waiter showed us to our seat, presented the reasonably priced menu and extensive wine list.

Our food was delivered in good time, with an extra and unexpected pre-starter of pate. We eat out quite often and would place the food squarely in the 4 star hotel range; elegant, well portioned and very tasty. The smoked salmon parfait was particularly lovely. Given the time of night in such an out of the way location, this was a real treat. We were not rushed, given plenty of discrete attention from our waiter and generally had a great time. The sounds of burbling water coming from the man made lake outside was an added bonus to the already tranquil surroundings.

The whirlpool bath was an wonderful addition, very relaxing after a days travel, as was the peaceful nights sleep in the quite room and large bed.

Our breakfast (delivered in room), was very nice and again 4 star hotel standard of cooked English.

If you are in the Knutsford area, head out to the Mere Court for a little bit of country hospitality, great food and attentive staff...all for a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Take your time and relax, easy to do here
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmeargD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your compliments, I am pleased to learn that the team and the Mere Court Hotel met your requirements and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

attended a weddding recently,the toilets were blocked and very smelly and they were right next to the kitchen! The alternative toilets had bins overflowing with paper towel waste and there were no staff around to deal with it. Outside tables in the garden were covered in bird droppings and the ashtrays on same tables were overflowing also. When i complained to the manager i basically got a mouthfull of backchat and certainly no apologies. I saw 3 staff trying to cope with about 80 guests,they obviously were running the hotel on a shoestring budget while charging top prices. It was freezing in the bar areas and conservatory also due to the aircon being on,everyone had to wear jumpers and jackets. All in all an appalling experience,so please stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your comments, just to clarify a couple of your points, the toilets were not blocked, but the smell was of someone having used them, if advised then obviously this could have been attended to.
Unfortunately as the tables are in the garden then nature will of course play a part so bird droppings are at times inevitable.
The air conditioning temperature in the Conservatory can be controlled, if the Manager had been advised that you felt the room was cold then the airconditioning would have been adjusted.
We have been in touch with the Bride and Groom who are more than happy with their Wedding Day at the Mere court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. To be fair, the wedding went well, but the staff have been doing it so long and so often it's become routine every weekend and it shows. Rooms can only be booked at the weekend via the hotel & it charges £90 a night whereas booking via th net fr the night before costs only £78. Staff need to go on a course in how to deal with people - who actually pay their wages. Wheelchair access is appalling. Free wifi

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 April 2011

Thank you for your comments, we pride ourselves at Mere Court Hotel for the standard of service and attention to detail offered to all our guests. Rooms at the weekend can be booked on the internet either via our website or various hotel booking sites, prices do vary depending on special offers and availability. As a grade II listed building wheelchair access is not easy however it is possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Very pleasant staff and check in fine. Sad to see that most of the period features of what was clearly once a house have now gone and internally pretty dull. Rooms are quite spacious and perfectly comfortable, though look like they've not been done up since the 80s. Bemused by the plastic band on my loo which told me it had been sanitised for my protection. Are guests to this hotel more likely to carry hideously infectious diseases than other hotels? Nice to have a cooked breakfast. The poached egg was excellent although the scrambled eggs were very overcooked. The rest of the hot food came well steamed from a hot buffet counter but was nice enough. Overall a pleasant stay and our evening meal, which was part of a large event party, was very nice, especially seeing as they were catering for so many people.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68,394,944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The rooms are clean and the meals in the restaurant are very good, and reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning is also very good, serving both cold and hot breakfast options. The rooms are clean and well appointed. This hotel does cater to weddings and conferences, so they do tend to fill up quickly if one of these groups is booked. In addition, if your room is near the wedding reception room, you may hear some of the spillover of noise from these functions, but the night I was there, it was over by midnight, so not really an issue for me.

There is wireless Internet, but in some rooms it can be spotty reception. Also, there are no gym or fitness facilities at this hotel, so keep that in mind when booking. There are plenty of open roads to run on, if you run, but that is about it.

A cab into Knutsford will cost you about 10 GBP and their is free on-site parking for those with a car.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews