We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day - 1st September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My new wife and I got engaged just over two years ago, and the first few months of our engagement were spent looking around venues for the ceremony and reception. That was until we were told by a friend to go and have a look at the Mere Court. He had got married there himself and had nothing but good words to say about the hotel.

As soon as we arrived at the Mere Court we knew that this was the place we wanted. We were welcomed in to look around the grounds and every room we walked into only served to make us want it more. The Arboreum is such a beautiful room to get married in - even without being "venue dressed" at the time - the colours, the beams on the ceiling and the intimacy of the room felt immediately right to us.

The showstopper for us however was the fantastic Conservatory, where the wedding breakfast and evening party would be held. It's a beautiful addition to an already lovely building, and as soon as we walked in we could imagine how things would eventually look.

We decided almost immediately that this was the place for us. The staff (including the dedicated Wedding Organiser, Karen) guided us effortlessly through deciding the package we required, and we never felt at any stage that things would not be spot on.

On the day itself (which fortunately was a gorgeous summer's day) the hotel looked immaculate and as I arrived early I saw the staff getting on efficiently with everything they needed to do. They did a perfect job. Every room was exactly as I'd hoped, and in the case of the Arboreum and the Conservatory, even better.

The Master of Ceremonies for the day, Will, did a brilliant job in ensuring the day flowed perfectly, even though our speeches made the breakfast overrun by quite some time. He was also on hand whenever he was required to help anyone with anything. The staff all looked incredibly smart and professional, and each and every one of them had a smile on their faces the whole time.

The food was magnificent - we had struggled to decide what we wanted served that day but I heard nothing but compliments from every guest about the standard, and it was presented beautifully and perfectly cooked.

My wife and I (still getting used to saying that) were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, and upon entering the room for the first time were greeted by a chilled bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates. The only regret I have is that I never used the enormous jacuzzi, which was situated in a huge and extremely clean bathroom. The four-poster was as comfortable a bed as I have ever slept in - I didn't want to leave.....!

If you're considering having your wedding here I honestly cannot recommend it enough. It's just a shame I (hopefully) won't be doing it again, as I'd certainly have mine at the Mere Court if I did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your FANTASTIC comments, , It is very rewarding for us to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your wedding day (we even made sure the weather was nice!). we thank you very much for your recommendations and perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your 1st anniversary?!

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here with my husband on 12th September 2012 and we had a dinner bed and breakfast offer with Groupon. The food we had in the evening was delicious! My husband always has steak / mixed grill or a pie when we go out but none of these were on the menu so he opted for duck and really enjoyed it! Also the service was very good and we were given an amuse bouche complimentary of the chef!

The rooms were nice and clean and so was the bathroom. The only downside was that there was a pre wedding party on which had really loud music and our room look onto where they were having it. The music was turned off around 11:30 though so not too bad.

The grounds which the hotel is in are really lovely. We had taken a picnic with us to have during the day and then we went for a drink into Knutsford which is a lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments and I’m very pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a really enjoyable one night stay at the Mere Court Hotel last weekend on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. When we arrived we discovered there was a wedding at the hotel that day which really uplifted the mood of the hotel and made the place very lively; the only downside was it meant the bar area was very busy and we could not get a drink! We found our room after much zig-zagging of corridors! Our room was very spacious and clean with very good facilities! Dinner was AMAZING; food and service was excellent! Breakfast was also nice with lots of hot and cold options! Would reccommend this hotel and would stay here again in the future! Thankyou to the Mere Court Hotel for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend away and had an AMAZING dinner.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Afternoon tea is a fabulous experience at this hotel.
Myself and a group of friends enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at this lovely hotel. The afternoon tea was served to us with quiet efficiency. The presentation of the food was exceptional, as was the quality. For anyone looking for a bit of a treat look no further.
Five stars well deserved. Thank you to all the staff who played a part in ensuring our afternoon went smoothly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Fantastic!! Thank you very much. The team and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We held our daughters wedding at the hotel with 70 guests for the wedding breakfast and a 110+ guests for the evening bash. From when we first booked, some 12 months earlier, the staff were most helpful and guided us us through the process. On the wedding day itself, it was wonderful event in such a beautiful rural cheshire setting.

The staff were so helpfull, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. They coped so well in serving the meal, including the special requirements, when the photographer and speeches over ran by some 30 minutes. The chef had also created a special suit for us.

The evening bash went off a treat and we received many good comments on the food at the late evening buffet.

Many of us stayed over in the splendid well appointed rooms, and enjoyed an excellant breakfast in the morning.

Overall it was an excellant event in a hotel and grounds full of character and beauty.

Room Tip: Try a room with a four poster bed, they are spacious and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wulfrunian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review, I was really pleased to read that we made your "special day" an excellent one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I enjoyed a midweek leisure-break at Mere Court recently and will definitely return in the future.
On arrival, the hotel and grounds look very attractive, and the surrounding gardens are well maintained and perfect for a peaceful stroll.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equiped. The bathroom had a decent shower too, (not found in many older hotels).
Dinner in the restaurant was very good indeed. A well balanced menu is complimented by a decent wine list. The beakfast was good all week, and the staff polite, friendly, courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original house are better than those in the newer extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear John M,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, I was glad to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

The Team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, the first 2 years ago. This time we had a cheaper option in a lakeside room. This is some way off the main body of he hotel, and rather badly signposted. However the room was fine, indeed quite spacious, and well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast, which cost extra to our room rate, was excellent, with a good range of food and good rapid service.
The only problem was that they did not service our room at all on the second night.
This might have been a one off and my wife complained to the manager who deducted the cost of the room for that night [though he did not send anyone to fix it!].
However our experience of the restaurant on the first night was dreadful. The last time we stayed we vowed not to return because of the restaurant. Rather foolishly we thought they might have improved. Not a bit of it - if anything it was worse.
It is difficult to rate the restaurant in this hotel badly enough. We stayed here 2 years ago and did not return because of the restaurant. We thought they must have improved in the meantime but not a bit of it. The food is OK, though definitely not brilliant and the portions adequate but the service is truly abominable.
We booked a table for 19.30 and arrived at 19.25. Their system is to sit one in the lounge [presumably in the hope one will buy drinks] but we refused to do that, and after some persuasion we were reluctantly permitted to sit in the restaurant. We finally got the menu, after complaining quite vigorously, at 20.00. Half an hour. The staff were clearly following their routine and were not to be moved no matter what we said. And no, they were not apologetic.
It took about another half an hour before we got any food – an hour after we had sat down and after more complaints – and the main course eventually arrived at 2100 – one and a half hours after we had booked our table.
The restaurant was not busy – by any normal standards – and there were a number of other guests who were quite clearly annoyed by the delays. So it was not that they were overworked or overwhelmed, but they do have absolutely no apparent awareness of the guests’ feelings or requirements and even if they did they have absolutely no intention of changing their routine to suit anyone but themselves.
We ate out for the second night at a Loch Fyne which was everything this restaurant is not – and with much much better food into the bargain - and nothing would induce us to return to this restaurant again which we think is truly dreadful.
My wife had aired this with the manager who promised to meet us at breakfast the day we checked out. Needless to say he did not appear.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teaselshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience on your recent stay and I have taken all your comments on board. Such constructive comments are most helpful and give us direction as to where we need to focus our service delivery. Kind regards.

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,012 reviews
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
10.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,615 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: £66 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing