We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My fiancee booked this is as a surprise for my birthday. We upgraded to the Windsor Suite (which has a four poster bed), and when we walked in the room, there was just one word - wow. It was huge and full of lovely antique furniture and the bathroom was also huge with a roll top bath and complimentary slippers and dressing gown - a very nice touch. We had a meal here at night and it was exquisite, the waitress was attentive and friendly. The breakfast selection was vast and delicious too. I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Fantastic feedback thank you!! glad to read that you had a great Birthday!!

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stopped again at Mere Court Hotel for one night whilst visiting relations and before we flew from Manchester Airport the following day. Our room was in the main house and although numbered 305, had Buckingham on the door. The bedroom and bathroom were smaller than the Osbourne Room that we had stayed in previously and specially asked for when booking!

The bedroom had two easy chairs, which is always a bonus. The bed was comfy and there was tea and coffee making facilities as well as one bottle of mineral water. Sadly unlike our previous visit there was no sherry!! Free Wifi was available and worked without the need to search for and enter a password.

We ordered from both the Light Bite Menu and A La Carte Menus as we had booked a Dinner Bed and Package through Travel Zoo. Overall the food was very good and in particular my Rump Steak!

The breakfast consisted of a cold buffet of fruit, cereals, bread, croissants etc. The English Breakfast had to be cooked to order. Toast like the majority of hotels looked like bread that had been thrown through a flame as it was very pale brown/white! I ordered a Kipper and when it arrived it was a whole fish that was delicious to say the least!

We were provided with a Pot of tea while we read in the lounge before leaving for the Airport.

All in all this was another enjoyable stay and if visiting relations in the area in the future or flying from Manchester, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you very much for your helpful feedback, i was glad to read that yet again you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for not being allocated the room you had requested. We have had some maintenance work done throughout the Hotel this January and this is the reason why.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My husband and I spent one night ay the Mere Court Hotel, Knutsford on 14th January 2013. We had a package which included afternoon tea with a glass of champagne, dinner, bed and
breakfast.The whole experience was excellent and the standard of the rooms and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff certainly enhanced our stay. The food was superb and i can certainly recommend a stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you very much for a lovely review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I was a guest at a wedding at this hotel last weekend. Everything about the day was spectacular, the venue, the food and the service. I would recommend this venue to anyone who is planning their wedding.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Saz2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Fantastic, thank you for your great review!! i am glad you loved your time with us.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My Partner and I stayed here for one night in November and from check in to check out the experience was second to none!
We stayed in the Windsor Suite and it was amazing. This room really has the wow factor with the four poster bed and the amazing bathroom and more importantly it was perfectly clean.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was phenomenal! Every bite was pure heaven. The restaurant was quite and relaxed and our server Elliot was attentive without being intrusive which was brilliant.
The breakfast the next morning was once again relaxed and the food was lovely.
This hotel is on my list for a trip in 2013 and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Four Poster Suites are really worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamDunn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Amazing review!! thank you very much.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We held our company Chirstmas party here on Saturday 15th December. A warm welcome from efficient staff(Natalie on reception) made a great first impression.
From the complimentary drink, to walkiing into the Winter Wonderland Theme, The dinner, which was sereved very efficiently and warm, the table settings. The DJ was excellent, and the bar staff too, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. All of our party stayed overnight. Everyone who attended, were very impressed with the whole evening. All the rooms were very clean and well presented. The welcoming staff in the breakfast room, made breakfast very enjoyable, a very good choice from ceral to full english. Most enjoyable stay. We could not fault the evening, the staff the rooms and the breakfast. Thank you so much for a Fabulous Chrsitmas Party. We will be definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your Christmas Party, perhaps we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next Christmas if not before.

Best wishes

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I was taken here for a birthday treat and from arrival to checking out the place and staff were fabulous. The room was emasculate as was the service, my boyfriend had arranged for champagne and strawberries for our arrival and they were waiting in the room, chilled to perfection. We had a beautiful meal by the fire in the dining room where the staff were excellent, the food was perfect in all aspects. What a wonderful treat, amazing hotel, we will be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Great review, thank you very much!! you can now say that you have stayed in the same room as Bill Clinton!! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Eloic Montagnier - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
8.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: £67 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing