We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just returned from a weekend break booked via Travelzoo at the Mere Court. Our bedroom was in Lakeside. Rooms are spacious, immaculately clean with good facilities. Decor is traditional rather than modern but that is more about personal taste. Food in restaurant at dinner was excellent and similarly at breakfast with good selection of both hot and cold options. Very minor niggles, access to wi-Fi in bedrooms could be improved and staff could smile a bit more! But overall lovely hotel. Would make a great wedding venue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for the positive review. Our Travelzoo offer is hugely popular and its great to hear feedback from customers who purchased the voucher. We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here in already January and it was brilliant.

We stayed in the Richmond suite and it was lovely. My only complaint if I was seriously looking for one was the shower curtain was a bit rubbish and kept falling off whilst I was having a shower.

The meal in the evening was great, and the service was efficient and courteous, however not very warm or engaging. We decided not to sit in the bar because it was very quiet and felt a little corporate.

The next morning the receptionist was more than happy to show us the wedding albums and allow us to view the conservatory.

Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: First visit upgrade to the 4 poster suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamDunn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for the positive review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Feel free to give us a call if you are interested in us as a wedding venue!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would certainly recommend the Mere Court for a lovely champagne afternoon tea. It was a treat as part of a Christmas present and I certainly had a very good experience. It is a charming hotel set in attractive grounds and the tea itself is served in the restaurant, which has a pleasant, relaxed feel. The wood panelling, chandelier and real fire give it a distinctive character. Good service is also taken seriously and the staff clearly take a pride in their work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Triptykonnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for the review. I am really pleased to hear such good comments about our afternoon tea offering. If you would like to book again feel free to contact me personally.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I came to the Mere Court Hotel for afternoon tea for two, having bought a voucher as a Christmas gift, for a half price experience. Especially considering that I did not pay much, it was splendid indeed! The sparkling wine was refreshing and not of a low quality, and the freshly cut sandwiches were delightful. The scones were light, the cream with a surprising essence of vanilla, and the cakes a fitting assortment. The room to which we were escorted and seated was tastefully, and simply elegant, with a view of the tranquil lake and grounds. I cannot fault it, particularly for the small sum paid as a result of the voucher!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review!

I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed our afternoon tea. It has become a signature of the hotel and is extremely popular and this is a great example of why. Feel free to contact me personally if you would like to book again.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here on business for one night in the Sandringham Suite. The room was very nice and spacious. Check in was simple and straight forward. The breakfast was very good - its nice to see different options on the menu - Eggs Benedict was very nice..
The only thing that stopped me giving this hotel 5 stars is that some of the communal areas let the place down, the reception and bar areas, some of the carpets up the stairs were showing the threads.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast offering. Regarding some of the communal areas you feel let the hotel down, our bar and lounge area has a country house feel and fits in with the style of the rest of the building but may not be to everyone's taste. I am sorry you felt let down on this occasion but we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Firstly I dont write many reviews but I am making an exception for this experience.
The trip was booked as a present and started well.
The room was lovely , traditional four poster bed and a view over the extensive gardens. The bottle of chilled champagne was a nice touch.
The dinner was good without being exceptional but the atmosphere was just right. We had a superb time and will be going back .

Room Tip: We had the Windsor Suite which was excelllent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Your positive comments have been shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Superb gardens and grounds are the outstanding feature of this country house hotel. The bedrooms are really comfortable and the food is very good. What let's it down is the lack of character in the bar and communal areas which are rather too corporate and need upgrading in line with the expected ambience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its beautiful grounds. I am disappointed to read that you feel the bar area is too 'corporate'. We pride ourselves on our homely environments and good homemade dishes with a relaxed and friendly service. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,052 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Bucklow Hill) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
3.3 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
114 reviews
8.7 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing