We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arboreum Restaurant - Sat Eve meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Arboreum Restaurant - Sat Eve meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter bought us a Gift Certificate for a 3 course meal in the Arboreum Restaurant at the Mere Court Hotel. We ate there on Saturday evening and had a really delightful evening. It was quiet but that wasn't an issue and we had very attentive service from a young waiter who was extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, 3 courses of beautifully presented well cooked fayre. Sometimes you worry if something is on a "gift voucher" that it will be downgraded in some way but it wasn't at all and was all perfect. We just had wine and one side order to foot the bill for which was brilliant. Didn't even know the hotel was there to be honest but would go again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel, we were there to eat only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenaandbobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the review. Our gift vouchers are very popular and the reason why is as you say, we don't 'downgrade' our menus and you get the full experience! Thanks again and glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    146
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
91
188
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a fantastic day. Everything was perfect. All the staff, food excellent could not fault anything.
The reception room was beautifully decorated and beautiful grounds for photographs. The bedrooms had everything you needed jacuzzi bath ,tea and coffee making facilities, large bathroom and bedroom beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 547mark-amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the review. Very pleased to hear you had a good time at the wedding! Luckily the weather was great on that Saturday which i'm sure only made the day even better! We pride ourselves on our Weddings and have recently won our second award for the 'Best Venue In the North West' and so feedback like this is always appriciated!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I can only say what a super time my wife and i had , the staff on reception where exceptionally helpful they went more than the extra mile ,even upgraded us to the Windsor suite. The food both day and night was perfect and the service first class. i would recommend this hotel all day long ,many thanks Brian and Margaret Kennerley

Room Tip: the rooms in the house are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank for the review. Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I took my daughter to The Mere Court for afternoon tea a couple of months ago. The staff were very welcoming, the surroundings were lovely and the afternoon tea was delightful. Would recommend anyone to visit here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Mere recently with some friends and thought it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were lovely, very modern, clean and spacious and the food was excellent. Would defintately return and think my husband and my two sons would love it as they are golfers.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmslow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Looking at other reviews we thought this hotel would have exceeded expectations. Sad to say it did not. When we get there a wedding was in full progress, which was only to be expected. We managed to get to reception to book in. Then the problems began, you have to make your way through a barrage of guests in the bar to find your way to the rooms. Not their problem but the hotel is badly laid out. Other reviews have also mentioned this. The room was lovely but the extractor fans as experienced by other guests are too loud and go on for ever. We ordered a taxi to a local restaurant by the lovely receptionist but they never rang to say it was here so we nearly missed it. We were not told if the room included breakfast, the time that breakfast was served as it was a Sunday and where it was served. So we paid alot of money for a room that was supposed to be quiet but in fact on top of the wedding reception. If you stay at this hotel it really is a wedding venue and not a hotel for couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I have been twice now in the last two weeks for a 2 night stay each time. Room 320 was nicer than 315 but both very spacious. The wifi was great the first time but second visit saw it not working too well and not in the room at all. Reception did not know what to do about it. Food good and proved at hotel levels. Would come back if staying in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AJBwf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
2.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
4.0 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Knutsford (Mere) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Property: Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing