We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
323
184
76
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
184
76
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite jacuzzi bath wedding reception lakeside room afternoon tea travelzoo voucher lovely grounds wedding venue master of ceremonies country hotel four poster bed breakfast was buffet style wedding breakfast room was large this lovely hotel scones bar menu
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Booked a Feature Room for one night, 20th August, and requested a Spa Bath as advertised. Confirmed by e-mail on the 14th. Arrived at the Mere Court and given the Highgrove room which turned out not to have a spa bath. Went down to reception where we then given the Sandringham, but no apologies, from the reception desk!
Staff should really escort guests to their rooms rather than being left to find them themselves.
This was the start of the issues, and most of the following were listed on our Customer Feedback card the following day:
No hot water in bathroom. Informed reception, who said that we were in the room nearest the boiler and they would have it checked. After a while, hot water came out for less than a minute before turning lukewarm again, so no spa bath after all.
Toilet didn't flush properly, and there was a leak from the cistern. We were told maintenance who check the following day, but were given a couple of extra towels to put on the floor. Tiles loose next to toilet.
Door to the bathroom didn't close properly as the top hinge to the frame wasn't screwed securely.
Kettle lead too short to reach from table to socket, so had to put on floor. Also no spoons provided. Instructions given for using Tassimo coffee machine, but no coffee to use with it. Also two of the electric sockets were not fitted tightly to the wall.
Make-up powder on dressing table and tissue on floor, so no evidence of cleaning done before we went in the room.
To cap it off, we were first to dinner at 6:30 and waited nearly an hour for our main meal, then when we ordered dessert there was only one piece of chocolate torte available. Surely the waiting-on staff should know this before taking orders, and hardly worthy of being a 4-star hotel with an AA Rosette!
On leaving, we handed our Customer Feedback to the receptionist who said she was unable to do anything, but would leave a message asking the Manager to ring us on the Thursday. No call, so I rang the following day, only to be told the Manager was on holiday and they would ask the Operations Manager to get in touch. Two weeks later we are still waiting...
Terrible customer service

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on the Bank Holiday Monday as was working that day. The hotel is set in nice grounds out of the way and quiet location. They had had a busy 4 days of weddings in a row and where busy tidying up but this did not detract from the time and friendly welcome. Lovely large room with jacuzzi bath to relax after the drive... Fab!
Food was quick and good. Overall would come back to this peaceful hotel.
Thanks.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear William Y

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider a return visit. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to Mere Court Hotel and Conference Centre.

Kind Regards

James Turner
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Mere Court, we stayed for a family wedding and it was beautiful,food was great, staff were great the grounds were beautiful for photos. Our room was big and clean with a large bathroom and breakfast next morning was good. I agree with other reviews about fold up beds in corridors etc but you could see it was a busy time for everyone and it did not spoil our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank debs4419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear debs4419

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

My original review gave one-star and was headed: "Dirty room, broken fittings, rubbish in corridors". I uprated it to two stars after the management responded with a full refund, an apology and a promise to inspect the room.

I had booked a double room for a wedding and received a mammoth space with super king size bed plus two singles. Sadly the room was dirty with dust on ledges and window sills.
Lighting was very dim, the window could not be closed, bathroom light and toilet roll holder fittings were broken, the bath mat was covered in slime and mould and the shower was bust until I fixed it so that it stayed in position.

The gents lavatory was flooded and dirty, the corridors were littered with scraps of food and paper and there were cobwebs on light fittings in the public areas.

I witnessed restaurant staff dropping cutlery on the floor and replacing it on the tables.

All this points to a serious lack of housekeeping management and staff training.

It was good that the hotel called me after the first review was published and offered a refund as an apology for the state of the room. Although my original comments still stand, this reaction is enough to lift it from 'terrible' to 'poor'.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Arrived for an evening meal on a gift voucher. There was a wedding on so we then realised we were the only people dining. We were shown into a lovely cosy room and attended by Daniel our host for the evening. We both enjoyed the food and offered our thanks to Hannah the chef, superb steaks cooked to our liking and coffee served with lovely chocolates. We really enjoyed ourselves, didnt feel odd just the two of us either. Thank you Mere Court, a place in my heart as used to work there in a previous life, lovely to see the place looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Prin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Prin007

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is pleasing to hear that you were looked after so well by Daniel and Hannah during your time with us and I will be certain to share your kind comments with both of them personally.

Please do come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

James Turner
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews