We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cakes on offer , all homemade and completely delicious ...,”
Review of Cha Bar Knutsford

Cha Bar Knutsford
Ranked #16 of 105 Restaurants in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Lienced Bistro in the heart of Knutsford . Lovely atmosphere , relaxing and warm and friendly staff await you. Homemade food , amazing cakes , a full range of loose leaf teas , full bar service.come and indulge and enjoy the Cha bar experience for you self.
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Called in at the cha bar for a coffee one Saturday . Had a lovely cappuccino and the most gorgeous piece of Victoria sponge . It was absolutely delicious . All the cakes on offer looked wonderful and they are all homemade . The rest of the menu looked good too and reasonably priced . I would definitely recommend this very quaint coffee shop and will be returning soon . Very friendly , pleasant staff too ..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Cha Bar Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for your positive feedback it is appreciated. We are sure you will be equally delighted with the choice of hot or cold food on our menu - all fresh and locally sourced ingredients prepared to order. Feel free to visit our website and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We chanced on the Cha Bar during a spur-of-moment shopping trip to Knutsford last Bank Holiday Monday. Despite the restaurant being very busy, we found the staff to be charming, service timely and food delicious. The potions were generous too and everything was really fresh. Based on our experience we're looking forward to a return visit and happily recommend the Cha Bar to others.

I do have a couple of (slight) grumbles (hence 4 not 5 stars) which I mention only as constructive feedback. The first is the clipboard menus with tatty pages, which personally I disliked and found clumsy to use. Secondly, as the (single) toilet opens straight off the restaurant and doesn't have any external indication of occupation, you might find yourself hovering outside by other diners' tables, as we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Cha Bar Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback it is appreciated.

Bank Holiday was very busy so we are pleased you found the service, food and experience at Cha Bar to your liking. We do work very hard to achieve this and maintain high standards with a focus on the little details.

Thanks also for your constructive comments. Re the menus we are researching a new high quality menu and hope to have these in place very soon. Re the toilet facilities, due to the size and layout of the building there's not much we can do and your points are acknowledged but hopefully this didn't create too much inconvenience to you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I've seen this place on trip advisor plenty of times and eventually stopped in for a bit of lunch. I got a wrap and my girlfriend a sandwich. They are nice but nothing amazing and add in not a big tea drinker I didn't really get the hype. Decent service and not too expensive considering the area but not overwhelmed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Cha Bar Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

In response to your review, whilst respecting your opinion, it is impossible to please everyone when dealing with food. The vast majority of our customers appreciate and frequently comment on the excellent quality of our food along with the freshness and presentation. If you're not a tea drinker you probably wouldn't appreciate the vast range of teas we serve and presented in Victorian China etc. We also serve great coffee and other drinks including alcohol, so usually something to please most customers. We pride ourselves on our service, ambience and quality of food, but also respect our customers have a splendid choice in Knutsford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I'd heard of Cha-Bar through some friends of mine and knew my wife wanted to celebrate her 40th birthday with a crowd of her girlfriends having afternoon tea. I approached Cha-Bar amongst a number of other places and found Dawn and Paul to be utterly accommodating in terms of what they could do and how. Decision was made almost instantly - Dawn came up with a load of suggestions for me and put an afternoon/high tea menu together that was fantastic. On the day, the staff couldn't help enough, the food was outstanding and everyone had a great time. That paired with some really good background singing and music made for a great afternoon. Will 100% be going back as will a number of the people we invited! Great day - thanks guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Cha Bar Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that Lucy chose Cha Bar for her special celebration. Thanks for acknowledging the quality service from the team and we are pleased everyone enjoyed the Afternoon Tea selection.
Hope to welcome you back again soon. You and the other 42 ladies who came to Cha Bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Myself and my friend came on friday as somebody had recommended chabar to us. We were extremely disappointed !! The service was good two young staff members quick and efficient came to take our order fast , brought our drinks and cutely over on pretty serving trays ,but the let down was the food and how long we had to wait ,30minutes for soup and half a sandwich not good at all ,when it arrived we were starving and the portion size of soup wasn't even a full bowl and the bread didn't seem fresh when the staff asked if everything was ok we said yes as we knew it would take another half an hour to do a fresh sandwich and it wasn't
there fault at the end of the day. Whilst we were there we heard other couples complaining about the wait on food .The cafe had 8 tables in so not full at all ,we wont be visiting again as we can go else where that serves homemade and fresh food thats busy 20tables and more and you dont wait 30minutes for a quick lunch time snack. There must be some problems in the kitchen of some sort as soup is reheated and a sandwich inst rocket science ,this has put us of coming and recommending chabar to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Susanbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Cha Bar Knutsford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

In response to your review having spoken with the staff, the day you visited was extremely busy and all our meals are prepared fresh using fresh locally sourced ingredients including artisan breads, so a wait at busy times is inevitable and your server will have informed you about this. Let us assure you there are no problems in our kitchen and if you choose to say everything is fine when asked by your server then you are not allowing us the chance to rectify any issues you may have. Instead you choose to post a negative review, thus not allowing us any opportunity to deal with the situation. You will notice from the vast majority of our reviews that our customers are exceptionally happy but it's impossible to please everyone and mistakes can happen in any business. We fix our mistakes when presented with the opportunity. You have a choice of where you go to eat and there are many good options in Knutsford. We continue to develop our independent business and build a strong alternative for those customers who enjoy Cha Bar. We also deal professionally with any issues when given the chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha Bar Knutsford also viewed

 

Been to Cha Bar Knutsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing