We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Knutsford
from US$14.79
More Info
from US$40.34
More Info
Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveller rating
1,092
732
288
142
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
732
288
142
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden flower show national trust mansion house nt members gardeners cottage home farm merry go round car show adventure playground formal gardens gardens are beautiful play area farm shop scones sunny day value for money
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love love Tatton Park it’s such a lovely place to visit . Very accessible take a picnic and have fun . Great for morning strolls before visiting near by restaurants for morning coffee or a spot of lunch.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 182claireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatton P, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review 182claireh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, I know it's likely someone is going to reply and tell me all the positive things that happen at Tatton, and on here I get no right to reply, but I really want you to understand that these are the issues that I faced and that everyone with disabilities are different. What you think works for most doesn't always for all.

Firstly, the car park for disabled vehicles - the disabled carpark spaces are far too small and awkward. We ended up having to stay at Tatton an extra 45 minutes as the cars parked around and behind made it impossible for us to get the car out. The whole thing should really be properly surfaced and not just a few patchy areas.

Secondly, the Courtyard is a gauntlet. There are very few flat paths for mobility scooter users, such as myself, and where they exist, they are incredibly close to the wall/facilities so that people going in and out of the building (as well as me myself) were huge obstacles.

Thirdly, the gravel in the gardens. I had to abandon my look around simply due to the lack of a firm surface. I found myself and my mobility scooter tipping and sliding. It really needs some kind of smooth surface (this would benefit so many others, those with pushchairs etc).

Finally, and most distressing and embarrassing for the property, the exit from the Gardens via the gift shop. Exit was via a door that had to be manually pulled open, and then there's a very steep, tight cornered and narrow, poorly lit ramp leading in to a very poky gift shop, again, with a manual door. All this goes on whilst a queue of people are stuck behind you and the lady behind the till doesn't even bat an eyelid or even offer to get the door for you. I was nearly in tears after this experience - I'm a 33 year old man(!!).

The best bit? Leaving (after having to waste a further 45 minutes in the cafe area due to the carpark issue). National Trust Life Members, we travelled for an hour, felt pretty rubbish about myself, and we certainly won't be returning.

The three stars is pretty much entirely for the gardens and farm, and the fact that I recognise that for many it's still a good day out.

Date of experience: February 2019
4  Thank 685garid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatton P, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback 685garid - and no we're not going to just reply with positives - feedback like this is incredibly valuable.

We know our car park and Stableyard (courtyard) are lacking in areas at the moment. Starting in the Summer, we're undertaking an extensive programme of investment to modernise them both, and we hope this will rectify some of the issues you've faced on your visit. Some things however we can't change, we're a 2000 acre historic estate and we have limitations from listing status - we do however, and always will make every effort to be as accessible as possible for all.

The Gardens (and the gravel in front of the Mansion) is DDA compliant, and again due to the limitations we face is currently the best compromise. We do offer electric wheelchairs for loan in the Gardens, and these might be more suitable for a future visit. You raise a good point with regards the door exiting from the Gardens, and we'll see if this can be improved.

We'd like to invite you to continue this discussion if you like via tattonmarketing@cheshireeast.gov.uk - we'd also like to hear your thoughts on accessibility within the Farm as that's recently undergone a large-scale renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in whilst in area, was lovely to see, paid to do garden tour which was lovely and to see the house from outside was beautiful. Would obviously be nice in summer however enjoyed just as much now. Great family day out and wasn’t too crowded considering it was half term.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank nheffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatton P, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review 873natashah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 10.30, so was reasonably quite still. Currently there is a £7 parking charge.
On arrival we were told the mansion was closed which was disappointing as NT members we wanted to visit it.

Entrance to gardens part of NT, gardens are nice, scarecrow festival on at the moment. Disappointed there was no map or tick off visit for kids to complete for this

We have our lunch on one of many picnic tables, play in the massive play area. Before heading to the farm. Even with the half price NT card I feel the farm charge is well over priced. Small farm, little animals, spent at most 30mins there with 15 of that in the play area at farm. Would avoid it if your paying full cost.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank hcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatton P, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review hcallen,

Our Mansion is closed during low season to allow us to undertake conservation work not possible while it's open to the public. This is in line with many other NT and historical properties, and is noted in the NT handbook/website, our website and print so we're sorry you weren't aware in advance. It re-opens for high season at the end of March, so we hope you'll be able to visit it then.

We're glad you enjoyed the Gardens, and given the success of this year's Scarecrow Festival, a tick-off list/trail is something we'll consider for next year. There is a Field to Fork trail available in the Gardens year-round guiding visitors around the story of how the Gardens produced food for the entire estate, and still does to this day.

Our Farm has been recently redeveloped with Heritage Lottery Funding to be the centre-piece of our 'Field to Fork' story. We've opened buildings that have been closed for decades - such as the 3-story agricultural mill, added much more information to the Farm in the form of audio, visual, interactives and written/graphic interpretation and an app. This is in addition to the regular Farm offer - a well preserved working farm allowing visitors to meet our rare breed animals, take part in demonstrations and talks and much more. We benchmark pricing regularly and we're confident on that basis that Tatton Park (and the Farm in particular) offer good value for money, and a great experience for visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Visited on a sunny Saturday and arrived at 10.30 so it was quiet and it was £7 parking for all cars no national trust discount to make you aware.parking is close to the kids playground which is great for the kids lots to play on and spread out nice. We had a nice walk to the farm which national trust members receive 50 % discount to access to the farm which is a lovely place to see with lots of friendly animals coming to the fence for a stroke and lots of signege saying wash hands only disappointed the hand wash station was not working? So had to use toilets to wash hands also a little gift shop on exit. We then went to the courtyard and had lunch and sat outside in a lovely courtyard my wife said it was very busy ordering food and drinks but what we had was delicious. There was a couple of fair rides open which was very popular .overall a beautiful place and will definitely return and recommend. Could do possibly with a member of staff on the car park directing traffic as when we were leaving some car parks were full and was a bit chaotic.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank 46biggy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatton P, Marketing Team at Tatton Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 46biggy46, thanks for the great review!

Delighted to hear you enjoyed visiting our Farm - hopefully you got to explore our newly opened Mill, and greatly expanded interpretation as part of our lottery funded 'Field to Fork' project. We'll look into the handwashing and get that fixed. It was an exceptionally busy weekend, so we did have some queues in the restaurants and the car parks, and to that end we did have a member of staff parking cars as much as was possible, and two others regularly visiting car parks to ensure things were running as smoothly as possible. We can't wait to welcome you back for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews