We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dog Over Peover
Ranked #4 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I ate at this pub last night, what a disappointment! The pub is nice and the staff very friendly, but the food I would not bother with. My wife had a risotto which was pretty much just mush, I had a steak which must have been one of the toughest bits of meat I have ever eaten. They really need to look at all aspects of their food from who is cooking it to where they are buying it from. A real shame, it is a very competitive market in this part of Cheshire and it is just not good enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Incredible good luck to book in to The Dog for a couple of Southerners just up North for a night.
Once we had found The Dog we were shown to our room by the manageress who then looked after us for the rest of our stay. When it came to ordering our evening meal we were informed another two dishes were being prepared but not on the menu, ten minutes later the menus had been reprinted complete with new dishes. My bacon chop was just so tender, by far the best piece of gammon I have tasted.
Our room and en-suite was well appointed, comfortable and roomy, breakfast, served from 7.30 was comprehensive, I'm glad I only ordered the mini English breakfast, it was as much as I could manage with toast and coffee.
Good value for money, how a pub, restaurant, b and b should be run.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 6 a twin bedded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarringtonKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was in the Dog for just 1 night, to take my flight back to germany the day after. I spend there a very good night. Staff was ver pleasant and helpfull. Good and beers were goods and I enjoy a lot the comfortable pub and its fireplaces. The room itself was very nicelly decorated, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked (full english breakfast) and served at the table.
The airport is only 30 minutes driving. The value for money for this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch at the Dog is a must if you are in the area. Lovely food, great surroundings and roaring fires! What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Worth every penny as the food was amazing could not fault it at all. Will go again if ever in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Blandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We Live local and use the Dog regularly for drinks and sometimes snacks.However today my husband had a crayfish sandwich which came with garnish and few chunky chips for around £6.75. I ordered calamari, when it came it looked like all the batter bits that are left in the fryer and it was a very small portion, the taste was ok but to be honest it was just like eating crisps as the calamari was non existent. Unacceptable for this sort of establishment.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Everything about The Dog was friendly, with plenty of energy and attention to customers. Log fires great staff and very good food added up to a lovely if brief stay. Quiet location with easy access to local National trust properties.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This used to be my local pub 35 years ago and so this for me was a journey down memory lane. I moved to work and live in Scotland and came back to visit the church my wife and I got married in and to add to the nostalgia we stayed a night in the Dog my old local pub.

The pub had been taken over earlier in the year and the new owners had completely up graded it. All I can say is WOW !!! What a beautiful place now and the food was simply fantastic, a wonderful friendly atmosphere and very busy even on a Thursday night. Lots of people eating and enjoying the very pleasurable evening in this rather fine old village pub which has been re-borne as a very smart and classy place to relax and dine.

If you are in the area this is a must place to visit and the chef should be congratulated on his inspired up market pub grub menu. We stayed the night in a very comfortable room. For breakfast I had kippers with two poached eggs and a fine chunk of home made bread, simply excellent.

If you live in Cheshire you should jump in your car and pay them a visit, you will not be disappointed. I have rated the rooms as average but they are due to be refurbished as the next phase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
5.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
1,011 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Knutsford M6
Travelodge Knutsford M6
#4 of 9 in Knutsford
313 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moss Farm
Moss Farm
#1 of 14 in Knutsford
217 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog Over Peover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Over Peover

Address: Wellbank Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range: £89 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dog Over Peover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Hotel Knutsford
The Dog Over Peover Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing