We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family supper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dog Over Peover
Ranked #4 of 14 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Lovely family supper”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I went with my family 6 of us with my cousin in a wheelchair i mention this because it caused NO problems.
We had a lovely dinner with good service and a lovely atmosphere as well , the food orders were taken quickly and food came within a good time , lovely log fires , lovely barmaid i wish i asked her name so i could mention her as she came over twice to see if we were all happy .
The food was very good all being homemade .
I would return if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    59
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
93
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I ate at this pub last night, what a disappointment! The pub is nice and the staff very friendly, but the food I would not bother with. My wife had a risotto which was pretty much just mush, I had a steak which must have been one of the toughest bits of meat I have ever eaten. They really need to look at all aspects of their food from who is cooking it to where they are buying it from. A real shame, it is a very competitive market in this part of Cheshire and it is just not good enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Incredible good luck to book in to The Dog for a couple of Southerners just up North for a night.
Once we had found The Dog we were shown to our room by the manageress who then looked after us for the rest of our stay. When it came to ordering our evening meal we were informed another two dishes were being prepared but not on the menu, ten minutes later the menus had been reprinted complete with new dishes. My bacon chop was just so tender, by far the best piece of gammon I have tasted.
Our room and en-suite was well appointed, comfortable and roomy, breakfast, served from 7.30 was comprehensive, I'm glad I only ordered the mini English breakfast, it was as much as I could manage with toast and coffee.
Good value for money, how a pub, restaurant, b and b should be run.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 6 a twin bedded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarringtonKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was in the Dog for just 1 night, to take my flight back to germany the day after. I spend there a very good night. Staff was ver pleasant and helpfull. Good and beers were goods and I enjoy a lot the comfortable pub and its fireplaces. The room itself was very nicelly decorated, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked (full english breakfast) and served at the table.
The airport is only 30 minutes driving. The value for money for this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch at the Dog is a must if you are in the area. Lovely food, great surroundings and roaring fires! What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Worth every penny as the food was amazing could not fault it at all. Will go again if ever in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We Live local and use the Dog regularly for drinks and sometimes snacks.However today my husband had a crayfish sandwich which came with garnish and few chunky chips for around £6.75. I ordered calamari, when it came it looked like all the batter bits that are left in the fryer and it was a very small portion, the taste was ok but to be honest it was just like eating crisps as the calamari was non existent. Unacceptable for this sort of establishment.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Everything about The Dog was friendly, with plenty of energy and attention to customers. Log fires great staff and very good food added up to a lovely if brief stay. Quiet location with easy access to local National trust properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
5.4 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog Over Peover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Over Peover

Property: The Dog Over Peover
Address: Wellbank Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dog Over Peover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Hotel Knutsford
The Dog Over Peover Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing